Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Home Alone 2

• 24-12-2011 3:05pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭

So I'm watching Home Alone 2 on RTÉ1 at the minute and I havn't seen it in a few years. Anyway the scene goes like this; The two idiot robbers are opening a door, right behind the door a set of stairs and the doorknob from the door is tied to a huge toolchest at the top of the stairs. My issue isn't with the physics of the whole thing rather am I imagining things here or are RTÉ cutting the movie? I distinctively remember the two lads getting squashed against the wall and one of them saying to the other "that was the sound of a toolchest falling down stairs" they both have flattened noses from being squashed and they straighten them out and they crack.

In the Home Alone 2 I'm watching on RTÉ that doesn't happen! ...no nose straightening, no crack...just a terrible cut to the next scene...

Why?

Edit: I found the YT clip. They defiantly straighten their noses.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,531 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Yea i noticed that too! I think its normal for channels to edit movies for tv though, although that was pretty shoddy.

Feckin hell, did you see how they just ended it??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Yea i noticed that too! I think its normal for channels to edit movies for tv though, although that was pretty shoddy.

Feckin hell, did you see how they just ended it??

Boom! END! Wow...Fair enough cutting the credits, I'm ok with that. But cutting out a second here and a few seconds there...Really really annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

It's RTÉ ffs, what do yous expect?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

You can't be sure of anything you watch pre-watershed being uncut. I'm guessing you're a fan of Home Alone 1/2 and that is why you noticed that tiny omission but there's probably stuff like this going on in most movies for tv. The one I remember the best is in Ghostbusters Ray is getting a blow-job off a ghost. Sounds like a fair enough cut right? But the point is you don't see anything (not even the act from a tame angle or a back of a head shot etc), it's all implied but the mere implication is even removed from daytime tv versions.

Even innocent enough shows like Star Trek TNG and The Simpsons have stuff cut out of them that you would never notice unless you watched the DVD's at a later point.

Basically terrestrial tv sucks. Just get the DVD/BD instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

RTE - If something can be done wrong, your guaranteed they'll be the ones to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

UTV/ITV are worse for it.

"Yippee ky aye...." *Plane explodes*

Well done UTV...motherf*cker cannot be uttered but blowing up a plane is cool.

*obviously that scene wasn't in Home Alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

Turtyturd wrote: »
    UTV/ITV are worse for it.

"Yippee ky aye...." *Plane explodes*

Die Hard version on ITV was "Yippee-ki-yay, Kemo Sabe"

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,531 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Dotrel wrote: »
    You can't be sure of anything you watch pre-watershed being uncut. I'm guessing you're a fan of Home Alone 1/2 and that is why you noticed that tiny omission but there's probably stuff like this going on in most movies for tv.

Nah, I hadn't seen home alone 2 since I was a kid and in this case I had only flicked over for a second, it was very obvious they had cut something even though I couldn't remember what until I saw the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭brian_t

Turtyturd wrote: »

To be honest I can understand that cut.
    You could have a big debate about the amount of violence in a Tom and Jerry cartoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,070 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Did they show Marv getting shot by the nail gun in the face?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Did they show Marv getting shot by the nail gun in the face?

I can't remember that particular bit to be honest, I missed a bit of it with popping in and out to the kitchen. The reason I brought it up in the first place is because I can understand why RTE would omit certain "violence" and cursing/dirty bits pre watershed. It's understandable. My point is that they cut a bit that totally didn't need to be cut. Its a two second clip of the lads straightening their noses, it doesn't offend anyone! Just why would they do that??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭jim-jam

I noticed the same with Transformers 2 earlier on. Cutting scenes left right and centre towards the end. Seemed more erratic than I remember it being.

That or I must've kept falling asleep as it's so bad!

Balls! They cut the peter gabriel song and the little animation on the end credits of Wall-E today :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

jim-jam wrote: »
    I noticed the same with Transformers 2 earlier on. Cutting scenes left right and centre towards the end. Seemed more erratic than I remember it being.

That or I must've kept falling asleep as it's so bad!

Wow, they made transformers 2 MORE erratic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

RTE used to have a policy of never cutting films themselves but they would show 'airplane' versions of films during the day (language/violence/swearing cut out). These cut down versions would be done by the studios though and supplied to stations.

