Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Cyclists don't stop at RED"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

wow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭panevthe3rd

Did the police just watch the last guy go past and give the cyclist a strange look?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

I love it, just the type of good work that everyone says they'd like to do but never gets around to actually doing. Fair play! Any feedback from the traffic section of the Gardai?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

smacl wrote: »
    I love it, just the type of good work that everyone says they'd like to do but never gets around to actually doing. Fair play! Any feedback from the traffic section of the Gardai?
    Doubt it since it's england :p

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Going to tweet that to George Hook ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭PCX

Did the police just watch the last guy go past and give the cyclist a strange look?

They're community support officers not "real" police. They don't have the same powers as a police constable and unlike a full police officer they have no duty to act if they see an offence being commited.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

RobFowl wrote: »
    Going to tweet that to George Hook ;)
    I have just emailed him the link to here.
    I found his rant on his show the other day disagraceful.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

bcmf wrote: »
    I have just emailed him the link to here.
    I found his rant on his show the other day disagraceful.

oh, tell me more. I know he had to give money to charity before because him shooting his mouth off over the red-light issue.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

Basically he had Ciaran Cuffe on Mon about the Cycling Officer situation and basically went on a rant about every cyclist breaking red lights and just wouldnt let it rest. I think he went on to even point the finger at 'racing types' as the main offender.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

That's OK though, they pay road tax.

Iwannahurl wrote: »
    Cyclists also use the "footpad".

COPs1.jpg

07-D-62332.jpg

05-D-19087.jpg

00-LM-1214.jpg
    All I would have to do is take a picture outside my house everyday ( I live next door to a Primary School) for more evidence.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,918 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

It's never a good thing when the Mods start Trolling :p

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,099 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Why don't cyclists pay road tax? That's the big question!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Because...we don't have any infrastructure worth paying a dime for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭HivemindXX

monument wrote: »
    Why don't cyclists pay road tax? That's the big question!

Obviously because the ultra powerful cycling lobby has all forms of local and national government under their complete control.

Motorists should think themselves lucky we let them use the roads at all. Don't like the 30kph limit for that tiny area in Dublin? We got it put there and now we're altering it to 25kph. Pray that we don't alter it any further.

/Darth Vader

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Am I the only one who finds such videos a bit sad / pathetic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Bunnyhopper

Jawgap wrote: »

I think in context it's a useful response to the line that all cyclists break red lights, and the related amnesia around the stuff that drivers get up to. That said, some of the RLJ-ing in that video is pretty marginal and wouldn't bother me.

At the risk of appearing sad / pathetic, here's my contribution :)

I encountered this on Porterstown Road a few months back. It's just outside a school and the parents (presumably - there was some sort of sports day on by the look of it) had parked up in such a way that the whole road was effectively blocked. You'll note that I resisted the temptation to go on the path, as did at least one pedestrian. I also resisted the temptation to look smug as I made my way through the jam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

Jawgap wrote: »

No more sad/pathetic than posting on Boards!

Because...we don't have any infrastructure worth paying a dime for?

But you get to cycle on the roads paid for by motorists? Surely you cyclists can afford to pay €50 a year each?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

But you get to cycle on the roads paid for by motorists? Surely you cyclists can afford to pay €50 a year each?

How many times?
    There is NO SUCH THING as road tax.
    Car owners pay MOTOR Tax - it's a tax on owning a Motor car.
    The cost of road building and repair come from central funds to which every tax payer contributes, whether you own a car or not.

stoneill wrote: »

How many times?
    The cost of road building and repair come from central funds to which every tax payer contributes, whether you own a car or not.

Motorists pay a lot of the funding... Why can't cyclists pay their way???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,020 ✭✭✭PeadarCo

Cyclings do pay their way through the general taxation system and the same goes for pedestrians and any other road user who doesn't happen to have to pay motor tax.

As mentioned earlier motor tax is a tax on owning a car and has nothing to do with directly maintaining roads.

Also most cyclists also own cars and so pay motor tax on their cars.

What about a bridge toll / tax then? Everybody pays when they go over any bridge or the troll who lives under the bridge will get them?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭rp

stoneill wrote: »
    How many times?
    You are quite right: motorists are subsidised via general taxation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

What about a bridge toll / tax then? Everybody pays when they go over any bridge or the troll who lives under the bridge will get them?

I think there is only one troll here.

What's a troll?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

I pay just under a grand motor tax per annum. The group I cycle with would average about that each. Most of the time the cars are on private property as I cycle to work or am out riding for enjoyment.

We also pay insurance in case we are at fault in accident and cause either injury or expense. Hope this allays your worries and allows you to share the road in peace.

monument is taking the peas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

I've been a cyclist, a motorist, a commuter, & a pedestrian over the years. I just find the roads a full of ignorant b@stards, no matter what form of transport they're using, be it a bike or a truck.

One will always bitch about another, because everyone thinks they're always in the right. I always see cyclists breaking lights, using the path when it suits, barreling down onto the road when it suits...but I see motorists doing equally annoying things all the time.

It's just an attitude people have on the road, cretins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

Only vaguely related to the discussion here, but while checking what my motor tax bill will be like for next year I had a look at the rates for 2012 and was surprised to see some of the figures. For example, the owner of an off-road dumper has to pay €823, which is more than any private car less than 2.0L in size. Next time a plank in a car less than 2.0L moans at me while I'm cycling about my not paying "road tax", I'll remind him/her that using their reasoning a dumper has greater entitlement to the road than them.

And in case any driver of a private vehicle greater than 3.0L starts to feel smug they should probably note that goods vehicles greater than 9,000kg incur a greater charge than them. What's more, goods vehicles greater than 20,000kg incur a charge about 3 times that of a 3.0L+ private vehicle so are presumably 3 times more entitled to shove around such puny private vehicles. I'm suddenly starting to like the mangled reasoning behind the misguided sense of entitlement that exists amongst some motorists.

More generally though, what is it with this time of year? Amongst the various stupid antics I've witnessed on the roads in recent weeks (by people from all categories of road user), there have been several instances of motorists completely ignoring red traffic lights and just driving on through regardless. It's some of the most blatant disregard for basic rules of the road that I've seen in ages, far more blatant than the usual nonsense that people get up to. Did Santa make an early delivery of immortality to some people, or wha'?!