Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another thread about bouncers...

• 28-12-2011 11:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭

Right, Im only 18 so I know i am to expect a tough time off bouncers.
    Well down my local in cork on Saturdays and Sundays they have a bouncer on the doors from about 7ish onwards.

Never took any notice of him until I was at a friends 21st and there I am sitting at the bar, bit langers, and he says to the bar man dont serve him anymore. I thought nothing of it, and enjoyed my night, about an hour later went back up and got a pint and within a min. I had this ogre grabbing me by the collar and telling me to get out.

I cleared off from the place with another mate of mine who'd suffered from the same faith, and we both headed off out to the chipper.

About 2 weeks later, we went out with our local socer team for after match pints and the minute the bouncer signs on, im out the door, no explantion for it, just made leave. Nothing was said to anyone else, underage people were left in the bar. I talked to him outside, trying to apoligise but he was having none of it and told me leave it off for a few months. I went back on nights when he wasnt on all the time, never had hasssle with staff. When I went on Xmas eve with my ol man, he was on the door again. He wouldnt even give me the time of day and told me get lost again.

Can I do anything about this? Out of the whole group of people he lets in, its always me who he says no to. And I honestly didnt do anything to bad IMO, I mean people have been thrown out for throwing a chair at him one day and left back in 2 weeks later.

Any advice? Can I do anything about this? Seems like discrimination at this point? :(

sorry about the fcuk long thread also!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Don;t use the word discrimination if you don't know what it means.

Have you contacted the management of the establishment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭wayfarers

What factors about you would make it 'discrimination'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Hoggy1000

Sorry, Its almost like hes picking on me so at this point.

Theres so many complaints go in about the man that they dont even act on them anymore it seems.

Kinda getting caught up on the word now.

Like i didnt hang around outside the pub and cause any hassle, I left whereas he said i snuck back into the bar. I know, its his word against mine.

I didnt go back when he was there for about 3 months after he asked me to leave the second time hoping he would forget my face and when I did go back it was with my parents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭wayfarers

There are surely more boozers you can go to if this guy is acting like a pr*ck? I would just not spend money in a pub that employed an antagonistic doorman.

I know, its just the only place that lets under 20s in.
    Is kind'a the place to go til your able to get into better places :/

I was just wondering could I do anything to settle it with the pr**k.
    I would'nt mind if he gave me a fcukn reason besides "You were acting the maggot" ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Say it to the barmen when your in there on his night off.
    He does sound like a bit of a tit but to be honest I imagine anytime you see him he can notice you feeling awkward seeing him and maybe gets a kick out of winding you up.

Ask the bar manager to have a word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Beir Bua

Power tripping bouncer, don't debase yourself by giving him a kick in getting to throw you out/refuse you that's probably why he is doing it unless you haven't told us something.

Go somewhere else or contact the management if you are really pushed.

Don't be so condescending.

BB

I would nearly ring management but being realistic, i dont know what good that would do. He'd probably only be more of a d*ckhead towards me.

Okay; You know after a wild night out, you wake up the next morning or you sign into facebook and suddenly you have people telling what you did, or what you said? ... I had friends who were falling over, knocking glasses, breaking stools, ... It was a wild 21st now for a local pub and I had nothing. A few pictures of me out of skull now singing away but no bad stories.

I dont know, the guy is a c*nt and only for the fact that I really want to be inside because I hate to be the guy to ring the lads to say oh lets go across the road I would give a good piece of my mind and ultimatly leading to being 100% worthy of being barred!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Hoggy1000 wrote: »
    s he said i snuck back into the bar. I know, its his word against mine.

:confused::confused:
    I went back on nights when he wasnt on all the time, never had hasssle with staff. When I went on Xmas eve with my ol man, he was on the door again. He wouldnt even give me the time of day and told me get lost again.

You've p!ssed him off by sneaking in on his days off. It's not right but at least you can move on, he hasn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Mate you choose not to listen to him, so why should he listen to you.

He told you not to drink anymore the first night ...you did
    He told you not to come back .... you did
    He told you too leave it for a few months ...your not.

He may be harsh but in all fairness you did give him the bat to beat you with.

Being a doorman is a bit like parenting you have to stick to your punishments.

Dont complain about the other under age because you cant get back in? Just because you have dirtied your bib don't drag them down with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭SpatialPlanning

Zambia wrote: »

Being a doorman is a bit like parenting you have to stick to your punishments.

Dont complain about the other under age because you cant get back in? Just because you have dirtied your bib don't drag them down with you.

Manure. The bouncer (from what we have been told, and like the majority of Bouncers I have encountered) is being a complete power-tripping arse.

Wrong. Read the OP.

Wrong again.

How so? It sounds to me like the man wasn't doing his job. People smashing glasses and stools and a guy who hasn't been causing any real harm to anyone gets turfed out. What does that say to you about how this man does his job?

