Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Winter Vomiting bug

• 24-12-2011 11:21AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭

My sister caught it from someone in work and was sick all Wednesday. I was totally paranoid and was washing my hands after touching everything in the house and making sure not to go near my mouth or eyes with my fingers. Didn't work :(

I had just got into the pub on Thursday night with all my friends when next thing I started getting these mad stomach cramps. I tried to ignore it but after only half a pint I knew the game was up. Got a cab home and waited for the fireworks to begin. Sure enough a spectacular night of emissions followed (from both ends). Got some fevery sleep and woke up yesterday for another round of it. Spent all day then panned out feeling sorry for myself. Haven't felt so weak or helpless in a long while.

However this morning I woke up and it was totally gone. Now I feel amazing and most importantly IMMUNE!

Anyone else get it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

My sister caught it from someone in work and was sick all Wednesday. I was totally paranoid and was washing my hands after touching everything in the house and making sure not to go near my mouth or eyes with my fingers. Didn't work :(

I had just got into the pub on Thursday night with all my friends when next thing I started getting these mad stomach cramps. I tried to ignore it but after only half a pint I knew the game was up. Got a cab home and waited for the fireworks to begin. Sure enough a spectacular night of emissions followed (from both ends). Got some fevery sleep and woke up yesterday for another round of it. Spent all day then panned out feeling sorry for myself. Haven't felt so weak or helpless in a long while.

However this morning I woke up and it was totally gone. Now I feel amazing and most importantly IMMUNE!

Anyone else get it?
    That"ll learn ya to be interfering with family members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,778 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Anyone else get it?

Proves the point: the more you worry about something and the moe you do to avoid it, the more likley you are to get it.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 901 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover_53

I got it too, after having 16 pints and an Abrakebebra Chicken Baguette with Taco Fries,
    I was grand the next morning though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

hmmm, I was in a Chinese restaurant last Sunday and both my brother and I got food positing. Didn't hit me till Monday, but was puking my ring up. Still feel like crap. Do you think it could be this bug?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭sgb

Had it a few years ago, will never forget projectile vomiting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Hairycopper

I get it nearly every year, its the projectile vomiting that's the worse. Out the nose and everything! Think of that while tucking into your turkey tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

i did happen to get it this year(first time) and i got it from work. luckily it was just vomiting for me but i did feel very weak and spent the majority of the day in bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Proves the point: the more you worry about something and the moe you do to avoid it, the more likley you are to get it.

So you're saying the best way to avoid std's is actually to not wear a condom?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,739 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Had it a couple of years ago. Awful stuff; couldn't sleep for the puking. Luckily my toilet is right next to the sink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

kylith wrote: »
    Had it a couple of years ago. Awful stuff; couldn't sleep for the puking. Luckily my toilet is right next to the sink.

Handy having a toilet in the kitchen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

Yeah-right,,, winter vomiting bug, more Christmas drank to much bug.

mattjack wrote: »

Ever try lugging one of those things up a flight of stairs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,739 ✭✭✭✭kylith

mattjack wrote: »

Well it's not like I was going to be left off my sandwich making duties just because I was I'll, was I?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

There was a sample done on Oysters in the UK. Over 75% of them contained the bug. Don't eat raw Oysters I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

I avoided it so far anyway, my Dad had it about 2 weeks ago but everyone else in the house was grand.

Have the immune system of a dog so tend not to get things, been well over a year since I've even had a cold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Johnny Foreigner

mackg wrote: »
    So you're saying the best way to avoid std's is actually to not wear a condom?

Or you could avoid sleeping with Africans.

Yeah I heard they invade your dreams through voodoo rituals and then they give you the aids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

I get it nearly every year
    Er its not airborne as far as I know. You should probably look into that.

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    Er its not airborne as far as I know. You should probably look into that.

Yeah you're right, its not actually in the air unless you're literally within the vicinity of someone blowing chunks at which point "particulates" become air born.

People usually get it from contamination via the hands and food.

That's it really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Owen wrote: »
    There was a sample done on Oysters in the UK. Over 75% of them contained the bug. Don't eat raw Oysters I guess.

They are only nice raw. Oysters Rockefeller - yuk!!!

Are you really sure about your statistic now - 75% of Oysters in the UK contained the winter vomiting bug? That seems a bit unlikely TBH. How did they catch it, for a start?

They are only nice raw. Oysters Rockefeller - yuk!!!

Are you really sure about your statistic now - 75% of Oysters in the UK contained the winter vomiting bug? That seems a bit unlikely TBH. How did they catch it, for a start?

Its most likely that the oysters contained a marine neuotoxin (DA), from algal blooms, that gave similar characteristics to the bug. Happens a lot with shellfish.

Here I am on my Christmas holidays, still being a feckin nerd.

/'hurl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Its most likely that the oysters contained a marine neuotoxin (DA), from algal blooms, that gave similar characteristics to the bug. Happens a lot with shellfish.

/'hurl

Pfffft.............. the oysters got it off humans with the bug.Everybody knows that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

/'hurl

That's impressive nerdiness TBH.

I would have been happier though if you could have told me the oysters were shivering and puking all over the gaff :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

*BBBBBBBBBBBBBBllllllllllllllllluuuuuuuuuuuughhhhhhhhhhh*

sorry I accidentally :o

"Hey whats this thread all about, ewww someone puked and shít in here. My stomach doesn't exactly feel too good, I gue-"

*BWEUUUUUUUUUUUUGH.... OH, OH GOD.... UEUGGGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHH*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,116 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Owen wrote: »
    I was going to mention the oysters too - avoid. Personally, I won't eat oysters during any month that starts with a capital letter.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

i think i have it:o

its either that or e coli

this morning i was sh!ttin my brains out, still went into town thought the worst was finished but i started to get aches and pains all over:o and dizzy headed nearly passed out walking home, got home and straight to the loo:( haven't vomited yet though