Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shooting on Christmas day?

• 24-12-2011 7:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭

Do people shoot on xmas day, I always do but it's not going down well here with the local lads. What do yee think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

kermitpwee wrote: »
    Do people shoot on xmas day, I always do but it's not going down well here with the local lads. What do yee think?

While waiting for the dinner I often go out for another bird ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

dont do it myself but see nothing wrong with it
    to make it worse those lads that dont like it are probably shooting 7 days a week while on the rock an role or something
    while your working lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭beretta686s

stephens day always its a tradation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Go for a woodcock in the morning to shake off Xmas eve beer & work up an appetite for the dinner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

dont go myself but dont see why anyone would have a prob with it can some one explain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭Gonzor

Dont do it myself. But thats only because of family issues. Just wouldnt be worth the headaches from listening to lectures about how animals deserve to be safe on xmas day... :rolleyes: But soon as I get out of here things will be changing big style :D :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭blackstairsboy

I don't shoot Christmas Day just like to take the dogs out for a spin in the morning. St Stephen's day is a different story though that's one of the highlights of the season for me.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

if you want to shoot christmas day then go right ahead and do it.,

there is nothing wrong with it, if i think i can get out for a shot my self i will but i have a lot to do tomorrow.

feck the begrudger's is what i say ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

What's the differance with Christmas Day or any other Weekend day as in our Club we only shoot Weekends and Holy days go out in the morning shoot and do the Family business after if that is ok with your Family it's just another weekend date sure I hope you will be back for Family time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

I and others shoot if you want to if you Family are ok with it do it in the morning and after that it's Family time,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭steyrman2

Its the one day of the year i dont shoot but thats my choice but i will give the dogs a run early

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭patdahat

used always go before the dinner but not anymore, that;s just to avoid headache's, love driving thoses moaner's mad tell them you shot 5/6 birds then went home for the dinner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

there are two days of the year i wouldn't raise a gun, good friday and christmas day, there are plenty of other days to go shooting but that's just the way i was reared

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

I used to before we had our little bundles of insanity but the last few christmas mornings have consisted of a colossal lego building session(which I LOVE, believe it or not) but if you are going out I wish you the best of luck and safe shooting;) I'll go out on Stephen's morning for a few hours with the new rifle(thanks hun) and then maybe have little drinky to lubricate the leg muscles for the 27th. That's when me and the boys have our favourite woodcock shoot of the season:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭palo

I don't shoot on Christmas Day myself. When I was a kid my father used to take the single Barrel away from us so that we would not shoot on Christmas Day. So as the years rool on I have never shot on Christmas Day and don't intend to. There are plent of other day's to shoot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭ace86

I never have and never will shoot on xmas day i believe its a family day and with the birth of jesus i believe that nothing should be shot on this day, its just my opinon and belief,there are plenty of days through the year for shooting.

I worked 3 Christmas days out of the last 6. In the field, that is my Church, there is where I am happy.

I'll go out in the morning, probably with the shotty for a phezzie or Mallard.

I'll leave Deer until the 26th

Before this turns into a ten page debate, I just want to say everyone to their own, do what makes you feel good and as long as it doesn't p1ss your folks off, enjoy it! Happy holidays and safe shooting to all.
    LR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭ormondprop

Myself and my father and a few of his friends always go for an hour ir two before dinner, christmas wouldn't feel right if we didn't, go for either foxes or woodcock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Straffan1979

I think you're looking for general approval and you won't get it-If they stopped two world wars on Christmas day you can leave down your gun for one day a year- you don't shoot on Christmas day - end of story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Hoping to get out later for a couple of Snipe for brekie in the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭declan1980

I'd love to be able to go for a shot today, but im working until dinner time, and if I said I was going for a shot after dinner I'd surely be getting the evil eye off the folks.
    I'll be goin tomorrow alright though. I'll start work early and try to be finished for 11, then I'll go off after foxes for the rest of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

So the main point is shoot away but it's the miss u have to deal with afterwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭foxer3640

I wouldnt shoot a bird or animal on christmas day. It just wouldnt feel right. Might set up a few targets for the .22 later if the mood takes me. Happy xmas to all :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭Shoot2kill

I just brought the dogs for a good long walk after the fry up!