A bouncer, much like a police officer, should have the common sense to gauge an individual situation and act appropriately. A good doorman definitely should. In this case it is obvious, again - from what we have been told, that the man is incompetent at his job. He is acting in a way that will cause more confrontation.

A bouncer, much like a police officer, should have the common sense to gauge an individual situation and act appropriately.

Having not been in the bar and only having the OP's side you cant gauge that he did not act accordingly. Because in the heal of the hunt.

He got hammered, he did not stop drinking when he knew he should and was barred from a premises. He is now suking cause he cant drink there anymore.

The rest of your post just read as follows
    I hate doormen and will side with anyone however flakey who thinks as I do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Having not been in the bar and only having the OP's side you cant gauge

Surely its the same for yourself.
    Most bouncers are grand. There's always one or two that act the maggot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭SpatialPlanning

Having not been in the bar and only having the OP's side you cant gauge that he did not act accordingly. Because in the heal of the hunt.

Funny that...

Your posts read like;
    I am/was a doorman who has been in this game a long time, sonny. If you don't like that then you're out.

Look at the information that has been provided. Based solely off that can you honestly say that the Doorman did his job as he should have done?

He might not have but like I said in essence a bloke drank to much was warned not to then after drinking more got thrown out and barred. Its pretty much what doormen do.

Plus I agree with you a lot of doormen are idiots I just don't see it here. His main gripe is he is not being let in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭ANSI

MagicSean wrote: »
    how do you know what he knows. Op he is a small town thug as most bouncers are

ANSI wrote: »
    how do you know what he knows. Op he is a small town thug as most bouncers are

If he knew what it meant he wouldn't have used it in this thread which has nothing to do with discrimination.

you do not know what he knows, you just assume

ANSI wrote: »
    you do not know what he knows, you just assume

It's more like a deduction than an assumption.

more a guess

Yeah ok, I know myself I shouldnt have drank anymore the nihgt of the the incident but when you compare what I did to people smashing chairs, etc. I dont see why Im the one being kicked out for a small thing.

And.... I never said to the bouncer about half of the underagers in there; in fairness, half of them are my friends.

My only problem was the bouncer wont just get over it and leave me off for one night when I had been in there plenty when he was on before and never caused hassle!

Yeah ok, I know myself I shouldnt have drank anymore the nihgt of the the incident but when you compare what I did to people smashing chairs, etc. I dont see why Im the one being kicked out for a small thing.

And.... I never said to the bouncer about half of the underagers in there; in fairness, half of them are my friends.

My only problem was the bouncer wont just get over it and leave me off for one night when I had been in there plenty when he was on before and never caused hassle!
    have respect for yourself, let them shove their place, go somewhere else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

I'm barred from the nightclub in town and I thought I was being picked on but I found out a lot if people are barred too. Even a good few women. I was thrown out for taking off my tshirt. Harmless enough I thought but I havent been alowed in since july! Now I dont even bother trying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

I am not sure about your assessment of him being a c*nt, you might just unfortunate enough that he remembers the place getting wrecked, remembers your face from the group and he doesn't want to let you in. Being drunk is no excuse for wrecking a pub either. I am not having a pop by the way.

If he doesn't have an i.d. on display then you can report the pub and either he has to do the course or the pub get qualified doormen.

True he could have let you in with your dad it was a bit harsh but the fact is you are barred. That means the pub has decided not to let you drink there.
    Good man

Yes but you basically have his back up now.

Your goal is to get back in the pub when he is on.

Find out what his goal is and see where the common ground lies.

Your options are
    1) Drink somewhere else
    2) Go over his head and write a decent letter to the pub saying your sorry etc.
    3) Drop by the door early next time he is on, apologize straight up for not listening to him the first night. Then ask him can the two of you start again.
    If he refuses this I would say either there is something your not telling us or he is a straight up d**khead. Then take option 2 or 3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

True he could have let you in with your dad it was a bit harsh but the fact is you are barred. That means the pub has decided not to let you drink there.
    Good man

Yes but you basically have his back up now.

Your goal is to get back in the pub when he is on.

Find out what his goal is and see where the common ground lies.

Your options are
    1) Drink somewhere else
    2) Go over his head and write a decent letter to the pub saying your sorry etc.
    3) Drop by the door early next time he is on, apologize straight up for not listening to him the first night. Then ask him can the two of you start again.
    If he refuses this I would say either there is something your not telling us or he is a straight up d**khead. Then take option 2 or 3

Just on the apologise part, I would suggest apologise and only go in if he suggests it and thank him if he does. If he doesnt, go to another pub that night and head up to this pub in a couple of weeks. He would probably get guff off the owner if he refuses you in January.

For future pubs get some barmen on side, always be friendly and have a laugh and if you get hassle off a doorman mention the barman or have a word to the barman before the doormen start.