Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brake pads and discs

• 08-01-2012 8:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭

Does anyone know is there a way to look up the brake pads and brake discs for a 00 hatchback almera without taking everything off by using the reg number etc.?

Need to get new brake discs and pads on all four corners for the car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Drag00n79

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Does anyone know is there a way to look up the brake pads and brake discs for a 00 hatchback almera without taking everything off by using the reg number etc.?

Need to get new brake discs and pads on all four corners for the car?

N15(up to 00) or N16(00 one) and what engine?

Most almera's don't have rear disks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭galwaydude18

It's a 2000 1498 cc.

According to the Nissan garage in Athlone when we had the lack of power diagnosed they mentioned on the health check report the discs needed to be done on all four wheels as they have rust on them.

According to micks garage they have abs and non abs brake pads. I reckon mine are the non abs as no abs light ever comes on the dash when I start the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

Are you going to do the work yourself?

It's a 2000 1498 cc.

According to the Nissan garage in Athlone when we had the lack of power diagnosed they mentioned on the health check report the discs needed to be done on all four wheels as they have rust on them.

According to micks garage they have abs and non abs brake pads. I reckon mine are the non abs as no abs light ever comes on the dash when I start the car

Most early N16 1.5's have drums on the rear.

Assuming its the case that yours has disks, i'd be having the rear calipers checked as they are prone to seizing and would explain rust on your disks.

I would if I had a guide and the tools to do the work but unfortunately I don't. I always get the parts for my mechanic and he does the labour.

I'm not in a position to leave the car into the mechanic during the week as herself uses it to go to college so my mechanic does this kind of work on a Saturday for me so need to get parts during the week

It's a 2000 1498 cc.

Most early N16 1.5's have drums on the rear.

Assuming its the case that yours has disks, i'd be having the rear calipers checked as they are prone to seizing and would explain rust on your disks.

Oh right never new that. I'll get that checked as well. Are they expensive to but if they need to be replaces as well?

I just checked the email I received fro
    The Nissan garage that did the health check and it says discs front and rear no drums mentioned in the report

Ok my mechanic said I have the N15 model of the 00 almera and to ask for the pads and discs for it. The best trade price I have gotten for the lot is €150 including vat.

Mechanic said he will price the parts as well but reckons they won't be gotten much cheaper than that.

Ok my mechanic said I have the N15 model of the 00 almera and to ask for the pads and discs for it. The best trade price I have gotten for the lot is €150 including vat.

Mechanic said he will price the parts as well but reckons they won't be gotten much cheaper than that.

Well if its an N15 model then unless you have a 2.0 GTI then you don't have rear disks.

I'll take the wheels off later on check. Why would an authorised Nissan dealership put down rear and front discs on the vehicle health check if it has drums on the rear?

That wouldn't make sense to me to do that. I was even givin a quote by them after the vhc to do the work and supply the parts also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

If your Almera is 1498cc then it is an N16.

Early N16 Almeras (year 2000) had rear discs, they changed over to drums shortly afterwards. The calipers are very troublesome on them as ND says above so make sure they are checked out.

I'll take the rear wheel off when herself gets home from college and double make sure so. I will defiantly be getting the callipers looked at as well.

My mechanic is an x Nissan dealership mechanic and works for himself now so have good faith in him

I'll take the wheels off later on check. Why would an authorised Nissan dealership put down rear and front discs on the vehicle health check if it has drums on the rear?

That wouldn't make sense to me to do that. I was even givin a quote by them after the vhc to do the work and supply the parts also.

Actually I forgot you said it was a 1498cc, meaning, as George said, its not an N15.

Ya ND your right when I put the reg number into micks garage it says n16

Hi I took off both the rear and front tyre and measured the diamater of the disc and they are both 257mm in diamater.

The rear does have brake discs and not drums. Also I noticed that the car jack stated it was to be used with a N16 almera so I presume that is the model of the 00 Almera that I have?

Looking at the pics of the callipers can you guys tell that they definatly are not ABS? No ABS lights ever come on the dash and when I press the brakes hard at speed there is no feed back like there would be with a car with ABS.

The first two pictures are of the rear brake disc and calliper.

Hi I took off both the rear and front tyre and measured the diamater of the disc and they are both 257mm in diamater.

The rear does have brake discs and not drums. Also I noticed that the car jack stated it was to be used with a N16 almera so I presume that is the model of the 00 Almera that I have?

Looking at the pics of the callipers can you guys tell that they definatly are not ABS? No ABS lights ever come on the dash and when I press the brakes hard at speed there is no feed back like there would be with a car with ABS.

The first two pictures are of the rear brake disc and calliper.

I don't see any ABS wires. The ABS isn't in the caliper anyway.

If I were you I'd be getting those brakes properly looked at, the rears look in very bad condition, not just the pads and disks.

The 3rd pic of the front left disk looks like you have a binding caliper there too, the disk is showing signs of overheating.

In the first pic of the rear disc what is the metal directly behind the disc? It looks flimsy enough or even corroded?

The callipers look like they have a good bit of surface rust on them?

The brake pad neareste on the front only has about 3mm left on from what I could see. And when I turned it by hand you could hear like a scraping noise form it. Like something in between ye disc and calliper.

In the first pic of the rear disc what is the metal directly behind the disc? It looks flimsy enough or even corroded?

The callipers look like they have a good bit of surface rust on them?

The brake pad neareste on the front only has about 3mm left on from what I could see. And when I turned it by hand you could hear like a scraping noise form it. Like something in between ye disc and calliper.

Its the stone guard and yes its very corroded. Was the car a UK car or do you live by the sea or something?

Did you try to turn the front disk? You say there is approx 3mm on the outside pad but it looks like the inside pad has plenty left so all the signs on seized parts.

Like I said, those brakes all need to be checked properly. I my opinion new pads and disk won't fix your problems there.

The car is from Donegal so ya has spent its life by the sea. More specifically I got the car in letterkenny.

Ya looks like they will need a good looking at. They will need to be right for the nct in June anyhow so might as well get them right now.

Can seized callipers be freed up? Money is tight enough at the minute.

I only turned the front brake disc.

The car is from Donegal so ya has spent its life by the sea. More specifically I got the car in letterkenny.

Ya looks like they will need a good looking at. They will need to be right for the nct in June anyhow so might as well get them right now.

Can seized callipers be freed up? Money is tight enough at the minute.

I only turned the front brake disc.

They can be free'd up as a temporary repair at best if its the piston thats seized, the caliper sliders may be seized which, if the pistons are ok, would be cheaper to repair.

There are no short cuts with brakes unfortunately and, like I said, pads and disks alone aren't going to fix your brakes.

Ok I will mention it to my mechanic next week when I drop the car into him. He been a x Nissan dealer mechanic will be femalier with these issues. Looks like they need a serious overhauling?

Knowing my luck the break lines will need to be done as well :-(

Drop links need to be done at some stage as well. This car is going to cost me a few pound to get through the nct and as I have no long term or short term work at the minute can only afford to do jobs bit by bit :-(