Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Camino de Santiago

• 05-01-2012 3:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭

Hey all! Myself and a friend of mine have been making sort of vague plans to cycle the Camino de Santiago in August/September of this year. He has walked the route before, but neither of us has been on a cycle tour abroad before. I'm basically looking for the thoughts of anyone who might have done the route before (advice regarding bicycle rentals and camp sites would be very welcome!), or any general tips for a couple of young guys doing their first foreign cycle tour. Thanks, DG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭vektarman

I'm doing this in May, not the whole route though because I've only got a week off, I'm doing the 320 or so Kilometres from Leon, are you doing it on the actual path?, if so, you'll need an MTB, a lot of cyclists use a road bike and mainly use the quiet roads that run close to the pilgrim path, I'm renting an MTB from these: http://www.tournride.com/ rather than the hassle of bringing my own bike, good luck with the cycle if you decide to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭25sean

I cycled it in 2000.. on a touring bike.. had 32s on at the time, but a 25-28 would be fine as long as youre not too loaded up(which you should never be when touring!!)..

campistes all over the place.. you can stay in refujios.. hostels for pretty cheap.. or you can just camp in fields or off the road a bit for free..

great route.. all laid out for you.. meet a lot of people..

bon voyage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭mal_1

Heres a great resource for everything you might need to know.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Santiago_Bicicleta/

Did it in 2006 late September into October.

Items to note at the time of that time of the year is the time of year.
    August is hot;
    bear in mind the weigh on the bike in such heat, and it is surprisingly hilly which isn't always as apparent to walkers.

Know your bike and be comfortable with it, having done similar to a days journey distance with the weigh you will be doing on the camino.

Also a cyclists you may be put to the back of the list in the refugees (only happens when busy / fullish and close to Santiago)

Enjoy it, its such a wonderful experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

done it from bilbao what a trip fantastic but tough some mega climbs on it, when its hot man is it hot :eek:so always make sure you have loads of water seriously because everything closed from 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭mikesp

Random thoughts:
    - August/September will be warm during the day (short sleeves), but early in the morning you will need long sleeve for sure.
    - Chances of raining around Asturias/Galicia are high, any day (very similar to Irish weather) so you should take at least a light waterproof jacket.
    - You don't need a camp tent, just a sleeping bag. There are beds at the "refugios".
    - You can start every day around 7am. Cycling under the Sun between 1pm-4pm could kill a non-used Irish pal. Darkness will arrive around 9:30-10pm.
    - You will find plenty of places to fill your water-bottles. No need to carry more than 2 standard bottles.
    - Get your arses used to cycle around 100km everyday for a week in a row :)
    - Learn how to solve the most common mechanical problems (change a tube, fix a broken chain, ...) and carry at least a basic set of tools and a pair of spare tubes (even if you are using slime-like tubes)
    - On wikiloc.com you will find some tracks. Taking a look to a GPS while riding can be handy to be sure that you are in the right way.
    - Carry a lock for your bike.

If I remind any other important information I would update this.

In case you can speak Spanish, the most popular forum of people cycling the Camino is: forobicigrino.com/

Ask any doubt you find before starting your trip.

Buen camino! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Super Freak

Ever so slightly off topic but being a Martin Sheen fan I'd love to see "The Way". Looks like a nice trip and is certianly an interesting route.

funny story six of us were cycling up to a village miles from anywhere ,we seen a pilgrim walking minding his own business enjoy the day, when we passed by we all said baun camino he replied keep it lit lads, jesus we all nearly crashed the guy was from the same town as us as a matter of fact he was the boss of one of the lads that was cycling with us.
    talk about a small world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭Straatvark

Did it from leon in 2006. MTB's, so we could stick with the hikers off road. Was July and in that area you still get rain and pretty cold early mornings.

Stayed in the refuges for cheap. Best holiday ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 kev23f

I did it about 7 years ago, the whole shebang, from St Jean Pied de Port to Santiago, it took 9 days, the last 2 being easy days. Some more random thoughts...

1] We did it on mountain bikes. Bought 2 from some megastore in the south of france (cant remember the town), then put them on the last train leg of the journey to St Jean. We then sold the bikes in Santiago, at a loss obviously, but the convenience was worth it. I was sorry to say goodbye to the bike at the end.

2] We did a mixture of the pilgrims trail, and the main roads. Do whatever suits your mood on the day, and there are usually lots of opportunities to hop on/off the main trail in any given day. (except near the start in the mountains).

3] The mountain parts were difficult, but fine, cos you expect that. What was soul destroying was the the long flat plains between Leon & Burgos(?), with a steady wind blowing against you all day.

4] There are no shortage of places to stay, Refugios they are called, but you probably know that. You will usually need a pilgrims passport to stay in them, but I'm not sure if that's the case anymore. Get one anyway, they stamp them in every place you stay, and make for a great souvenir.

