Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garlic

Options
  • 04-01-2012 2:27am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭

I usually check out the Cooking & Recipe section on Boards and I see a lot of complaints there about the garlic in the supermarkets. I popped a few cloves into the ground a couple of months ago and they are looking good so far. Fingers crossed all goes well as it's my first time to grow it. So just wanted to ask do Irish supermarkets ever sell Irish garlic? And if they don't then it's a good idea for someone in the gardening section to go into business to supply it, isn't it?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,729 ✭✭✭redser7

That's globalisation for you :-)
    People don't want to hang big strings of stored garlic in their homes. They just want pick up a bulb every so often as they need it. We can only produce a crop during a relatively short window in Ireland. So if you want fresh garlic all year we have to import.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭Jellybaby1

I can understand that of course. But during the Irish garlic season, is anyone supplying supermarkets here? I was just curious as I've never seen garlic in my local shops which was produced here. Why would they not? Surely the cost of shipping would be a discount at that time?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 48,466 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

the garlic in the supermarkets is generally soft neck garlic, but hard neck garlic is more suited to our climate.