Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who was your coolest teacher/lecturer?

• 21-12-2011 8:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭

One of my lecturers is an absolute dude, takes us out to the pub after lectures, buys us drinks, gets hammered and bitches about the other lecturers to us. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Sounds like he wants to bang the students,you as a male are just getting in the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

That guy sound pretty lame, is he at least young-ish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

I had a lecturer I wanted to bang. does that count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

It's called grooming, OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

ehh, can I name him and say what school he thought me in or what?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

A Mr Harrington. An English teacher of excellence!
    My first novel has a dedication of which he is a part of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

pmcmahon wrote: »
    Sounds like he wants to bang the students,you as a male are just getting in the way.

Then why does he gaze longingly into my eyes?

Check mate.

Biggins wrote: »

he sure learnt you good and proper.

He did ta be sure, to be sure! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Rob Beveridge, Media Studies lecturer at Edinburgh Napier University, he is great craic and one of the very best you can get for journalism studies.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

John Doe1 wrote: »
    Then why does he gaze longingly into my eyes?

Check mate.

Thats the "fúck off home" stare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,246 ✭✭✭amacca

I was my coolest teacher....................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

Damien Moore.
    Taught us Anologue Electronics in UL
    I remember one terribly wet and windy Friday morning he was our 9 am lecture, Out of a class of 100 there was 5 of us there.
    He took a look around and pulled out a sheet of paper and made us all wign it.
    He then said, you are all going to have to work very ****ing hard to fail this course.
    Which was nice cause it was a bitch of an exam :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I had a guy who I thought was a deadly teacher, but he got these headaches. I offered my opinion on them, but he just shouted "It's not a toomer!". He didn't last long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

None of them, they all contributed equally in making me the thick I am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭yawha

A snowman used to teach me mathematics.

yawha wrote: »
    A snowman used to teach me mathematics.

me too,i used to melt his head with questions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭cazzzzz

My old German teacher, absolute legend.

Took us to Berlin on a 'cultural trip' and we drank green beer, went to the zoo and did loads of shopping, best trip ever.

What a man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭take everything

Biggins wrote: »

:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

My secondary school Chemistry teacher. I was a disaster at the subject, just didn't get it at all. We didn't really know each other well until we met a few years after I'd left school and we...eh, set up a business together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

red menace wrote: »
    Damien Moore.
    Taught us Anologue Electronics in UL
    I remember one terribly wet and windy Friday morning he was our 9 am lecture, Out of a class of 100 there was 5 of us there.
    He took a look around and pulled out a sheet of paper and made us all wign it.
    He then said, you are all going to have to work very ****ing hard to fail this course.
    Which was nice cause it was a bitch of an exam :)

Ah that's great, just turn up and you pass. Facepalm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Rolli

I always liked the teachers with the big cans...

...bitches about the other lecturers to us. :D

He might regret that later if word gets back (and sometimes indeed it does) to someone he don't like!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

FouxDaFaFa wrote: »
    My secondary school Chemistry teacher. I was a disaster at the subject, just didn't get it at all. We didn't really know each other well until we met a few years after I'd left school and we...eh, set up a business together.

You better call Saul, buddy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭7Sins

One of my lecturers is an absolute dude, takes us out to the pub after lectures, buys us drinks, gets hammered and bitches about the other lecturers to us. :D

I had a lecturer like that, maybe same one? anyway if it is he's a loner alcoholic, he may as well take some young impressionable students out and impress them with drink...beats microwave dinners for one and a **** to the angelus :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

In school I think my 'coolest' teacher was my Mum

And when your Mum is trying to be the 'cool' teacher in a classroom of 17 year olds who think it's hilarious when a middle aged woman tries to be trendy, it really ought to be considered a form of child abuse.

later10 wrote: »

And when your Mum is trying to be the 'cool' teacher in a classroom of 17 year olds who think it's hilarious when a middle aged woman tries to be trendy, it really ought to be considered a form of child abuse.

Your Ma was my coolest teacher too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

later10 wrote: »

Your mother was doing the child abuse.....sexual.....to your classmates:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

FouxDaFaFa wrote: »

Can I make a suggestion? For the love of god make sure you have a spare battery in your trunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Johnny Foreigner

Dr Mewburn-Crook my A-Level Physics teacher.
    He allowed me to bring in some blotting paper, shotgun cartridges, and diesel, to show the class how to make a pipe bomb.
    He seemed genuinely fascinated I knew how to do it, although he was too afraid to ask where I hard learned how to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

2 teachers.

A civics teacher who is the most laid back character in the world. Opened my mind to the possibility of life without religion.
    Once told us "forget about drink and drugs, go out and find a nice girl and ride her". As it turns I am now working with his young Russian wife.

My french teacher, lads and lassies this woman was sex on legs and she knew it. Smelt of drink and was a teenagers wet dream. Double French on a Thursday afternnon was just her sitting on top of her desk in a short skirt knowing that every young fella in that room had a horn for her, every young girl in the room wanted to be her and some later admitted they also wanted her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Kasabian wrote: »
    2 teachers.

A civics teacher who is the most laid back character in the world. Opened my mind to the possibility of life without religion.
    Once told us "forget about drink and drugs, go out and find a nice girl and ride her". As it turns I am now working with his young Russian wife.

My french teacher, lads and lassies this woman was sex on legs and she knew it. Smelt of drink and was a teenagers wet dream. Double French on a Thursday afternnon was just her sitting on top of her desk in a short skirt knowing that every young fella in that room had a horn for her, every young girl in the room wanted to be her and some later admitted they also wanted her.
    great, now I'm wet too:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

My 2nd class primary school teacher who was known to everyone that he taught as Mista! Also known as everyone's favourite teacher because he was so sound.

Poor guy had awful luck when his wife and daughter died in different circumstances a few years apart. Only found out that he himself had passed away recently and that I missed his funeral :(

He used to make us do meditation where we put our heads in our arms ("Red door.........no.7..........walk on through.......") and you were never allowed look up. Only realised after a while that the meditation thing was just so he could stand at the door and have a smoke :pac:

For day trips he would bring us around to various places in my town telling us of all the history of the place like underground passages running under a large section of the town (sealed off now, of course) and houses owned by rich Irish folk during the time of English landlords.

He brought us fishing one time and showed us a graveyard that was hidden way outside of the town. It was an unkept dump of a graveyard full of non-baptised kids, he told us of the whole scenario of the Catholic shame of those kids being born out of wedlock / adultery / etc and that they were stuck in Limbo because they didn't have a splash of water on their heads.

That's something that always stuck with me and I still remember that one grave that still had fresh flowers laid at it's sorry excuse of a tombstone. That trip was definitely a big factor that brought me to the lack of religion and beliefs in my life.

All teachers after him were just shìte in actually getting us to have an interest in things kids normally wouldn't have.

Best. Teacher. Ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

Miss Nulty - English teacher. She'd get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,270 ✭✭✭blackwhite

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056485112

Deco Brennan. Came to Summerhill when I was doing the Leaving.
    Fresh faced, just out of college, and now look at him. World famous so he is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

My Spanish teacher in school used to lean over from behind us to correct our homework, her boobs used to hit the back of my head and she was awesome!