Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Runners needed for new running club in Dun Laoghaire area.

• 26-12-2011 8:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8

We need to hear from runners in the south Dublin area, Dun Laoghaire, Deansgrange, Cabinteely area. Runners interested in starting a club in this area please contact Ronionjuncy@hotmail.com. All opinions and levels of ability are welcome.

Cheers
    Andy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭meijin

any more details? training locations, coaching, etc?
    I might be interested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Runjunc wrote: »
    We need to hear from runners in the south Dublin area, Dun Laoghaire, Deansgrange, Cabinteely area. Runners interested in starting a club in this area please contact Ronionjuncy@hotmail.com. All opinions and levels of ability are welcome.

Cheers
    Andy

http://www.cabinteelyac.ie/
    http://www.brayrunners.com/
    http://www.dsdac.com/
    http://www.athleticsrathfarnham.ie/
    http://www.tallaghtac.ie/

are all registered clubs in order of your catchment area. Is there a need for new club in DL, and what would you offer that these guys don't. You don't spell out what expertise you bring? No offense, but if there's going to be an overlap of resources then its better to direct towards one of these clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 MacAttackJ

http://www.cabinteelyac.ie/
    http://www.brayrunners.com/
    http://www.dsdac.com/
    http://www.athleticsrathfarnham.ie/
    http://www.tallaghtac.ie/

From a geography point of view, a club based around Dun L makes sense. Of the clubs listed above, the latter three are all southside but too far West to suit a lot of people living on the coast. Bray could be too far South and Cabo is primarily geared towards juveniles. Live in Monkstown myself and am in Crusaders AC as its the handiest for me esp with commute home from work but had there been an established club in Dun L when I was looking for a club to join I might well have gone for it. Of course the handiest track for any new Dun L club would have been UCD. There is the Cinder track in Kilbogget Pk though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 merble

I think a club is the area is a a great idea. I live in DL and as a very casual runner (10k in 55mins) a local club would be of great use to keep me motivated and off the couch. While there are other clubs in the 'general' area they would be a bit of a challenge to get to mid week for me and i'm not that committed. Andy, Im interested so let me know if you get some momentum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭meathcountysec

Cheers
    Andy

Contact your local friendly RDO (Regional Development Officer), they will be able to give you plenty of advice as to what you need to do in order to be set up properly under the AAI banner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭DogSlySmile

Cheers
    Andy

Id be up for this. Rather than setting up a new club maybe it would be easier to get cabinteely AC to accept adult runners?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Runjunc

Thanks for all the feedback and interest from everyone.

When it comes to other clubs in the south they arent that practical for me personally living in Dun Laoghaire, working till 5 and trying to reach any of these clubs before 6 or 6.30 in traffic on a weekday isn't that convenient.

I'm not trying to take away members from other clubs or replace existing clubs.

My personal expertise is just running, marathon pb 3.46 so I'm a farley casual runner.
    The idea of this club is primarily to bring runners in the area together. More casual to begin with and see what happens I suppose.
    Everyone interested can email me at ronionjuncy@hotmail.com.

Cheers
    Andy

And for those who have already emailed I will reply ASAP.

Cheers,
    Andy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Arthurdaly

Sounds like a good idea, I'm from the same area and about the same level as yourself and would be interested.

Receiving plenty of interest. Organising a time a date after the new year for people to meet. Email ronionjuncy@hotmail.com for more info.

Cheers,
    Andy

Wednesday 11th January at 7.30pm in Marine Parade car park Dun Laoghaire (where Teddy's Ice cream is). All interested in meeting can either contact ronionjuncy@hotmail.com or turn up at the time above. Having received sufficient numbers this date has been set for all interested to meet. Everyone who has contacted me already has received this notification by email. Any other queries you can contact me by email.

Cheers

Andy

Wednesday 11th January in Marine Parade car park Dun Laoghaire (where Teddy's Ice cream is). All interested in meeting can either contact ronionjuncy@hotmail.com or turn up at the time above

What time?

7.30pm, now edited into original post.

Cheers,
    Andy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Worried101

Sounds like a good workout if i can fit it into my hectic sceudule!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 ThePeter

Will it be always on the same time on Wednesdays or just this time?

If all goes well it will be on Mondays and Wednesdays at 7.30.

Cheers,

Andy

Ah damn it. These are exactly the times my boxing training is on.. Any chance for making it Tuesday, Thursday or Friday? Or even the weekend? or 8:30?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 dazman2251

Great idea to have a club in the area, I live along the coast also and find that Bray and Crusaders are too far away and DSD is largely inaccessible for me. Will be attending on Wednesday :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭ofthelord

Hope to make it for this tomorrow

unfortunately I will not be able to make it there because of my boxing training. I hope to make it the next time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 loly

Good run this evening. It is brilliant to have a group/club in Dun Laoghaire forming. I have created a facebook page for the club, not great at the minute but will jazz it up more over time. If interested, friend the page & updates can be posted/queries answered. The page can act as a method of communication for the club and a point where newbies can find out more info.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dun-Laoghaire-Runners/356831771009198

Enjoyed the first training session, good turnout too! Hopefully anyone who couldn't make it yesterday will be able to attend next Monday or Wednesday at 7:30pm.

dazman2251 wrote: »
    Enjoyed the first training session, good turnout too! Hopefully anyone who couldn't make it yesterday will be able to attend next Monday or Wednesday at 7:30pm.

