Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When will the Internet be Upgraded ??

• 06-01-2012 2:47pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭

Ok so not the actual internet as such but more along the lines of websites being upgraded to a virtual state. Futurama has some great idea's in the below clip :

I would have thought that 95% of this technology already exists although granted people do not have the equipment in their house readily availble and there are a few obstacles to overcome first.

Let's not get all advanced here though, let's not talk about "touching solid objects" for example

What would this really entail - They can already create virtual worlds / graphics like GTA so picture Grafton Street for example in this virtual world.

All you would need is virtual goggle's and a sensor suit with a few sensors in say your living room, Gloves with sensors on them etc...

The hardest part would be the walking or running and turning ( I think )
    Although I'm sure someone could come up with either some sort of rotating jogging machine or hang off your ceiling using ropes which would mean you would be off the ground by about a foot allowing you to move freely around while the sensors pick up this data and relay it to the virtual world.

I for one would love to walk down the internet.

You could buy the hardware ( gloves, senors and ropes ! ) and each company that already has a site could start creating these virtual shops which eventually get integrated into the virtual world.

I believe this will be the next step in the upgrading of the internet just as Futurama has predicted it.

I'm probably getting ahead of myself here and will be shot down by all of you I know.

What do you reckon anyway, what do you think will be the next major overhaul / upgrade of the internet or should I say the way sites are accessed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

like some kind of minority report

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

All this virtual reality hocus pocus was supposed to happen in the 90's.

Thank fook it died a miserable death.

Next overhaul will be Internet2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Eircom still haven't upgrade my exchange to allow broadband so I'm not confident we will ever have sufficient infrastructure in this country to do anything good.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

MagicSean wrote: »
    Eircom still haven't upgrade my exchange to allow broadband so I'm not confident we will ever have sufficient infrastructure in this country to do anything good.

Very true, but despite our infrastructure the technology is there to upgrade should we wish to do so.

I agree that infrastrucutre would have to be upgraded to handle the extra bandwidth that would come with such heavy graphics and details etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

reckon we're more likely to see inputs into our skulls, ala the Matrix/Existenz then a dedicated internet room in each house, with a 'rotating jogging machine' tbh, and thats saying something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Duggy747 wrote: »

I've seen the Lawnmower Man, no good will come from virtual-reality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,202 ✭✭✭amacca

internet v2.0 ...... will be owned by some massive corporation ..totally sh1t and intrusive...full of bugs and laden with haters and trolls

it will probably have lots more porn though to balance this out

in summary not much will change...but it will somehow cost you more in the long run (and in more ways than you might imagine)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

Duggy747 wrote: »

The way the retarded naming fad is going these days it'll be iInternet

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

How would walking several miles to get from one site to another be an upgrade? Imagine reading a thread on Boards.ie, and then wanting to lookup some information on Wikipedia, would you have to take a virtual train to get there?

Tbh, that sounds way too much like real life, which we specifically invented to internet to avoid.

stevenmu wrote: »
    How would walking several miles to get from one site to another be an upgrade? Imagine reading a thread on Boards.ie, and then wanting to lookup some information on Wikipedia, would you have to take a virtual train to get there?

Tbh, that sounds way too much like real life, which we specifically invented to internet to avoid.

I see what you mean but my point was more geared towards retails shops and not online Forums. it would be nice to "walk around the shop" as such as if you were actually there.

Wossack wrote: »
    reckon we're more likely to see inputs into our skulls, ala the Matrix/Existenz then a dedicated internet room in each house, with a 'rotating jogging machine' tbh, and thats saying something

We don't really know enough about the brain to do that and probably won't for a very long time where as the technology ( i think ) already exists to do what my orignal post was.