And I wait anxiously for tomorrow morning!

Have a good one lads..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

NEVER!!!I actually thought it was illegal under law to hunt Xmas day in the entire UK isles.:confused:Certainly is on the Continent,not by law but by traditional hunting law.
    Will be out tomrrow methinks for both bird and beast.:)

Happy Xmas season to you all.[Grizz with a mega sore head from the night before]

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭ormondprop

Just home now with an appetite worked up, four men, four shotguns, four dogs and not 1 cartridge used but we all came home happy and looking forward to the dinner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

it's illegal in the uk to shoot GAME on christmas day is all

Brought out the shotty for a walk around home. Saw a herd of 8 Deer, Only for the fact that I am having Dinner elsewhere I would have brought the rifle.

Hopefully they will be there tomorrow ;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

I think you're looking for general approval and you won't get it-If they stopped two world wars on Christmas day you can leave down your gun for one day a year- you don't shoot on Christmas day - end of story

I am not looking for any approval, i just wanted to hear what other people thought as I don't see any wrong in going out on the 25th and was surprised at the local lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Maybe you don't but that does not mean everyone is the same. The wars were stopped for the men's sake not any animals so to me that reasoning has no place in this debate. Would get out if I could but 2 young kids at home so couldn't be bothered as iv enough to be doing today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Straffan1979

Thats not the point i'm making-Traditionally nobody shoots today- if you want to off you go but you'll be in the minority, it seems a strange coincidence that some of the people advocating shooting today have also posted here in support of firing into a flock of Golden Plover-who's numbers are on the floor-quite recently . Neither are sporting in my opinion and some people are moving outside of the unwritten rules of what was always deemed as sporting- but as I said you'll be in the minority on both fronts- Happy and safe shooting for 2012

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭daniels.ducks

I can't get over the fact that some people are so against the idea. Before I was born my father and his friends used to meet up early every Christmas morning and go hunting foxes. But this stopped when he started having a family.
    This Christmas we said we would go for an hour or two since the last of my siblings are finished with Santy. Did't get time to go out nut I would have no problem with it. Nor did I hear of any of the other lads in the club having problems with it.
    In my opinion OP if you want to shoot Christmas day, shoot. If you find it uncomfortable to shoot then don't.
    IMO the the lads in your area just can't get out due to family reasons or whatever and are so to say jealous. If that is how you would put it.
    Anyway that's my piece. Happy peaceful Christmas to you all! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

i couldnt go today or else i woould be single when i got home!! but ill be heading out tommorrow and cant wait !

Thats not the point i'm making-Traditionally nobody shoots today- if you want to off you go but you'll be in the minority, it seems a strange coincidence that some of the people advocating shooting today have also posted here in support of firing into a flock of Golden Plover-who's numbers are on the floor-quite recently . Neither are sporting in my opinion and some people are moving outside of the unwritten rules of what was always deemed as sporting- but as I said you'll be in the minority on both fronts- Happy and safe shooting for 2012

Christmas day was a family day to go shooting where I am from, relatives home from abroad, walking up a hunger.

Don't know who goes out after plover?
    I might be in a minority as I am non religious......

Christmas day was a family day to go shooting where I am from, relatives home from abroad, walking up a hunger.

Don't know who goes out after plover?
    I might be in a minority as I am non religious......
    To me its not a religous thing, its a respect thing. I always thought there was an unwritten code in hunting.... no shooting christmas day, no shooting low birds etc... Maybe im just being old fashioned. To each their own.... :)

foxer3640 wrote: »
    To me its not a religous thing, its a respect thing. :)

That is not making sense tbh, if its not a religious thing then the 25th can be seen as any other day in the year so you must view it as a religious issue. I have respect for my quarry everyday of the year not just the 25th.
    I am not having a swipe at you, if it is a religious thing then thats fine, most modern law and ethics is based on the teachings of the bible anyway.

