Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sgt Mattie

• 03-01-2012 4:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,990 ✭✭✭

I ended up catching Sgt. Mattie (With Pat Shortt) over Christmas. God he's one lucky man!

Two years ago I watched the pilot for Mattie and thought that they should have left him as a bungling country cop instead of moving him into the city. The series, Mattie, with him as a city cop was about as funny as cancer but, lo and behold, somewhere along the way they had a Star Trek Alternative Universe moment and it turns out he's not actually moved to the city now but is, infact, a bungling country cop. So, is Sgt Mattie a prequel, sequel or a reboot? He's doing damn well to have had RTE pay for a pilot, a series and commission a new series before he finally got the format right.

I said it before that on BBC he'd have gotten a radio slot to iron out these kinks first and we'd probably have gotten the bungling country cop as the eventual TV series. I suppose at least RTE are trying to develop shows and keep with them til they come right, though Sgt Mattie isn't exactly classic stuff by any standards. Fair play to Pat Shortt. He's a cannier fella than I am. i don't know how he's still getting commissions from RTE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

i hate pat short tv shows they are made for all people culchie not us dubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭tommy2bad

ricero wrote: »

Yeah ye people dubs can have Mrs Brown :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

I'm a bit confused about this one myself. Not sure RTE would be familiar with the 'reboot' concept.

The boss in Mattie was always anxious to get rid of him, so maybe he succeeded and got him sent back to the sticks, making it a sequel.

Then again it could just be poor scheduling of the first season on RTEs part. They show episodes out of sync, why not seasons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Technocentral

Brendan Grace's Swiftian, understated humour may be more to your taste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Technocentral

juan.kerr wrote: »
    I'm a bit confused about this one myself. Not sure RTE would be familiar with the 'reboot' concept.

The boss in Mattie was always anxious to get rid of him, so maybe he succeeded and got him sent back to the sticks, making it a sequel.

Then again it could just be poor scheduling of the first season on RTEs part. They show episodes out of sync, why not seasons?

Please don't tempt fate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭yobr

Dreadful crap, I turned off after ten minutes. That added canned laughter is a new low in TV broadcasting here..reminds me of 70's UK sitcom...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭CWone

Mattie and Mrs Brown's Boys are both awful don't know how anyone watches either of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭JohnP199

Oh yes because everyone knows while the culchies stay in watching Mattie the Dubs are all out shooting up heroin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

JohnP199 wrote: »
    Oh yes because everyone knows while the culchies stay in watching Mattie the Dubs are all out shooting up heroin.

I thought we were in watching Fair City?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭sillo

Pat Short actually makes me angry. What an irrepresible producer of the lowest form of worthless trash, bizarre garbage with no merit or redeeming features whatsoever. Culchie or Dub, ye should hang your head if you encourage our national tv network to waste money on that utter tat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Maybe he got promoted to Sergeant through a 'hilarious' sequence of events and transferred to a rural Station?

I'm not going to watch it to find out, brutal programme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭obliviousgrudge

Skid wrote: »

Maybe he got promoted to Sergeant through a 'hilarious' sequence of events and transferred to a rural Station?

I'm not going to watch it to find out, brutal programme.

Didnt the first series end with him being offered a job in the country?

I loved killinaskully but mattie has been terrible from the start. He should just either try something new or go back to killinaskully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭enniscorthy

RTE and shortt saw the success of THE GUARD and stuck their hand up and said YEAH ME TOO