Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Borrow an angle grinder

• 09-01-2012 6:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭

Would anyone have a lend of an angle grinder? Need it to cut through a u lock of a friends bicycle to remove it from where it's locked. The key's lost and the bike's getting damaged where it is. Can travel to collect. Genuine request.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭Wheely GR8

Where are you based ? ,looking for a cordless one ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭browner85

would u be able to plug it in ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,828 ✭✭✭meercat

read on a forum somewhere that a car jack can prise them open

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭doh777

thanks for the replies.

Dublin based.

Cordless one I'd say.

I'll try the car jack if nothing comes about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Crippens1

Is there any place near the bike where you could ask to plug in an extension? (Shop, house, etc.).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

when you do get around to doing this ask your friend to film it from a distance, curious to see if anyone stops you. but i doubth it somehow.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭Wheely GR8

I'd say it would be best to ring the local guards beforehand and let them know what your doing. I can't loan out my equipment as I use it for work ,work mostly northside dublin myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Local hire shop not sort you out? #

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭macnab

You can also buy a small grinding disc with a short spindle that fits into the chuck of a drill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

macnab wrote: »
    You can also buy a small grinding disc with a short spindle that fits into the chuck of a drill.

If its a decent U-lock your going to need several of those discs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭Donelson

I've done this with a hand saw on a cheap lock and can offer the following advice, the u is probably the hardest part, so have a good look at the barrel area for weak spots, this area can be shocking weak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Could you ask the council to cut it off for you, or a locksmith if theres one near by?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,902 ✭✭✭✭ted1

i've used a car jack in the past, takes abouts 2 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭mmclo

Car Jack? How does that work...put it in the middle and then expand it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,763 ✭✭✭✭Encrypted Pigeon

mmclo wrote: »
    Car Jack? How does that work...put it in the middle and then expand it?

demonstration here (legal), looks dangerous when it snaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,902 ✭✭✭✭ted1

exactly.