Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Think my sister has schizophrenia

• 05-01-2012 3:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hey going unreg for this

My sister used to outgoing enough and finished college training for a job that involves standing and talking infront of rooms of people. I guess this point is important as shes the complete opposite now.

For the past 2 years she never left the house unless been forced too, e.g. a family funeral. For a while she would just lie in bed all day and close her door and tell people to stop annoying her. After a while we tryed encouraging her to come down and watch TV but she showed no interest in it. She would sit in the corner in the room and read meaningless things day in day out, like for example an atlas. She would never pick up the paper and read it or anything about reality if that makes sense. I asked her did she want a go on my PC and she sat down, all she did was look at the google homepage for an hour pretending to use it.

She hasn't used her laptop in 2 years, she ended up bringing it to the guards because some porn popup showed up, which to me makes no sense. She decided to go abroad for a while and we thought maybe this was a good idea to give her a chance to rebuild or whatever. She went away for 3 months and spent her life savings moving from hotel to hotel and never looking for work or college etc. We warned her 100 times she would end up running out of money and to come home, she would never listen, like she had a belief money wasn't important. Eventually she ran out of money and I had to pay alot of money to get her home on a short term flight.

For the past 3/4 months she has fascinated herself with reading ingredients on everything she eats/drinks. She through a tantrum over the fact that mi wadi contains sodium, and got very aggressive over it. To be honest that is the tip of the Iceberg. She seems to call out everyone else's problems. For example anytime I try to ask her if shes feeling ok she will respond with "What are you asking me that for? You're the one who drinks beer and smokes" Very aggressively.

For the past 2 months shes been talking to herself constantly when shes alone in the house. Mumbling things that make no sense what so ever. She used to try hide doing it and now she does it even when people are near her. Random phrases like "Invalid thoughts Invalid thoughts" or "Yeah I shoulda said that but I know she meant well, but well , yeah, " and repeat it 10 times over.

She hasn't signed on the dole, applied for a medical card or done anything like that for the past 2 years. The last time she started her car was at least a year ago, even though we try to encourage her to do it to keep the battery from going flat.

We've tried talking to her, nearly every day but she twists the words around and ends up calling someone else out, I.E. she will say "WHY ISNT XXX in college, he could do another year if he wants, YOUR THICK , YOUR THICK" Its just impossible.

I went for a pee last night @ 4am and noticed her light on in her room, I knocked on the door and asked if she was OK. She was sitting up in the bed staring at the wall fully dressed.

Its like she has all these false beliefs and no matter how much I try to explain to her that it doesn't make sense she calls me thick and gets super aggressive.

Really don't know what to do at this stage. My dad is retired so there's not much money going around. We tried to get her medical card sorted but all she says is "Is that all you care about money??" Very aggressively. Any advice would be welcome

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Could anyone replying to this thread please keep their responses limited to what they think the op should do in this situation. No diagnoses of what they think is wrong with the sister.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

I think what you should do, as a family, is stop enabling crazy behaviour and offer her support in terms of getting medical attention.

What I mean by stop enabling crazy behaviour is, for example, not spending lots of your own money on a flight to get her home because she has spent all her own money - actions have consequences and making life too easy for someone is never a good thing.

You dont state her age but Im assuming early 20s if she is finished college? If thats the case why is she allowed stay in the family home while making no contribution to the house? By contribution I mean, financial contribution or contribution in terms of doing things in the house like chores, cooking etc... I dont understand why an adult in their 20s would be getting propped up living at home and staying in their bedroom and not working when there are social supports (like rent allowance and dole) available. I quite simply would have been turfed out at her age if I was behaving that way.

Im not saying any of the above to be harsh btw, I just think that its very very difficult to stand on your own two feet while you are being propped up left right and centre by your family.

On being aggressive, and crazy behaviours, well I think its clear she should go to her GP. Without a medical diagnosis there is no telling how much of her behaviour is willful, possibly attention seeking or how much of it is mental illness, or whether or not she has some condition etc....Only a professional can tell this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Your sister's behaviour is not necessarily indicative of Schizophrenia. Has she come to the attention of the mental health services before?

What I would suggest is trying to persuade her to see her GP. I don't know how the laws on mental health stand here, but in the UK, sadly you cannot FORCE her to go. Neither will you be able to get her sectioned to get treatment unless there is a real danger to herself or to others, and even then it might not happen.

I'm not sure you would be able to discuss her condition with the GP either due to confidentiality issues. But I might stand to be corrected on this.

Have a look at SANE's website :http://www.sane.org.uk/. Although this is for the UK, there's lots of useful info for the families of people with mental health issues. I'll have a scout round to see if there's anything similar for Ireland. I think at the moment, you need to arm yourself with as much info as possible, and try to get support if you can.

I hope this helps and good luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

I think what you should do, as a family, is stop enabling crazy behaviour and offer her support in terms of getting medical attention.

What I mean by stop enabling crazy behaviour is, for example, not spending lots of your own money on a flight to get her home because she has spent all her own money - actions have consequences and making life too easy for someone is never a good thing.

You dont state her age but Im assuming early 20s if she is finished college? If thats the case why is she allowed stay in the family home while making no contribution to the house? By contribution I mean, financial contribution or contribution in terms of doing things in the house like chores, cooking etc... I dont understand why an adult in their 20s would be getting propped up living at home and staying in their bedroom and not working when there are social supports (like rent allowance and dole) available. I quite simply would have been turfed out at her age if I was behaving that way.

Im not saying any of the above to be harsh btw, I just think that its very very difficult to stand on your own two feet while you are being propped up left right and centre by your family.

