Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racing Metro vs Toulouse - Jan 27th 2012

• 05-01-2012 2:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭

Gonna be in Paris for this, and was thinking of getting tickets for it... Trying to find out more info on it, but the ground doesn't seem to be confirmed yet..

Did anyone go to the Racing home game against Leinster last year? Any feedback on the grounds etc., etc? Anyone familiar with T14, should I buy tickets in advance?

I know Racing are struggling a bit at the moment, but could be a good match.. Toulouse might look at running a few in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭theKramer

My GF went to school there and says the Racing-Metro stadium is in a dodgy area, so dont stay there.

Toulouse have such a big squad that they are always competitive no matter what team they put out, so you dont have to worry about the usual Top 14 away game policy where the away team plays an uncompetitive team...

Id say you would have to book in advance as Racing are really hyping this game up...
    914x150.jpg

Book tix here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

Going by the banner there, the match is at Stade de France, not Racing's home ground. Was at Stade Francais' match against Clermont last April at Stade de France: it's fairly easy to get to. It's in an office district, so accommodation nearby could be a problem, but the Parisian transport system is a dream. Tickets should be cheap as chips if you book them now - think we paid a fiver a head (the club sells tickets for almost nothing and gets the money through sheer numbers - there were over 74,000 at the Stade-Clermont game).

The area around the stadium is pretty nice after the game - there's a strip of bars and restaurants beside it, and I think they have pre-and-post-match deals (have lunch with us before the game, and we'll have a table for you for after the game and take care of the first round of beers - that kind of thing). There's also a Decathlon, which is useful if you play sports as well as watch: Decathlon has cheap gear for more or less every sport in existence. I picked up cycling shorts, baselayers, football socks and a pair of insufferably hipster bright yellow runners while I was there.

Don't try and buy souvenirs at the game; they charge like sin for them. There's a Racing shop in Paris somewhere if you really want something, or take home the Stade de France reusable beer cups. They charge a euro deposit on them, but if you can afford it you can take it home.

One thing I would warn you about - getting to the match is grand as long as you arrive with a bit of time to spare, but getting back into the city is a lot longer. Give yourself an hour at least of waiting time at the station, as it's really not designed to cope with seventy thousand people at a time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

it also seems to be on the 28th and not the 27th at 4 p.m. in case that changes anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Cheers for the feedback lads, very very helpful. The fact it's on the 28th and it's in stade de France has sold it for me. Going with the misses so don't think she would've fancied a trip out to racings home...

Only one question left.. Who to support? Racing fans were great sports last year in the rds, and they are the underdog presumably....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Bought tix for this. Can't wait now, first time I've been to Stade de France.

Unfortunately it means I'll be missing the Wolfhound game! :(