Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dubrovnik Croatia - Good LC Holiday Destination?

• 21-12-2011 7:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭

Myself and 3 other friends were thinking of going to Croatia to Dubrovnik for a week after our leaving cert and we recently heard that its not a good destination for young people.
    The islands look beautiful and there seems to be lots to do (we dont want to spend our time by a pool or on a beach every day) but we would like to go out at night to clubs and stuff and I've heard from various places that its not a good city for nightlife... is this true? Can anyone confirm or contradict this?

Also would anyone be able to suggest some other destinations that would be good? We would like to go somewhere warm and preferably by the sea, but not the typical places like Marbea/Ayia Napa etc. Also not Greece or France preferably.. Perhaps somewhere in Portugal? Spain?

Can anyone help?

It would be greatly appreciated as we are very very stuck atm!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭finfinfin

i've been in Croatia.Dubrovnik is very lovey dovey.if your interested in Croatia the nightlife in Zagreb is top class,spending a week in a big city like that could make ya a bit weary.try and check out Thessaloniki in Greece,great nightlife,savage beach and goodfun.you wanna google what its like nowadays though with social unrest and all that.Copenhagen is class for nightlife and loads of stuff to do during the day.loads of stuff but it is very expensive if money is an issue.believe me if your drinking all the time it is!insert sad face here.ha ha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭finfinfin

you said not Greece.I apologise.have a look at bari.good laugh,near a beach and I think ryanair fly there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Hedwig

Thanks for the reply!

2 of the parents want us to go on a package deal so there's no hope of moving around Croatia unfortunately. We phoned up a travel agents and they suggested Malta? Does anyone have any experience of going there? Anyone know what its like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

Hedwig wrote: »
    Thanks for the reply!

2 of the parents want us to go on a package deal so there's no hope of moving around Croatia unfortunately. We phoned up a travel agents and they suggested Malta? Does anyone have any experience of going there? Anyone know what its like?
    Package deal? Why? There is about zero advantage of this whether or not your staying in the same place. Hard to advise a place thats not a typical destination seeing as you want beach and nightlife! Defo not dubrovnik anyway, very much an older couple destination. Split would be a better option if you have to go croatia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

Hedwig wrote: »
    Thanks for the reply!

Package deal? Why? There is about zero advantage of this whether or not your staying in the same place. Hard to advise a place thats not a typical destination seeing as you want beach and nightlife! Defo not dubrovnik anyway, very much an older couple destination. Split would be a better option if you have to go croatia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭livinsane

I would definitely not recommend Dubrovnik for a young group. I went there with my partner, we're not clubbers, but it was even too quiet for us. Beautiful place but maybe when you are older :D

I was in Ibiza last year, its a place you can make as mad or as quiet as you wish. Plenty of nice things to do during the day and loads of nightlife. We stayed in San Antonio, which is busy but not party central. We took a trip to the main beach in Playa d'en Bossa (it was mental, so busy, loud music, everyone drinking - fun to see once but I wouldnt go back)

I've only heard good things about Portugal, but haven't been there myself.

Enjoy it whatever ye do. Plenty of choice out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

Don't go to Malta, it's not for young people really.

If you're forced into a package, why not see if you can get one to near Barcelona or Valencia - then you can pop into the city for a day or three. Just if you're not aware already Sitges near Barcelona is mostly a gay resort so may not be suitable.

Have a look at the island Pag in Croatia.....There is a beach called Zrce. 24/7 partying.

I went to Sitges. Didn't notice any gay people. ~shrug~

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭noddyflavin

Dude, don't go to Dubrovnik, it's boring as feck. We made the mistake a few years back. Granted it's scenic and all that carry on but in terrms of young lads having the craic it's ****e. Go to Split. Dubrovnik is where you bring your missus to propose or ****. Not literally do a poo but I actually got a dose of the explosives on the second day of our boring as **** holiday in Dubrovnik. I think the most exciting thing that happened that week was the day we was leaving, at the bar in the airport, I'm like, watch yer man with the shakes. He proceeded to shake himself outta his bar stool, 3-4 foot onto the ground; ceann first. I dunno if he died, not hoping he did, but if he did it's solidified this story. What the **** am I on about...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭noddyflavin

Dude, don't go to Dubrovnik, it's boring as feck. We made the mistake a few years back. Granted it's scenic and all that carry on but in terrms of young lads having the craic it's ****e. Go to Split. Dubrovnik is where you bring your missus to propose or ****. Not literally do a poo but I actually got a dose of the explosives on the second day of our boring as **** holiday in Dubrovnik. I think the most exciting thing that happened that week was the day we was leaving, at the bar in the airport, I'm like, watch yer man with the shakes. He proceeded to shake himself outta his bar stool, 3-4 foot onto the ground; ceann first. I dunno if he died, not hoping he did, but if he did it's solidified this story. What the **** am I on about...

Go to Split...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Dannyxz

If looking for fun - go to Hvar! That is the place to be for great night life and some superb island and sea experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Tbh croatia is not a great party place for kids, its picking up little by little though, its mainly for couples and family's and most of the tourist places cover these demographics.
    As already mentioned Hvar is good, Pag has a summer festival and also island Rab, where the main discos in zagreb have their summer places.....but if you're looking for banging choons head elsewhere like Ibiza.

if you're a couple then fine I can recommend great places like kornati, miljet, zadar, plitvice waterfalls, national parks, stony beaches where you'll be the only couple etc......
    but for a group of kids looking to party, then for your first experience traveling, choose the regular destinations so that you can compare it the next years.

v Kupus - tell it to thousands who come here for partying. Garden festival is up and coming and two Ibiza festivals are moving to Croatia this summer. So, up and coming it was, back in 2009

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Danny, its a group of LC kids, the craic is 10x better in spain or ayia napa or even Kusadsi in Turkey
    yes garden festival, pula raggae festival, are ok, (however with garden festival did they get the licence this year afaik they were refused)

But if we are talking music festivals then I would recommend Exit Festival in Novi Sad for an even better festival, as the top festival in the region for the past number of years and hundreds of thousands can recommend (its like Slane for 3 days but with SUN. and loads of top bands.)

As I said a group of LC kids........go to spain, ibiza, barca, peurto ventura, grand canaries, and if you do go and get a package holiday the price is usually a bit above for what you pay if you found it yourself. but you dont waste any time looking, just come go get drunk and leave
    a couple looking for a different place for a romantic sojourn....... croatia
    remember its the med as it once was, and still is

ok.
    Garden Festival signed with Tisno and they will have it on two locations. As well as that two Ibiza festivals that are coming over. But again, I do agree that the entire coastline is not a party zone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Hedwig

Heyy, OP here.

Thanks a mil for all the replies. We're considering Portugal now, would Lagos be a good destination? We'd love to go somewhere with beaches that have that beautiful clear water and aren't too crowed and Lagos looks beautiful.

Would Albufeira have anything like that? Is it a good place to go?

Also would spending a week in Lisbon be too long?

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭shortys94

Does anybody know whether Croatia is cheaper than Greece? And if so, is there any places in particular with amazing beaches? Also, that is reasonable enough with money?