As it happened I didn't get a chance to go shooting today but I will be out with all those other headers tomorrow who had too much respect to go out today!!

That is not making sense tbh, if its not a religious thing then the 25th can be seen as any other day in the year so you must view it as a religious issue. I have respect for my quarry everyday of the year not just the 25th.
    I am not having a swipe at you, if it is a religious thing then thats fine, most modern law and ethics is based on the teachings of the bible anyway.

As it happened I didn't get a chance to go shooting today but I will be out with all those other headers tomorrow who had too much respect to go out today!!
    I get what your saying but to me it wouldnt feel right to shoot a living creature on christmas day.... maybe im more religous than i thought :)

I'm not a religious person at all, so I'm not bothered about people shooting today. As I said earlier, I'd be out myself but now that I'm a family man it's not an option. But it just doesn't make sense to me to say it's wrong to shoot a bird today when we're all happy to eat a famous gamebird that has spent the last couple of months locked in a shed,never even to fly, only to end up in our ovens this morning...

Longranger wrote: »
    I'm not a religious person at all, so I'm not bothered about people shooting today. As I said earlier, I'd be out myself but now that I'm a family man it's not an option. But it just doesn't make sense to me to say it's wrong to shoot a bird today when we're all happy to eat a famous gamebird that has spent the last couple of months locked in a shed,never even to fly, only to end up in our ovens this morning...

I had Steak, I don't like Turkey :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

Guys I think its what ever tradition you picked up from the people who introduced you to the sport. I have no problem with anyone shooting Christmas day, but dont do it myself as it was always seen as a day off for animals by my dad and uncles when I was learning my trade as a young hunter. They got that from my grandad etc, etc. We actually used to meet up each Christmas morning and fire off a few clays from a trap we had. Funny enough that was the only day of the year we ever done clays. So to this day I head out for a walk with the dogs but dont bring a gun, just my tradition.
    Was nice this year as my 2 kids came along for the walk, 4 and 6 yrs old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

I think christmas day is a day for family so i wouldnt do it and my Father never did it. Funny thing is I know a man with a house full of kids that goes off every Christmas day with his friend for a shot and most of us agree he is a selfish bastard. I suppose it depends on your circumstances doesnt it?

You shouldn't be so quick to label people because they do something you don't. Now, I don't know the persons family situation,and I don't know if you do either, but if this is a family tradition and doesn't upset his wife and kids, then who the hell are you to judge him??? Just cos you disapprove it doesn't mean the guy is a selfish b#*%&rd! People do different things and sometimes they aren't popular for all, but it doesn't mean they are worse people than you. It's like asking people of they drink on good friday...say what you like, it's the same argument......

For all those worried about my family status, I am single so my wife and kids wont be on Jeremy Kyle saying that I shoot on xmas day

Me either, I still attended 3 family dinners, emptied didhwashers, cleaned up while the women put their feet up.

And made the day for another by giving them a Sika Stag for their Christmas prezzie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

Me either, I still attended 3 family dinners, emptied didhwashers, cleaned up while the women put their feet up.

And made the day for another by giving them a Sika Stag for their Christmas prezzie.
    Surprised you could walk after the 3 dinners, never mind help out.:D:D
    Glad to hear the sika mount went down well, fair play spending the money and the effort with your first sika. It will be a great feeling everytime you visit and see it, also a great talking point. Dont forget to mention that Paulo helped with the drag:D

Mauser 308 wrote: »
    Surprised you could walk after the 3 dinners, never mind help out.:D:D
    Glad to hear the sika mount went down well, fair play spending the money and the effort with your first sika. It will be a great feeling everytime you visit and see it, also a great talking point. Dont forget to mention that Paulo helped with the drag:D

I did, only today we talked about it. Putting it on the wall tomorrow for her.

My family know I work every odd christmas, so they respect my wishes on christmas.

Only when one has worked several Christmas day's does one truely appreciate them off, I'm working all day Sat & Sun, there supposed to be family days too.

I'll spend them working or D'Man. Missing out on my last chance to get a big Red.