Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Isle of Man Easter Shooting Festival 2012

• 09-01-2012 12:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭

Got the invite today, anyone heading over?

List of events is massive, so should be something to cater to everyone's tastes.

ISSF 50m Prone (Men and Women)
    ISSF 50m Three Positions (3x40 Men and 3x20 Women)
    ISSF 10m Air Rifle (Men and Women)
    ISSF 10m Air Pistol (Men and Women)
    ISSF 25m Standard Pistol
    Service Pistol
    Police Pistol 1
    ISSF 25m Centrefire Pistol
    Black Powder Pistol
    ISSF 50m Free Pistol
    Police Pistol 2
    9mm Pistol
    ISSF 25m Sport Pistol
    Sporting Rifle
    NRA1500 Pistol
    IPSC Practical Pistol
    Service Rifle
    ISSF 25m Rapid Fire Pistol

All details on travel, firearms certification and required documentation are available at the website. It's a great trip, been over a few years and should make it again this year.

Hoping to shoot the 50m Prone and 3x40, so a busy old weekend for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭FLOYDSTER

Nice one Dave!, hope to get over myself for the weekend!, great few days craic!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

FLOYDSTER wrote: »
    Nice one Dave!, hope to get over myself for the weekend!, great few days craic!!:D

Shall have to get back to that restaurant in Douglas as well! Surf and turf was memorable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

How are you guys planning on going over?

My interest is piqued :)

and where are you guys planning on staying while there?

Thirdfox wrote: »

I believe IRLConor is trying to sort out a private flight (Oh man, does he hate boats!) as otherwise it would mean taking a full week with sailing times, wednesday to wednesday. We stayed in the Douglas Hilton before (Now renamed to The Palace I think) and another hotel called the Ascot. Both were good and reasonably priced but there don't seem to be deals in The Palace this year. We'll have a better idea of accommodation costings when we call a couple of places. You'd get two air rifle matches, on the friday and the saturday, if you went over, and you have the option of trying a prone match on the sunday then if you like as well (May as well while you're there). You can get hold of me next week and maybe we'll have more information then with regard to the accommodation and transport. Costs for the various competition entries are already listed on the entry forms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭3DataModem

Thirdfox wrote: »

I believe IRLConor is trying to sort out a private flight (Oh man, does he hate boats!) as otherwise it would mean taking a full week with sailing times, wednesday to wednesday. We stayed in the Douglas Hilton before (Now renamed to The Palace I think) and another hotel called the Ascot. Both were good and reasonably priced but there don't seem to be deals in The Palace this year. We'll have a better idea of accommodation costings when we call a couple of places. You'd get two air rifle matches, on the friday and the saturday, if you went over, and you have the option of trying a prone match on the sunday then if you like as well (May as well while you're there). You can get hold of me next week and maybe we'll have more information then with regard to the accommodation and transport. Costs for the various competition entries are already listed on the entry forms.

If you need any local info let me know... I live in Douglas.

Looks like 6 or 7 travelling from DURC for this, which is a great turnout, best we'll have had in a long old while. Hopefully be plenty of familiar faces altogether anyway. We'll be travelling from Dublin on the friday, returning the following wednesday, so anyone sailing then, will probably see you all on the boat.

That is a good turnout Dave!!, see you on the range Fri afternoon then?;)

Sadly, no, boat from Dublin only leaves friday evening, so no training days for us (and the airgun shooters have to shoot both matches of their aggregate on the saturday, so not perfect). Saturday morning though, definitely.

Everyone still on for the weekends craic??, still travelling on the vomit comet?:D

Aye, should be sending in all the club paperwork next monday or tuesday. Vomit comet it is. You heading out on the wednesday from Belfast or are you flying in?

Flying out Dave, probably on the Thursday!;), will have a beer ready for your arrival!!:D:D

Keep it good and cold now! Depending on the sailing Conor may not be able to face one.

LOL!!, Conor needs to use some Avomine, Stugeron or Kwells!!, one of those or a big Fry!!!:D

Squad lists are up now. Looks like we've some early starts FLOYDSTER! I may have to drop airgun shooters up to Onchan before heading to St. John's as well, so could be rough. At least we might manage to get the match shot before the wind wakes up! Squad lists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

Squad lists are up now. Looks like we've some early starts FLOYDSTER! I may have to drop airgun shooters up to Onchan before heading to St. John's as well, so could be rough. At least we might manage to get the match shot before the wind wakes up! Squad lists.

Really looking forward to this now.

Got my squadding changed from the 8:30am detail to 10:30... in retrospect not a good idea to put down 8:30 when we only get to IOM Friday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭BountyHunter

Best of luck to everyone!

Great weekends craic!!, some interesting and surprising scores on the tricky 50m range!!, nice to see some new faces from DURC who from what I could see deserve some well deserved congrats!!;)

Well done Conor for a cracking result and for Dave for finishing a match in time!! lol :D

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

Great weekends craic!!, some interesting and surprising scores on the tricky 50m range!!, nice to see some new faces from DURC who from what I could see deserve some well deserved congrats!!;)

Yup, we got 6 over this year. One of our newbies is taking a medal home too. :) Hopefully we can get the group into double digits next year!
    Well done Conor for a cracking result

Thanks, though you didn't do too badly yourself. You got medals, I got an Easter egg. :)
    and for Dave for finishing a match in time!! lol :D

I reckon between the two of us we can fund the "It wasn't me! school for kids who don't finish matches too good". Are you in?

Yeah yeah yeah, feck off. Work in progress. Got some good work done today too, so we'll be grand in time.

PMSL!!!, an alarm clock would help!!:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

:D How many seconds left dave? :D

Sparks wrote: »
    :D How many seconds left dave? :D

Fixed some pretty big issues with gun fit on monday, so hoping that works out nicely. Certainly less work to get the same stability and comfort level now, so there's a speed pick up in there. Match on sunday, may have had to put the last four into the 29th target (Supposed to be two per diagram). Score was poxy, at 572, with strings from 94 to 100, but groups on monday you could have drawn the line of the ten ring around, so pleased enough with that!

Nice one Dave!!;)

Hopefully on to good things in the indoor nationals now if I can squeeze them in timewise. May only get one session or so before them.