Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Changes coming at RTE 2FM

• 11-01-2012 2:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭

Dave Fanning's saturday show moves to 10am till Midday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Hopefully 10 - 12 weekdays

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭Nick Guats

Hopefully 10 - 12 weekdays

No only on saturday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Nick Guats wrote: »
    No only on saturday

Shame:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

I hope they get rid of the weekend cr4p of gal+guy pretending to have jokey-jokey conversation that we, the listeners, are all a part of?

That would be you Baz & Lucy and Ruth & Paddy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,417 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Any news on who will fill the Sat 2-4pm slot? Or will it be Ballbusters?

And yes, Baz and Lucy is excruciating to listen to.

Any news on who will fill the Sat 2-4pm slot? Or will it be Ballbusters?

And yes, Baz and Lucy is excruciating to listen to.

The new saturday line up is 10am Dave Fanning, 12pm Ballbusters, 2pm Ruth and paddy, 5pm Drive in Saturday with Damien should be on local radio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 The Fame

The new saturday line up is 10am Dave Fanning, 12pm Ballbusters, 2pm Ruth and paddy, 5pm Drive in Saturday with Damien should be on local radio

Oh so not that many changes really, they just want people to think that they've made big changes! Quite pointless tbh!

BTW is this confirmed? and are there any other changes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭PaulieBoy

Dave Fanning's saturday show moves to 10am till Midday.
    WOW! That is just awesome news. A really radical shakeup alright!
    I'm in shock!/end sarcasm/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

It's quite disturbing really when you think of the real issues surrounding the future of 2fm.
    Are they trying to turn Dave Fanning into the irish equivalent of Jonathon Ross on BBC Radio 2?

And as for Baz and Lucy... well surely it's time someone took responsibility on this appalling breakfast show and pulled the bloody plug. Dave Redmond and his predecessor Liam Quigley who were probably paid half the wage (as they were only one person and not two) did a wonderful jobin that slot.

The station is in free fall and someone soon in the board room of RTE better do something quick before its too late

Tweaking with the weekend shows just ain't enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

i think its time they Larry go home. Ricochet should go too, and listen to his Bruce Springsteen at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

i think its time they Larry go home. Ricochet should go too, and listen to his Bruce Springsteen at home.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,272 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

Larry's a legend and a nice guy to boot. He's the least of what's wrong at 2FM. I listened to BallBusters a few times last year. Two people rabbiting on about sport for 2 hours... who cares! Ruth & Paddy.... yawn! Dave's show was the best of them really. I despise Lucy Kennedy and that Baz guy has always come across as a bit of a tool so I wouldn't be as unkind to myself as to attempt to listen to that show. You know what's a good show on Saturday afternoons? Mike Moloney's show on Nova. Take that, add in some intelligent music (so Rihanna, Westlife, Ollie Murs et al., you can stay away) and you'd have a winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭IrishHomer

I have pt up with 2fm since day one and never changed still crap station.

Never forgive them either the time the good pirates came in the 80's and they did everything they could including lobbying their corrupt crony politicians to get them put off the air. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭TimmyTarmac

i think its time they Larry go home

That would be a mistake. Look at the numbers. In the midst of the Titanic-like sinking of 2FM's listenership and indeed reputation over the last number of years, only one strand has been showing an increase. Lazza Gogan is still doing the business, albeit on a modest level.

Why? He plays the hits and keeps the chat to a minimum.
    While the rest of em think they're fooking Jonathan Ross or Chris Evans or Jeremy Paxman, Larry is Larry.

He wouldn't be my favourite but you know what you're going to get. Consistancy on a station with multiple jarring, unfunny personalities.
    Some of the other lads may have TV profile, but so far it's not cutting it with the punters.

More Larrys not less will save 2FM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Getting rid of Larry Gogan would make no sense. Granted, i don't listen to him that often because I prefer shows with more chat, but his figures speak for themselves.

First on the chopping block would be Lucy and Baz, an utterly atrocious piece of radio. Every time I tune in it's either them having an argument about who the listeners love more, or Lucy talking about soaps and Baz acting bored. Not. Entertaining.