On being aggressive, and crazy behaviours, well I think its clear she should go to her GP. Without a medical diagnosis there is no telling how much of her behaviour is willful, possibly attention seeking or how much of it is mental illness, or whether or not she has some condition etc....Only a professional can tell this.

Whilst I agree the OP's sister's behaviour is odd, I cannot agree with parts of your post.

If the sister has mental health issues, it's not as simple as not 'enabling crazy behaviours'. You have to realise the person is ILL, and needs treatment, not tough love. Remember, you're not dealing with a rational person here. They have no insight into their behaviour, and why it's upsetting and anti social to people around them.

But I do agree that medical intervention is necessary. Whether the OP's sister agrees to this or not, I don't know. But I hope she will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

If the sister has mental health issues, it's not as simple as not 'enabling crazy behaviours'. You have to realise the person is ILL, and needs treatment, not tough love. Remember, you're not dealing with a rational person here. They have no insight into their behaviour, and why it's upsetting and anti social to people around them.

Thats IF the person is ill though, and as yet there is no diagnosis. I dont think enabling the behaviours I mentioned should be done anyway, regardless of the state of the persons mental health. If they have mental health issues they need to get diagnosed and treated, not left to lie in a bedroom and behave strangely for 2 years. If they dont have mental health issues then they shouldnt be left to lie in a bedroom and behave strangely for 2 years either!! They should be contributing to the household.

I understand what you are saying about it not being as simple as enabling crazy behaviours and hope Ive clarified a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭Janet1986

Psychiatric evaluation is what your sis needs.

I would even bring a doctor to the house to have a look at her and refer her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

The best course of action is to call as many mental health resources in your local and surrounding area. Ask them directly what can be done and what steps you can take. They may be able to get a nurse or social worker into your home to speak with her.

Even if she refuses treatment your family can set up some boundaries in the house. Your parents need to talk with her and tell her that she has to contribute something whilst living under their roof. Don't expect her to go out and get a job though you have to start with baby steps. Have her do laundry, washing the dishes after dinner, hoovering or whatever small chore that she can do around the house. You will be amazed how confidence can be regained for small things like that. Everyone needs to interact with her daily not let herself locked up in her room all the time. Even if it is just for a tea and chat for 15 minutes a day. Talk about other things like school her travels. This can help her build trust and may open up more about her feelings and what is going on with her.

Calling the mental health agencies and getting support through them is paramount. They will be able to guide you and your family on how to handle the matter altogether. You will be suprised how much families can be enablers. Even though she sounds ill, the families behaviour and actions can exacerbate them. This is why it is important that the whole family that is living under the same roof consult a mental health worker. They almost always have support groups for family members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Katy89

op, as others already mentioned you need help in form of a psychiatrist to assess her.
    don't know where you live but in dublin every district has a mental health department. find out about them and their phone number, give them a ring, tell them about your sister and they will help you.

all the best.

Katy89 wrote: »
    op, as others already mentioned you need help in form of a psychiatrist to assess her.
    don't know where you live but in dublin every district has a mental health department. find out about them and their phone number, give them a ring, tell them about your sister and they will help you.

all the best.
    *I'm not saying your sister has this illness, although the situation is similar but hopefully not as extreme as mine.
    My mother isn't diagnosed (as far as I know but probably is) it seems to me that she is a paranoid schizophrenic but the label really doesn't matter, its the symptoms that make life difficult for her and others which need attention.

The sad thing is she did get an assessment a few years into her illness was admitted into hospital and checked herself out before the treatment finished, after 15 years of the gaurds being called to the house, countless social workers, her children ended up in hospital with injuries, going to school without lunch uniform books etc., being hit and shouted all.. records of all of the above she was going to be brought to court (about 7 years trying) and it was refused for lack of evidence [that she is a threat to herself or anyone else]

She would be homeless but she saved up all the child benefit she received and was facilitated by my father who still loved her, I do sympathise and when I saw this thread I was really hoping I would see something that would help, I even put in another report in 2009 and no action has been taken.

I'm not sure I have any answers but I have been through this but if my mother checked herself then maybe with enough love and support [from as many services as possible] she may find some peace, I know with any really extreme behavioural problems medication can change a persons life because what ever your sister is struggling with it doesn't sound like she is in control of it.

Your sister's behaviour is not necessarily indicative of Schizophrenia. Has she come to the attention of the mental health services before?

Yes she has. She checked herself in to a mental clinic/hospital a few years ago voluntarily and they prescribed her some drugs after a few days. It was just a random day and at the time she said she wasn't feeling well. I have no idea when she stopped taking them but it must be years ago.

I told her today I was worried about her mental health and maybe she should see a doctor, she just started fake laughing/giggling and walked off without letting me finish, like some form of denial.

I will get my Dad to ring the local mental health board place tomorrow and see what options are available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭neemish

Sounds like a good option to get your Dad to ring. As hard as it is, your sister needs help.

Whatever the problem turns out to be, the sooner your sister gets assessed and helped, the better it will be for her.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

neemish wrote: »
    Sounds like a good option to get your Dad to ring. As hard as it is, your sister needs help.

Whatever the problem turns out to be, the sooner your sister gets assessed and helped, the better it will be for her.

Let us know what happens.
    Please note it is against the charter to request updates on any situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭neemish

Oryx wrote: »
    Please note it is against the charter to request updates on any situation.

Have amended thread. Apologies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭HovaBaby

I think you should contact your GP. The GP is the person who refers you to the psychiatrist, he writes a letter and then you can see the psychiatrist.

I know it can be upsetting, but as least she has ye there for her. I have been down the road of deep depression before, I know how a mental health issue can affect your life. I was deeply depressed from mid-2004 until March 2008, my family luckily stuck by me through the times.