Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do Gardai do on Xmas Day

• 24-12-2011 2:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭

Just wondered this... It must be just so boring obviously there has to be 2 or 3 in every station just in case.. but with all...!! most:rolleyes: pubs closed and nothing happening.. do they just have there own little party in the ststion or what??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

The same thing they do every day...........try to take over the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

One day of the year they bring in their own lunch, seeing as McDonalds is closed.

Same as any other day but with more biscuits and tins of celebrations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭7Sins

they play twister

• Closed Accounts Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Rolli

My bro is working tomorrow. <snip> Garda station, he'll be busy :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

they touch each other willies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

Surely Xmas day would still be a quite busy day for them?
    There is plenty of drinking done on Xmas day but just in people's homes rather than in the pub, would guess lots of domestic disturbances etc. with lots of people spending time with family they wouldn't otherwise. I'd assume there would also be a lot of drink driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭.E_C_K_S.

Probably very quite day and then at night things get out of control.Shut up OP everyone else is trying to enjoy christmas but you!

Play soggy biscuits.

Surely Xmas day would still be a quite busy day for them?
    There is plenty of drinking done on Xmas day but just in people's homes rather than in the pub, would guess lots of domestic disturbances etc. with lots of people spending time with family they wouldn't otherwise. I'd assume there would also be a lot of drink driving.

I can remember talking to my brother last year the day after Christmas. He was telling me a guy bet the crap out of 2 kids and wife because he had no vodka or something like it...Absolutely shocking..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Rolli wrote: »
    I can remember talking to my brother last year the day after Christmas. He was telling me a guy bet the crap out of 2 kids and wife because he had no vodka or something like it...Absolutely shocking..

That's sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭GalwayKiefer

They probably tip around the station until lunchtime when all the domestic violence calls start pouring in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭TomBeckett

Larianne wrote: »
    One day of the year they bring in their own lunch, seeing as McDonalds is closed.

Ha Ha :D f**k it would be ****e dough an the way things are gone over there now they prob dont even get paid like they ust to... think no matter what i worked at i would hate to work xmas day...

GalKiefer wrote: »
    They probably tip around the station until lunchtime when all the domestic violence calls start pouring in.

I see what you did there. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

TomBeckett wrote: »
    Ha Ha :D f**k it would be ****e dough an the way things are gone over there now they prob dont even get paid like they ust to... think no matter what i worked at i would hate to work xmas day...

Do the cops in Thailand not work everyday?? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Just wondered this... It must be just so boring obviously there has to be 2 or 3 in every station just in case.. but with all...!! most:rolleyes: pubs closed and nothing happening.. do they just have there own little party in the ststion or what??

There will be lots of Domestics, arguing over the remote control,good few car accidents, drink driving, few suicide attempts, all in all it will be a busy day for some of them.
    For others it will be a chance to catch up on paper work and issue a few summons.
    Happy Christmas to all the boys and girls in blue.

Do people here actually like the Gardaí ?

Loaded question is loaded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I'll make a wild assumption in that they break out the drugs from evidence and have a right aul party.

I also assume it works best for them when it's snowing Xmas day so if a superior happens to drop by and see them and the station covered in coke they'd just go:

"Ara sure, that's Mick's fault for bringing all the snow in on his shoes from outside.................the little maggot............*sniff*.........."

Its a love/hate thing, Can't live with them but we would damned without them...

I reckon lots of sessions will get out of hand on Xmas day, I won't be on my street that day but its obvious the crazy houses will see the Guards at some stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

do they just have there own little party in the ststion or what??

They still do their daily rountine of trying to do people so it looks like they are doing their job (fair enough)

But of course to the average boards.ie user "the gardai are brilliant people! working on christmas! i tell ya, the bashing they get is not deserved!!" Coming from the idiot who has had zero amount of experience with the Gardai in their life.

I love them

No reason not to like them, they just do the job they are paid to do.

chucken1 wrote: »
    I love them

I like what they do for people. Although, I hate what they do for people

The stuff my brother tells me really is horrific.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

There has been either a suicide or murder every year for as many years as I can remember on Christmas in Arklow, or around Arklow, so I think it's fair to say they're pretty busy here most years.

I like what they do for people. Although, I hate what they do for people

The stuff my brother tells me really is horrific.

There's a lot of bad things I could say myself about them but I could also say a few good things, But my advice to anyone is if you don't bother them they won't bother you, Its best to just stay out of their way.

charlemont wrote: »
    There's a lot of bad things I could say myself about them but I could also say a few good things, But my advice to anyone is if you don't bother them they won't bother you, Its best to just stay out of their way.

