Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

YarVik Tab 250 Tablet at Tesco

• 21-12-2011 3:37pm

Just picked up the YarVik Tab 250 Tablet at Tesco for €149.00

Seems like a good price and I think they have just had them delivered as the young lad was dragging out the display stand.

Watched a review on it and seems to be a decent tablet.

Review Here
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1j11FxGIFX0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭U2Flyboy

I bought one of these Yarvik Tab250 tablets 4 weeks ago from Komplett.ie at €128.95 delivered but I think they dont have them listed at the moment. Its ok, capacitive 7" screen. A bit slow and no working Android Market.800mhz cpu. I can get the market working if I install a Rom for the Yarvik Tab211 but I loose the accelerometer/screen rotation. I also have difficulty in getting it rooted permanently and there is little in the way of custom roms available. Battery life is approx 3hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

U2Flyboy wrote: »
    I bought one of these Yarvik Tab250 tablets 4 weeks ago from Komplett.ie at €128.95 delivered but I think they dont have them listed at the moment. Its ok, capacitive 7" screen. A bit slow and no working Android Market.800mhz cpu. I can get the market working if I install a Rom for the Yarvik Tab211 but I loose the accelerometer/screen rotation. I also have difficulty in getting it rooted permanently and there is little in the way of custom roms available. Battery life is approx 3hours.

Is this with screen brightness full or what? Constant Wifi use? You'd be better off with something like the 7" Archos 7 tablet, you can get it for €149 now too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭antocann

i got one of these the other day ,
    seems good , battery life is great lasts all day and thats using wifi and all

the market is a let down , but just dload the marked apk and send it to the tab with your computer , they already have a file reader so u can install apps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭gripcasey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭beanhead

the did one is an inferior model

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 amyk777

antocann wrote: »
    just dload the marked apk and send it to the tab with your computer , they already have a file reader so u can install apps

yes, I'm an idiot, but do I:
    On my computer, download the Android Market app...
    Transfer app to tablet via the USB cable...
    Will the app then appear on the tablet desktop? Can I use it directly, like I do on my phone? Will the 'Permissions' sort themselves out for installations?

Eternal gratitude for any help..
    Amy

amyk777 wrote: »
    Will the app then appear on the tablet desktop? Can I use it directly, like I do on my phone? Will the 'Permissions' sort themselves out for installations?

Amy

yep thats exactly how it will work :D

just gonna send u a pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭biebiebie

amyk777 wrote: »
    antocann wrote: »
    just dload the marked apk and send it to the tab with your computer , they already have a file reader so u can install apps

Amy

Firstly I don't have one. However usually an app loaded like this would involve steps like the following.

Apps you download that don't come directly from the Android market are said to be "side-loaded". Usually it'll be a file with a .apk extension.

Now the bit you asked about - this is all done on the tablet. After transferring the apk to the tablet, you need to go into your File Manager on the tablet, and go to the directory where you copied the apk to. Click on the .apk file and it should ask if you want to install. The app should then be available for you in the app drawer, in this case the Android Market should hopefully be available.

Hope this helps :-)

Oh just in case, if you get a warning message about installing third party apps, you might get prompted to switch on the "Unknown Sources" switch, if so then this is okay to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭constantg

just bought the 10" version of it, i'll let ye know how it works out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

my father-in-law received one of these for Christmas and it broke our hearts all day, we could not connect it to the feckin WiFi network while my Netbook and various smart phones had no problem connecting.

I also felt the touchscreen sensitivity was poor....I suggested to the person who gave the gift to bring it back and get something else...which they did...life is too short to be messing with Hardware to connect to the feckin' internet these days.

my father-in-law received one of these for Christmas and it broke our hearts all day, we could not connect it to the feckin WiFi network while my Netbook and various smart phones had no problem connecting.

I also felt the touchscreen sensitivity was poor....I suggested to the person who gave the gift to bring it back and get something else...which they did...life is too short to be messing with Hardware to connect to the feckin' internet these days.

shame he had a problem with it , mine works perfect , touch screen is great , and wifi is grand