5] In high season many of the refugios are very busy, and they often give priority to walkers over cyclists, so watch out for that one.

Any other questions let me know. I was a cycling newbie when i went, and we figured everything out along the way, and it was one of the best holidays i ever had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭cantalach

Ever so slightly off topic but being a Martin Sheen fan I'd love to see "The Way". Looks like a nice trip and is certianly an interesting route.

Where are the Secret Service agents? He looks very vulnerable there on his own!!!

kev23f wrote: »

1] We did it on mountain bikes. Bought 2 from some megastore in the south of france (cant remember the town), then put them on the last train leg of the journey to St Jean. We then sold the bikes in Santiago, at a loss obviously, but the convenience was worth it. I was sorry to say goodbye to the bike at the end.

Great idea, this what I could see myself doing, and you could get your bike boxed in Santiago if you want to bring the bike back home with you. http://www.caminodesantiago.me/board/biking-the-camino/topic10891.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 kev23f

oh, one other thing. We did it in 9 days, but this left very little time to stop and chill out at any spots, even for a random few hours to admire the scenery, make a detour etc - so if you can try and allocate a full 2 weeks to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Sean02

It's a real gamble renting bikes. Can spoil your trip. Better and cheaper to bring your own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 374 ✭✭theholyghost

I've often thought about doing this either on foot or bike (I'd bring one from the collection!) but I have read if you do it on the bike you are basically in the way of the walking pilgrims, is this true? It puts me off.

no your not you can choose to stay on the road or head off road which is the walking route either way you wont bother anyone except the germans:D:D

I've often thought about doing this either on foot or bike (I'd bring one from the collection!) but I have read if you do it on the bike you are basically in the way of the walking pilgrims, is this true? It puts me off.

There is enough space for walking pilgrims and bikers, don't worry about that.

That said, respect the walking guys and take care while overtaking them if the path is narrow.

Buen camino!

i think you can get the passport from the guinness place someone will know better;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭2x4

I cycled the Camino de Santiago on a tourer. Took nine days from St. Jean de Port in the French Pyrenees. A remarkable journey if you get into the historical/pilgrimage side of it. Staying in the refugios is all part of the experience.

Irish Friends of St. James will supply the pilgrims passport for a small fee. St. James Gate in Dublin was the traditional starting point for Irish pilgrims hundreds of years ago. Guinness have maintained the tradition of stamping the passport before you set off.

Alternatively you could just ride the camino as a cycling holiday but you will miss out on one of lifes great experiences.

yeah love to do it again on my touring bike and camping all the way you see so much more.maybe one day i shall return ;)

i think you can get the passport from the guinness place someone will know better;)

Yes, passports can be stamped at the Guinness Storehouse reception desk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,429 ✭✭✭dnme

When you're bedding down for the night in the refugios, what happens to your bike ?

the angles come down from heaven and gives it a good old cleaning and a good service ready for the next day.:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Thanks a million everyone - I'm sure I'll be getting in contact with some of ye in the coming months. I'd imagine we'll be taking the roads, but to be honest we haven't even discussed where we'll start. Pamplona sounds like a good place to me, but we haven't agreed how long we'll go for either, I'm inclined to be a slow tourer, dawdling is maybe the best word.

again I'll ask the question, what do you with your bike / kit when bedding down for the night in the refugios?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭Straatvark

dnme wrote: »
    again I'll ask the question, what do you with your bike / kit when bedding down for the night in the refugios?

Kit go to the sleeping area.
    We left luggage that we did not take on the bike at in the hotel basement in Leon until we got back later by train.
    All he refugios have space/room to secure your bike.
    Take a light lock with you, but security was never an issue 6 years ago.
    20070729%252520174.jpg
    20070729%252520173.jpg
    20070729%252520230.jpg
    20070729%252520170.jpg

dnme wrote: »
    When you're bedding down for the night in the refugios, what happens to your bike ?

All the refugios have a place to leave/lock the bikes. And you will carry the panniers with you to your bed.
    You will also need a lock plenty of times each day (while buying some food, while having a nap, etc.), so bring a lock.

I encourage you to get a "pilgrim passport" (credencial del peregrino). You can ask for stamps during your camino and it's a nice way to remember where you slept or where you had a launch. On other hand you will need it if once that you arrive to Santiago you want to get your "compostela", a document certifying that you did your camino, a nice "souvenir" as well.

Buen camino ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 sylvie.sims

Hi any advice on what to pack for the camino ? I will be walking for 5 weeks

Sylvie

Sylvie

There is loads of lists of what to take out there.

http://www.csj.org.uk/planning.htm#take

The most important advise however is keep the weight down. If you think you might need something at some stage 'forget it'.

Your God will thank you for making the journey, not carrying a cross.

think my rucksack was under 5 kilos.