I heard that if you startle one that you're to stay absolutely still. Their vision is based on movement. Or if you have a mathematician and a signal flare handy, that'd work too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

I know where you are coming from.
    But, it doesnt work like that. You could be minding your own business then they stop you.

LighterGuy wrote: »
    But, it doesnt work like that. You could be minding your own business then they stop you.

Just think of it as holding a random piece of paper while walking about the office. You're not actually doing anything, but you look busy cos you're holding a piece of paper. Or a folder...............that might be a better analogy. Although I think I ripped this example from Office Space.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

Get better at minding your own business then.

It's Christmas can we just give them a break for once,it's a ****ty job sometimes but someone has to do it.

Who gives a bollox there all a shower of ****.

Jaysus, that's terrible. Do you say that to them when you need their help ?

I know people are entitled to their own opinion but there's no need for that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭James T Kirk

Sounds like camping advice if you see a bear in the woods.

Who gives a bollox there all a shower of ****.

You know everyone of them do you? takes a wanker to know a wanker.

I agree, Your dead right and then its side of the road for 15 minutes in the cold as they run checks and look at your documents or search you, They only do it to waste time anyway but in that situation its best to just be polite. Most of the time its nothing personal anyway unless you live in a small town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭TomBeckett

chucken1 wrote: »
    Do the cops in Thailand not work everyday?? :confused:

Oh too right they do.. but they will only give tickets to falang thais can do as they want:rolleyes:
    What i really ment was in the country towns or quiet places not Dublin or the major citys yes for sure it would be busy there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭orangebud

snakes & laders followed by a show
    er party....

hondasam wrote: »

Well said

Some of the Ban-Gardaí should do an Xmas calender then we can all be
    **** !! :D

Sounds like camping advice if you see a bear in the woods.

Does a bear **** in the woods ? :)

**** hide its the Guards..

Oh too right they do.. but they will only give tickets to falang thais can do as they want:rolleyes:
    What i really ment was in the country towns or quiet places not Dublin or the major citys yes for sure it would be busy there...

I'll check with them on Sunday for you..by 6pm I tell you they are out doing what they always do here...(small town) They watch and take care of us,especially waiting for sh*t happening from drink.

I know it's really hard (I myself had to reread and subsequently delete several posts), but don't feed. ;)

Is that the best you can come up? calling me a wanker my feelings are really hurt not you idiot.

If you can't take it don't dish it out.

There will be lots of Domestics, arguing over the remote control,good few car accidents, drink driving, few suicide attempts, all in all it will be a busy day for some of them.
    For others it will be a chance to catch up on paper work and issue a few summons.
    Happy Christmas to all the boys and girls in blue.

the amount of bottles of whiskey, wine and cans of beer the Gardai get from local pubs and some businesses is insane. Practically bribery.

If two pubs have fights on at the same time and one pub has been giving the local mules alcohol every christmas then it puts pressure on Gardai to respond to their "friends" first.

Should be banned.

Also believe it or not some pubs have bars installed over Christmas! Ask around if you dont believe me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Pubs closed are you mad, Never been to the christmas day 3 hours out west,They do go to prementioned pubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭s14driftking

got car robbed **** didnt help get it back got it myself with two unused loaded bullets:eek:
    most gops are cowards and after a handy target so in my eyes they,ll sit in office on xmas day waiting for the handy target crinimal like most days

I quite like the Gardaí, but working Christmas day is just a crap chore, regardless of the job. I hope the Gardaí that are on duty have at least a somewhat quiet enough day. Truth be told, it's the one day of the year I'd rather they were sitting in the canteen watching TV and eating biscuits than having to look at the local scumbags.

Same can be said for the paramedics around the country, too, and any fire officers that may be in the station (though I don't think many really are? I'd imagine Christmas day they're all at home, and just on-call?).

Paramedics probably have it worse, actually. At least if you're a Garda with a domestic issue you can try and lighten things up a bit with an ould "ah sure it's Christmas, will ye calm down a little. Could always be worse :) ". If you're getting called out as a Paramedic, you know you're walking into the house of someone whose Christmas is after being ruined.

I'd say you'd be able to feel it in the pit of your stomach just responding to the call. Not nice.

Fair play to all of the emergency services, say I, particularly so on Christmas day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

They'll probably play a game of pinata with a hang cuffed polish guy.

I joke, I joke.

But I suspect with out coming across as discriminant that a good few calls will be coming from our traveling natives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

That's sick.

True, nothing worse than running out of drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭vetstu

It was the wife's fault for not buying enough vodka in the shopping

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Johnny Foreigner

They do Police work. (Unsurprisingly).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

If you're serious OP then you can ask themselves in their own forum.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1023

Note, the mods there are probably even more cranky than me.