Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sharp Dressed Man - 9:30 tonight

• 22-12-2011 7:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭

This looks like one to hate. That clown from "I'm an adult, get me out of here" who tried his best to ruin the futures of young impressionable people. Another canny mcsavvy that thought he was a business genius because of the property bubble.

Well he is back on his feet now supposedly and is taking his ignorant celtic tiger approach to business and taking it to mens fashion. Getting himself fitted with some ridiculous 1920s gangster suit that he obviously thinks befits his vulgar personality. Is he going to get a propertly made bespoke suit as he obviously knows about mens clothes? No, I'm guessing its just your usual made to measure with a few adjustments. Looking forward to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

John Maguire was on with Brendan O'Connor last year saying that he owed millions to the banks, something like 10 million I think... in properties which he had bought and rented during the boom... He WAS covering his loans, but now cannot the same properties cannot realise the same rental income... He also said that he cant sell the properties and pay back the bank as obviously they are now worth a fraction of what he paid for them.... He said he was in NAMA and I remember him saying something about "sleeping on the floor" somewhere.. That was the last I heard from him..

On the promo for this he said that he is now "back on his feet".. Given that properties have plummeted further since.. I dont understand how his financial situation has improved :confused::confused: Dont think he'll win any fans by splurging out on a new suit, given that he is in NAMA..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

The trailer is puke inducing, It's like the Celtic Tiger was still going strong.

It has me scrambling for the Remote every time it came on. I will be avoiding this one like the Plague.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭Mister Dread

http://www.johnmcguire.ie/news.html
    John is presenting a new show on RTE 2 on the 22nd of December 2011 called 'Sharp Dressed Man'. In the show John explores the psychology of Irish men and their attitude to fashion and overall appearance. John McGuire makes no apologies for taking pride in his appearance. He has always maintained that our appearance reveals a lot about our state of mind. A man's appearance talks of his self-confidence or his lack of it. It's a question of respect - self respect.

I had really hoped creeps like him died away in 2008. Why is RTE giving him a prime time tv show after all the damage his last show did. He was getting young adults to buy overpriced houses in 2007 when everybody knew the only way was down. Some of these people have had their lives effectively ruined as he had them signing up to 400K mortgages in Saggart and the like .

Dont go to a job interview with your b*ll*x hanging out... who knew???

Ps. John.

A gentlemen doesn't go around in a big knackery windsor knot. The shiny silver material just exasperates that problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Hmm...........John Maguire... style over substance me thinks........

Ps. John.

A gentlemen doesn't go around in a big knackery windsor knot. The shiny silver material just exasperates that problem.
    That Gangster suit looks awful, it reminds me of something that belongs to the 80's and we all know how good 80's fashion was :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭GetWithIt

Does a struggling salesman start turning up on a bicycle? No, he turns up in a newer car - perception, yeah? They got to trust me - I'm taking these guys into battle, yeah? And I'm doing my own stapling.

He has a seriously hairy back :eek: :eek: :eek:

Given how deliberately exaggerated they made the contrast of his first two outfits.. Why dont they have him showing up b*llock naked for round 3?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

This is pretty **** and embarrassing, the presenter looks like every other pisshead at the Galway races , far from sharp

That speed dating night seemed to be for people in their forties, what on earth was that guy doing there :confused:

padi89 wrote: »
    This is pretty **** and embarrassing, the presenter looks like every other pisshead at the Galway races , far from sharp

He is the typical full of himself Irish "entrepreneur" type that thinks he dresses well. He has called himself a sharp dresser throughout. Don't wear poorly fitting off the rail suits unless you are going to work or an interview.

I can't see what Expose's Karen Koster sees in this guy.

See how stylish the French are when we default and take down their banks.. :D:D

MrsD007 wrote: »
    I can't see what Expose's Karen Kostner sees in this guy.
    Are they together? Not a bad match imo. Her pre interview banter indicates that she has little going on.

Notice how every person and shop owner he talks to in properly fashionable cities is dress a hundred times better than him.

I haven't liked any of Maguire's suits so far, there are lads in Rathkeale with a better sense of style.

FFS. Teach the poor lad a proper tie knot. The Saville Row dubliner and the Charvet person had proper knots. It doesn't matter in the greater scheme of things but if you're doing a show on sharp dressing then these things should be picked up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Paul Hipster Galvin, Brendan Hipster Off the Rails and now this fella .....jaysus

1211_Bertie_G_229024t.jpg

drumm-fitzpatrick-415x275.jpg

11785_building_a_strong_intenal_market_McCreevy.jpg

JimPower1.jpg

Does anybody truly believe at this stage, that being able to put on a suit gives any indication as to a person's competence, honesty, or patriotism?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

That time would have been better spent revisiting the people featured on 'I'm an Adult, get me out of here'

Some of those people spent fortunes on modest Commuter-land Properties just before the bubble burst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭brennan1979

Skid wrote: »
    That time would have been better spent revisiting the people featured on 'I'm an Adult, get me out of here'

Some of those people spent fortunes on modest Commuter-land Properties just before the bubble burst.

Excellent idea but that would involve RTÉ acknowledging the piss poor decision they made in commisioning that series in the first place. The vulgarity of that show would make an interesting contrast to the situation the country is in now. There's a lot of unemployed TV and media graduates that could have produced a far more interesting programme but when you're in the circle you'll always be looked after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 inaworld

This was really sub par stuff from RTE. It was like an hour long personal add for Maguire. Having this man flirt with a variety of fashion and smell experts, in a suit, isn't my idea of TV. The whole thing came across really ackward, irrelevant, unstructured, badly researched, somewhat vulger and tasteless. So much so it actually made me angry.

I really hope we don't see more of him/this kind of thing. How can anyone come back from 'I'm and adult get me out of here'? I can't stop thinking of those poor people everytime a primetime runs another special on NAMA/Property/Anglo etc etc.

In fact the series encapsulates how badly RTE performed in it's social responsibilites as a state broadcaster.

Does anyone know any of them actually? Or where I could get a soft copy of the original episodes. I have a friend who'd considering a short film project.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭Cork

inaworld wrote: »
    How can anyone come back from 'I'm and adult get me out of here'? I can't stop thinking of those poor people everytime a primetime runs another special on NAMA/Property/Anglo etc etc.

I 100% agree