Having done it on bike and walking a little tip or treat at the end; is to plan to kit yourself in new clothes in Santiago for the journey home.

Sylvie

Keep it light Sylvie. When are you going? The needed pack (thinking about type and amount of clothes) is quite different depending on the months your are going.

Common things:
    A GOOD/comfortable rucksack.
    A light sleeping bag (you won't need a mat at refugios).
    A penknife to cut bread/food you buy at shops.
    A bottle of water of this type.
    A light towel of this type.
    Some toilet paper.
    First aid kit for your daily feet care. I've seen destroyed feet at refugios.
    Soap to wash your clothes every day.
    A torch would be handy at refugios, but you can use your mobile phone and save 100grs.

Over all: keep it light.

Buen camino!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

I'd love to do it. I'm not very religious at all but the trouble finding someone to do it with me

BX 19 wrote: »
    I'd love to do it. I'm not very religious at all but the trouble finding someone to do it with me

There's a lot to be said for doing stuff like that alone. It's no great taboo, frees you up and you tend to end up meeting far more people. Go for it, do it on your own.

BX 19 wrote: »
    I did it on my own and I would advice to everybody doing them on their own, at your pace and solving some adversities by yourself.

If during the Camino you want to join some group or go with somebody you will have loads of opportunities to do it every day.

It's an experience that you would hardly forget.

Buen Camino.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭rat_race

I'm planning on doing this, by bike, in September. Starting at Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port or nearby.

Having trouble figuring out how to get my bike there though. I've flown my bike before, but I'd rather avoid the hassle. Also my bike bag is pretty decent, and I'd have nowhere to leave it, I'd have to discard it. Yeah, I could just use a cardboard box, but if I can ferry + public transport, I think I'd prefer it.

Any ideas/routes that you guys have already done?

Nearest airport is Bordeaux.

No idea how I'd get back to Ireland either :) ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭funnights74

Saw that film about a year ago, 2 and a half hours so it goes on a bit but well worth a watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Morgan

rat_race wrote: »
    I'm planning on doing this, by bike, in September. Starting at Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port or nearby.

Having trouble figuring out how to get my bike there though. I've flown my bike before, but I'd rather avoid the hassle. Also my bike bag is pretty decent, and I'd have nowhere to leave it, I'd have to discard it. Yeah, I could just use a cardboard box, but if I can ferry + public transport, I think I'd prefer it.

Any ideas/routes that you guys have already done?

Nearest airport is Bordeaux.

No idea how I'd get back to Ireland either :) ...

Flying to Biarritz is the easiest option. Use a cardboard box and leave it there. From Biarritz it's an easy cycle to SJPDP. You can pick up cardboard bike boxes at the airport in Santiago for the return journey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭rat_race

Morgan wrote: »
    Flying to Biarritz is the easiest option. Use a cardboard box and leave it there. From Biarritz it's an easy cycle to SJPDP. You can pick up cardboard bike boxes at the airport in Santiago for the return journey

Thanks for the suggestion. I'll look into that, yeah. The thing is, bringing all my camping, gear, etc...just can't trust it in a cardboard box. Suppose if I taped it up enough, should be okay.

The thing is, bringing all my camping, gear, etc...

Don't do that, unless you REALLY want to do it "on your own".

Concerning your "sleeping-camping gear": You won't have any problem finding space to sleep on the refugios (refuges?). It's very handy to wash your daily clothes, take a shower, leave your stuff there and go to explore the town where you are. And of course sleeping on a bed instead of the ground after a whole day cycling.

Concerning your "cooking-camping gear": On each town you will see plenty of bars where you could have your lunch/dinner. They have a "Menu del Peregrino" (the pilgrim menu), always under €10, with plenty of options to choose your fav 1st and 2nd dish and dessert.

Apart of that: finding spots to put your tent/camping stuff "on the wild", won't be really easy.

Do whatever you feel like doing... but you could save several kgs of stuff that you won't need :)

Buen camino.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Sean02

Prayer for Camino Cyclists....
    To Know the Way.
    We go the Way:
    We do the Way
    The way we do
    The things we do.
    The things we do it´s
    all there in front of You.
    But if youtry hard tosee it, you´ll only become confused.

I am me, You are you, As you can see;
    But when you do the things that you can do, you will find the Way.
    And the Way will follow you.

Buen Camino

Thanks for the suggestion. I'll look into that, yeah. The thing is, bringing all my camping, gear, etc...just can't trust it in a cardboard box. Suppose if I taped it up enough, should be okay.

I took a bike a couple of times on flights,
    the first it was boxed, and I think the fact it was in a box it got smashed around quiet a bit. equally the only protection was a cardboard box.
    the next time i simply bubble wrapped it heavily. with this you could clearly see it was a bike and as well is better protected, and worked out fine. Also cheaper and easier to disposed of packaging when you arrive.