Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Geraghty's back

• 11-01-2012 1:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,310 ✭✭✭

Player/Selector. Look out you dubs.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Sure the refs will only disallow every score he gets as usual ;)
    What a legend he is though I'm not sure how much of an impact he'll have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Who cares, he's back, he's not. Make up your mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Only Banty could have brought him back as they would cross paths in Athboy and know each other well.I took interest in him coming back and was disappointed when Farrell was sent off against Kildare and this delayed him coming on.

He was even given a special reception by the Dubs and Kildare fans on the Hill that day :D but to put the ball in the net of a Kildare goal with your first touch is just amazing.

PS It was a legit goal IMO.

Hope the ankle won't slow him down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭thewildcat

he was a great footballer in his day, don't get me wrong but if meath are looking at bring men back at nearly his late 30's there not much in meath football so.

i think he is wrong and would be showing up big time against the Dubs or kerry or Cork in the summer football championship a few O'Bryne cup games and maybe a few league ones but championship forget it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

thewildcat wrote: »
    he was a great footballer in his day, don't get me wrong but if meath are looking at bring men back at nearly his late 30's there not much in meath football so.

i think he is wrong and would be showing up big time against the Dubs or kerry or Cork in the summer football championship a few O'Bryne cup games and maybe a few league ones but championship forget it.

After seeing his brief stint against Kildare, I think he still has something to offer and would be a good player to bring on as an impact sub. I saw him running around as far back as the midfield area and he can still go though he would not last the entire 70 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

People are too quick to write off players in their thirties IMO.

Considering the changes in training methods etc over the last decade it's pretty much impossible to say accurately where the bell curve of players "losing it" now sits along an age axis.

Players' desire to do the training in wintertime seems to be much more of a factor than bodies not being able to perform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Joekers

mattser wrote: »
    Player/Selector. Look out you dubs.
    tumblr_l7mct8cnSQ1qc073co1_400.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

can't believe he's back for another season. he did ok when he came on as a sub agains kildare and unlucky to have his goal disallowed. i take he is still playing well at club level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Sure the refs will only disallow every score he gets as usual ;)
    What a legend he is though I'm not sure how much of an impact he'll have.

None...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭Zander1983

good luck to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

Jaysus sake, he has had more comebacks than a feckin boomerang!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭hisholinessnb

Samich wrote: »
    Who cares, he's back, he's not. Make up your mind.

Are you not banging on about how rubbish the GAA is on another thread?
    Yet here you are all interested :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭hisholinessnb

Still a good man for the final few minutes when something special is needed.
    What is he now, 38?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭jpjc05

Still a good man for the final few minutes when something special is needed.
    What is he now, 38?

Yeah 38, will be 39 come the championship. If Graham still thinks he has something to offer the county well then fair play to him.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

He may be a little heavier in the legs than he was in his prime but the Kildare game showed (even if it was incorrectly disallowed) that he still has a goalscoring touch which you never lose. Give him a sniff of a score and I'd still bet he'd take. He probably would have done better than our forwards in certain games in the league and championship last season.
    And without a doubt, even the sight of him warming up will give the crowd a huge boost.