What did yous do? Was it a meet and run type thing or was it more structured?

The chap who started this thread had planned out a 6km run around dalkey/glenageary/dun laoghaire, with a 4km run within that for those who didn't want to go the full distance. It finished up at the same place we started outside teddys ice cream shop.

Given that the group is only in its infancy I would imagine the first few training sessions are probably going to be meet and train just so people can get to know one another, but the organiser made it clear that he was happy enough to take suggestions on whatever people wanted to do, be it specific training, shorter or longer distances, etc. There was a good mix of abilities in attendance also.

Ye its nice that there is something like that going on and all..people can get to know other people and do something together.. but any sports activities in Ireland are either on Mondays or Wednesdays at about 7pm..and that's just sad because it means you have to choose something over something else. What time did you finish the run at ? I'm going to mail the chap that organizes this and ask him to try having another session on either Tuesday , Thursday , Friday or weekends.. any time after 4pm..Would anybody be interested ? Cheers

Thanks to everyone who came down last night. It was a good turnout for the first night. Also thanks to Lauren for the FB page which make us look professional.

In regards to the club itself I would like to answer questions I have been receiving by email over the last few days. The club is a casual running club going under the name Dun Laoghaire Runners. I emphasize the word causal to clear up any misconceptions that this may be a race team, athletics club, private company or a charity, it is none of these. It is more of a casual social running club, this may not suit everyone but its important to make it clear what the club offers.
    There will be no fees, no t-shirts and no commitments.

The club gives the opportunity for like minded runners to meet up and run together, whether you are a 3k runner, 3 hour runner or training for a particular event I’m sure you will meet people in the same boats. All abilities are welcome from beginners to serial marathoners. And as already stated there are no commitments, you are not obligated to stay or even show up every night, if you can only make it once a week or once a month then you are welcome.

The structure is basic at the moment and consists of a choice of two runs a night, both varied distances for the varying running abilities of the group. Route suggestions are also very welcome. Basically the idea is to give runners in the area the opportunity to meet, run, motivate each other, form friendships or running buddies etc.

The back bone of the club is running and that’s essentially all we do. We meet every Monday and Wednesday at 7.30 in the Marine Parade car park (across the road from Teddy’s ice cream). If you are interested you can turn up, email me or visit the FB page.

Hopefully that covered any questions I’ve been asked and makes it clear what the club has to offer.

If there are any further queries you can email ronionjuncy@hotmail.com or visit the FB page.

Cheers,

Andy

Hi Andy,

I have updated the info section of the fb page with some of the detail below. I have also created a website which links back to the fb page
    http://www.wix.com/dlrunners/dun-laoghaire-runners-club
    Best I could do so far with my limited IT knowledge. If anyone is interested in coming along to the club and willing to give of their time to improve what I have put together, please do so!

Lauren

Wow fair play with the website! I also have a race calendar for the year that I use for my own reference, but I'll send it to you also to post on the site if you like.

dazman2251 wrote: »
    Wow fair play with the website! I also have a race calendar for the year that I use for my own reference, but I'll send it to you also to post on the site if you like.

Thanks! If you're coming to running tomorrow, bring it along and I'll upload some details of races over the next few days.
    Anyone else have any ideas for the facebook page and/or website???

Hi All,

We are changing the times of the runs from next Monday....we'll even run on the bank holiday. The runs will start as usual from the carpark by Teddy's ice-cream but we will now be meeting from 7pm.

Our facebook page as before is https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dun-Laoghaire-Runners/356831771009198 and our website is http://www.wix.com/dlrunners/dun-laoghaire-runners-club

Does anyone have any ideas on how we could advertise the club more, build up a larger base?

Any ideas to develop the group?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,433 ✭✭✭sideswipe

Ye seem to be doing pretty well, often pass by and saw ye have your own gym now-

gym_1005087t.jpg

Best of luck, would join ye only my opportunities to run seem to change more than the weather:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭tricky99

Im looking to get fit for the season and would love details on this club. I am hoping it was set up and has space for beginners .. those very unfit. anyone got any details or this club or any other in the area?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

No disrespect to the guys above, but they aren't a registered running club. There are plenty of actual clubs in the area
    https://maps.google.com/maps/ms?msa=0&msid=205620908268125605412.000465f60f85e3c87fd25&ie=UTF8&t=m&ll=53.258641,-7.069702&spn=0.985819,3.290405&z=8&source=embed&dg=feature

Blackrock AC and Bray Runners may be the nearest
    Blackrock have a Fit4Life section
    http://www.blackrockac.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=215&Itemid=46
    Bray Runners say they cater for all standards
    http://brayrunners.com/www/index.php/about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭emerald007

RayCun wrote: »
    Blackrock AC and Bray Runners may be the nearest
    Blackrock have a Fit4Life section
    http://www.blackrockac.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=215&Itemid=46
    Bray Runners say they cater for all standards
    http://brayrunners.com/www/index.php/about

Backrock AC, Co Dublin's website is

http://blackrockathleticclub.com/

Unless the OP wants to travel to Co Louth to run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

shouldn't be allowed have two clubs with the same name :o

the Blackrock AC closer to the OP also have a Fit4Life section
    http://blackrockac.ie/2013/06/fit4life-comes-to-blackrock-athletic-club/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭tricky99

just cant believe there is not an established club in Dun Laoghaire or closer by. I wouldnt be motivated enough to go further. maybe there are some other clubs rather than running clubs that would be close ie something else around fitness.