Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help needed!

• 22-12-2011 11:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9

Hi folks.. I bought a van last february but only put it on the road in September.. There was no tax disc on the van when i bought it and i never thought to ask your man i bought it off when the tax was out..
    First of all im wondering from what date will i have to backdate the tax, Can i go to the garda station and say it was only on the road since september..

Also im wondering , would it be possible to change the van into my fathers name to save me paying the higher rate of tax on a commercial vehicle.. My father has a herd number so he doesnt have to pay the higher rate of tax..

Thanks for your help..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Hi folks.. I bought a van last february but only put it on the road in September.. There was no tax disc on the van when i bought it and i never thought to ask your man i bought it off when the tax was out..
    First of all im wondering from what date will i have to backdate the tax, Can i go to the garda station and say it was only on the road since september..

Also im wondering , would it be possible to change the van into my fathers name to save me paying the higher rate of tax on a commercial vehicle.. My father has a herd number so he doesnt have to pay the higher rate of tax..

Thanks for your help..

Just have the van signed off the road until September, a garda needs to witness you signing the form and they may now look for proof that it was off the road or only put on the road in sept(fresh doe, insurance cert etc)

As for tax, I may be wrong but all small commercials are currently €288 to tax(going to over €300 in January). I haven't heard of a herd number though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Rooooooooney

Just have the van signed off the road until September, a garda needs to witness you signing the form and they may now look for proof that it was off the road or only put on the road in sept(fresh doe, insurance cert etc)

As for tax, I may be wrong but all small commercials are currently €288 to tax(going to over €300 in January). I haven't heard of a herd number though.

Thanks Nissan. This is a ford transit. As i do not have a vat number iv heard i would have to pay tax in the region of 500 euro. If i had a herd or flock number i would pay the lower rate of around 300.
    I was told i could get a letter from my boss to say i used the van while working for him , but recently i became unemployed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

A herd number will suffice for the cheaper rate but be careful with your insurance if the van is in your dads name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭kearney13

would it be possible to change the van into my fathers name to save me paying the higher rate of tax on a commercial vehicle.. My father has a herd number so he doesnt have to pay the higher rate of tax..

I heard of lads putting down there own PPS number and got commerical tax there not often checked by guards when there signing it as long as ya have a job where a commerical is needed

-Corkie- wrote: »
    A herd number will suffice for the cheaper rate but be careful with your insurance if the van is in your dads name.

Yeah corkie its not yet in his name.. I was planning on taxing it tomorrow but the thought came into my head about registering the van in his name..
    But im thinkin the same as yourself ''would i be allowed register and tax the van in his name while having insurance in my name on the van''..

kearney13 wrote: »
    I heard of lads putting down there own PPS number and got commerical tax there not often checked by guards when there signing it as long as ya have a job where a commerical is needed

But im unemployed at the minute kearney.

Oh right, keep the van in your name and put down your fathers herd number anyway and say your a farm labourer should work

Thats a bit risky id say !!! How can i be a farm labourer and signed on at the same time..

That would be riskey all right best way to do it is the way you said but to insure it, you would have to be a named driver on your fathers policy

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

please don't provide advice on how to break the law.

kbannon wrote: »
    please don't provide advice on how to break the law.

No one wants to pay high tax :p just as long as the vans actually used for a commercial purpose its not breaking the law

Lol your right , its shocking me been unemployed having to pay the higher rate.. Does anyone know the exact cost?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

-Chris- wrote: »

Link doesnt work chris...

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Works fine for me - its a word document

kbannon wrote: »
    Works fine for me - its a word document

Yeah sorry chris i didnt see it at first..