Ballbusters could be saved by getting rid of Fiona Looney. She knows her stuff, I'll give her that, but she's not a likable radio personality in my opinion. Can't remember the producer's name that sometimes fills in when one of the main hosts is off, but get him in instead of Fiona and you've a show to rival Newstalk's Sport on Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

Can't we just pull the plug? Nobody needs that channel or its 'personalities'.

withless wrote: »
    Can't we just pull the plug? Nobody needs that channel or its 'personalities'.

Nobody "needs" any radio channels. But it would be nice if there was a decent alternative to Today FM out there, competition breeds quality programming.

The time for nice is long gone. I am not sure what you mean by "competition breeds quality programming"? Are there any examples you can cite?

If you look around this forum, you'll see that a lot of people cite the Dublin stations as having some of the best programmes. Stands to reason that this is because there are far more stations vying for listeners in that area. As it is, you only really have Today FM as a decent national station for music and chat. It has no decent competition. If a revamp of 2FM were to happen, then Today FM would have a realistic competitor, forcing them to continue to ensure the programmes they put out on air are of a high quality.

Hmmm I don't feel that my taxes are best spent on Tubs, Larry and whoever else they prop in front of the mike. Today FM already does that thing as you say.

Bin the lot of them and spend it on 'frontline services'.

Hmmm I don't feel that my taxes are best spent on Tubs, Larry and whoever else they prop in front of the mike. Today FM already does that thing as you say.

Bin the lot of them and spend it on 'frontline services'.

Your licence fee pays for Radio 1, not 2FM, which is funded by advertising AFAIK.

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Your licence fee pays for Radio 1, not 2FM, which is funded by advertising AFAIK.

No not anymore, 2fm has made heavy losses since 2009

Apparently it is aimed at 25 to 44 year olds now.

What they don't tell you is that it is 25 to 44 year old idiots.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 268 ✭✭overthenest

the worst of the lot of them is that absoulte fool hector, i mean what a gob****e, keep her lit keep her lit keep her lit, he has absolutely no talent and gets by on being tomy tiernans mate and speaking a bit of irish, he is the main problem with 2fm as he has people turning off in the thousands in the morning and they then stay away for the rest of the day:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,261 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

No not anymore, 2fm has made heavy losses since 2009

The 2010 report has 2FM as losing Eu 3.227 million off gross incomes of Eu 10.997 million in 2009. Naturally, there is no direct licence fee directed to 2FM and it pays towards it's transmission costs and news desk as well. While the deficit is large, their income is not quite half of Radio 1's, which is decent considering their low figures in the JNLR's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

the worst of the lot of them is that absoulte fool hector, i mean what a gob****e, keep her lit keep her lit keep her lit, he has absolutely no talent and gets by on being tomy tiernans mate and speaking a bit of irish, he is the main problem with 2fm as he has people turning off in the thousands in the morning and they then stay away for the rest of the day:mad:

Ah no, no. The "main problem" :confused: I'm not having that.

Hector has more personality, originality and sincerity on the tip of his big toe than (for example - there are others) Baz and Lucy put together will ever have if they broadcast for another 70 years on 2fm, which may well happen.

Keep her lit

Hector is great craic, as they say.

I wouldn't go so far as to say he has an endearing personality, original thoughts or is sincere about anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭Big Daddy Cool

have to agree with the above 2 posts regarding hector, i dont listen to 2fm that much anymore but when i do tune in, it might not be the greatest show in the world, but its by no means the worst show on 2fm. baz and lucy followed by zig and zag was probably the worst saturday morning line up ever in the history of radio.

I actually think that the Zig and Zag show (Smells Like Saturday?) had potential. Would have made a good 5 day a week breakfast show imho. Granted I haven't heard the breakfast show on 2FM since Colm and Jim Jim turned me off the slot, but I always felt Z+Z could make that slot successful, if for nothing else than nostalgia's sake.

I can't stand Hector. Colm and Jim Jim put me off the 2FM morning slot and Hector didn't bring me back either. After several years of enduring Morning Ireland I'm now listening to Chris Evans on BBC Radio 2. Can't find anything on Irish radio worth listening to at that time of the morning.