Interactive porn is probably where the money is, not walking around looking for an online cabbage in virtual Tesco.

no silly...you would remain a fixed point in virtual space while the specific sites came to you

(disclaimer : how to fill hours of frustrating load time due to poor virtual bandwidth in ireland v 2.0 are your own issue - eircom v 2.0 reserves the right not to upgrade your local exchange to virtual status if there are not enough service users available to block up the system)

That's very true, perhaps instead of installing a virtual luas because it is virtual what if we threw in a jetman app that allows you to fly over Dublin between shops, for the older ppl though we could still programm in the Luas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Porn has always been the driving force behind technology upgrades on the internet.

Streaming video that you watch trailers on.... Porn made it as good as it is today.

Sorry Internet Puritans but you can't fight the truth (or titties).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Staplor

I could kind of see this working, with some sort of portaling capability, which you could go from one end of Grafton St to the other by a quick web seatch. Didn't Barry do this in Bachelors Walk though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

Sacramento wrote: »
    Interactive porn is probably where the money is, not walking around looking for an online cabbage in virtual Tesco.

I happen to like online cabbage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

amacca wrote: »
    no silly...you would remain a fixed point in virtual space while the specific sites came to you

But how is that any advantage over remaining in a fixed point (sitting on your ass at a comp) and typing in what sites you want to see?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

We wouldn't have had such a push for video quality if it weren't for good ol' porn.

Scat now in glorious HD!

maximoose wrote: »
    But how is that any advantage over remaining in a fixed point (sitting on your ass at a comp) and typing in what sites you want to see?!

Its not ... but the seductive marketing campaign and the fact that all your consumer friends have it will make you want it as well.

(oh yes...you'll want it bad my friend.....baaaaaad)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

Its actually may be downgraded. Apparently they are having space issues. As more and more media content becomes HD also Iplayers are eating up space and the flow. So what they may do is downgrade some of the services going to some countries.

I'm surpirsed no one has come out with it yet in countries like Japan and the likes.

Since the technology is pretty much there already for it.
    Whoever decides to do it it will make them Bill Gates rich

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Its never gonna become a reality cos it just isn't bloody practical

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Reminds me of Dara O'Briain talking about playing Grand Theft Auto, and he keeps getting killed, so has to start off in the car and and drive to the victims house. After about the third time you realise you are basically commuting on your day off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

amacca wrote: »
    internet v2.0 ...... will be owned by some massive corporation ..totally sh1t and intrusive...full of bugs and laden with haters and trolls

it will probably have lots more porn though to balance this out

in summary not much will change...but it will somehow cost you more in the long run
    (and in more ways than you might imagine)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Viral Vector

I'd rather have a holodeck! ;)

I wonder how much ESB would charge me for usage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

They'd probably give you an estimated reading for half the year and then shaft you when they do a reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

Ye but a holodeck isn't being realistic where as I am.
    7 0f 9 :D

o no, Kleenex please !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

there are actual predictions about this and it's 2030-2040

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

The Interbutts has come a massive way since it started as Arpanet. Technically, although it mightn't seem it, there's been fairly substantial upgrades over the last seven or so years. As far as plugging yrself in, a la Ghost In The Shell, we're not completely far off. I forget the name of the guy, but there's one dude who's basically the Einstein of this sh!t, but it's still in the development stage. He's got wee computers actually inside himself. so he can literally feel the same emotions as his wife as she's feeling them, can operate a few simple things in his house, stuff like that.

The biggest risk is stuff like in GITS, Ghost Hacking and so on. Would you trust a system that can potentially let other random people connect to you directly? I'd love to live in the GITS world, but you'd have to be a master of security to not let yourself be formatted or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Viral Vector

Stiffler2 wrote: »
    Ye but a holodeck isn't being realistic where as I am.
    7 0f 9 :D

o no, Kleenex please !
    How is a Holodeck not realistic? It uses holographic images and uses atomisers for smells etc!

Now Seven of Nine....that's unrealistic! :P

Meh - anything is possible, it's not realistic yet.

How would you create the feeling of actually touching an object let alone picking it up + holographic technology is crap right now so it would have to start off with the goggles for sure.