It'd be interesting if RTE actually were cutting things out themselves these days. Honestly I think the daytime TV versions are just shipped out to them sometimes and they whack them on. I couldn't imagine they'd be too arsed cutting out that bit from Home Alone 2 themselves.

Stations in the states show cut down and edited versions all the time. The omissions are nearly always very very obvious.

But the cutting straight to 'THE END' and not showing credits is definitely RTE's doing and is really annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

I remember utv used to be fiends for doing it themselves, and I taped aliens, I'll never forget

Ripley: I say we take off and nuke the site from orbit, its the only way yo be sure
    Hudson (in a think Belfast accent): Friggin' A!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Yep UTV used to be terrible for it, and it wasnt even a case of being before the watershed classics showing after the watershed like Die Hard being butchered by some gob****es at UTV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Watched this on E4 last night.

Forgotten how violent it was. Some of the violence was borderline cartoonish but I found it uncomfortable to watch if I'm honest.

Brenda Fricker's character is just as ridiculous as I remember. She walks around with pigeon sh1t and actual pigeons on her head and she complains that people "walk right past and don't say hello to her"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

Forgotten how violent it was. Some of the violence was borderline cartoonish but I found it uncomfortable to watch if I'm honest.

Please tell me you're joking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

You pay about 30 odd quid for sky movies and they do the same, one day they will have the whole movie the next night its on you'll realise i watched this the other day and now there are bits missing all through the movie.

Cheeky Whores

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

maximoose wrote: »
    Please tell me you're joking.

No joke,

Thought the brick throwing from the top of the uncles house that kept hitting Marv was too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

No joke,

Thought the brick throwing from the top of the uncles house that kept hitting Marv was too much.

It fantastically over the top funny. You just don't get stuff like that anymore. TV is all cotton wooled since the mid '90s. I grew up with all that and I miss it, even video games are less violent and graphic, very rare to see bullet holes in bodies and bits of bone and skulls any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

No joke,

Ha, that is a bit much alright,whatever about slipping on toy cars and getting twatted with empty paint cans, if that was any way realistic Marv would be dead after getting a brick in the face from several storeys up :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭Bacchus

It fantastically over the top funny. You just don't get stuff like that anymore. TV is all cotton wooled since the mid '90s. I grew up with all that and I miss it, even video games are less violent and graphic, very rare to see bullet holes in bodies and bits of bone and skulls any more.

I take it you've not heard of GTA V so :P

On the topic, I don't get the cutting thing. If a movie is 15's, it's 15's, don't water it down, just show it before 9pm (or whatever the watershed is). I don't get why it's not just that simple. I guess there should be some wiggle room with older movies that were suitable for young audiences but now, with hindsight or changes in society, are not. Home Alone is not one of those movies though. It's a silly kids movie where the kid turns the table on the bad guys and hits them repeatedly in the head and groin.

The blame lies with the PC brigade and (with modern releases) the film studios. The PC brigade will give out to RTE if their little child is exposed to anything remotely offensive so RTE have to protect themselves. Similarly, the film studios want to avoid costly 15/18's age ratings so they water down new releases of franchised movies that were traditionally 18's (e.g. Alien, Die Hard, Terminator, Total Recall reboot etc.).

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

The violence isn’t borderline cartoonish, it is cartoonish. This was thought mostly harmless at the time, but these days is probably considered more harmful than so-called realistic violence. I’m not so sure. The problem with realistic violence is that it isn’t realistic at all but people think it is. This, I think, has a far greater desensitising effect than watching Marv get hit with a brick over and over again, which even a child knows isn’t anything like real violence. Where as many teenagers and even adults will watch Scarface and think the violence is realistic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

If this was cut down by RTE, I'd imagine it was to shave a few minutes off to fit the schedule rather than avoid showing Marv crack his nose after having just shown him ram a nail through his bare foot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Patty O Furniture

What are Ch4 like as Scrooged was on last Sun at 4.30pm, as it was on RTE The night before IIRC as its usually a late nite film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I very much love the scene where Marve gets electrocuted and is briefly skeletonised (no, that isn't a word)