Karsini wrote: »
    I can't stand Hector. Colm and Jim Jim put me off the 2FM morning slot and Hector didn't bring me back either. After several years of enduring Morning Ireland I'm now listening to Chris Evans on BBC Radio 2. Can't find anything on Irish radio worth listening to at that time of the morning.

The only breakfast I've ever liked was the Red Rooster on RED FM back when KC(now on Today FM) and Lenny were presenting it. Quite possibly one of the best breakfast show on Irish radio at the time... now I have to make do with Newstalk, which is actually pretty good imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭todolist

2Fm is a busted flush.Since the loss of Gerry Ryan this station has gone down so much and won't recover.It should be closed.It serves no purpose anymore.It's wrong to to fund this operation from hard pressed taxpayers through the TV tax(lenience)the populace have taken so many cuts they don't want to pay for this extravagance anymore.close 2fm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 281 ✭✭Btr

Personally I don't see 2fm getting better . Baz and Lucy are an affront to decent broadcasters and their lack of professionalism at top of the hour wouldn't be tolerated on any station I've ever worked with.

As for sport, message to Rte, you've got Saturday and Sunday flagship sports shows on radio 1, 2fm should not be a sports station. Hate to say it but I'd see 2fm sports shows as a feeble attempt by a dominant broadcaster to mop up listeners from other stations .

Btr wrote: »
    Personally I don't see 2fm getting better . Baz and Lucy are an affront to decent broadcasters and their lack of professionalism at top of the hour wouldn't be tolerated on any station I've ever worked with.

As for sport, message to Rte, you've got Saturday and Sunday flagship sports shows on radio 1, 2fm should not be a sports station. Hate to say it but I'd see 2fm sports shows as a feeble attempt by a dominant broadcaster to mop up listeners from other stations .

Not really. 2FM's sports show on Saturday doesn't clash with any other show of it's type. So it's the only station that gives detailed coverage of early EPL games, GAA, rugby, LOI amongst others. If it's a ploy to win listeners, then it works on me. Ballbusters is the only two hours of 2FM I regularly listen to these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 281 ✭✭Btr

I take your point but I'd still maintain 2fm should not be covering sport in any great detail plus there are suggestions that the programme will move to a later time slot shortly. Wouldn't ye give any money to see the strategic plan for 2fm :)

Btr wrote: »
    I take your point but I'd still maintain 2fm should not be covering sport in any great detail plus there are suggestions that the programme will move to a later time slot shortly. Wouldn't ye give any money to see the strategic plan for 2fm :)

I think the plan is as follows:

1. AHAHGDFLBNHD;B HOLY JAYSUS WE'RE GOING DOWN!!!!!
    2. AH LADS WHAT'RE GONNA DO!!!!!!!!!!
    3. AW CHRIST, WE'VE LOST GERRY RYAN NOW!!!!!
    4. AMMM.... ERRRR.... THROW COLM HAYES ON FOR AN EXTRA HOUR, LISTENERS REALLY SEEM TO BE IDENTIFYING WITH HIM!!!
    5. HECTOR!! PEOPLE LIKE HIM STILL RIGHT?
    6. *let things percolate for a few years
    7. Well sh1te.... that didn't work.....
    8. Relax on fat public sector pension when station folds. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 millie81

2Fm dont have a clue what they are at. They were targeting 18-24 years olds and when that didnt suit them as they were being killed by all the local youth stations they decided to change back to targeting 20-44 year olds. Not that any of their programming changed to reflect that of course! I loved The Full Irish breakfast show back in the day but since that finished and of course following Gerry Ryans death the station has been on a slow decline. Its the same old tired presenters-no new or original talent have been given a chance by 2fm in a long time. Its a classic example of "moving the deckchairs on the titanic".

millie81 wrote: »
    2Fm dont have a clue what they are at. They were targeting 18-24 years olds and when that didnt suit them as they were being killed by all the local youth stations they decided to change back to targeting 20-44 year olds. Not that any of their programming changed to reflect that of course! I loved The Full Irish breakfast show back in the day but since that finished and of course following Gerry Ryans death the station has been on a fast decline. Its the same old tired presenters-no new or original talent have been given a chance by 2fm in a long time. Its a classic example of "moving the deckchairs on the titanic".

FYP ;)