Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

off sick tomo!!

• 20-12-2011 3:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭

so I feel like I could be off sick tomo and looking for a recommendation for a club in north dublin area (but not specifically)
    I normally play in roganstown, swords open and castlewarden (I know not exactly north Dublin)
    But since xmas week I assume most courses will be empty, i'd also prefer a place that wasn't using winter greens (not sure of the likelihood of this)
    Would also look at around 9 in the morning.

so where best?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Kid Charlemagne

sure roganstown dont use winter greens at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Running Balance

sure roganstown dont use winter greens at all.

i realise that but looking for somewhere i haven't played before, that may use them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

I hope your boss doesn't read boards, you might have a little more time on your hands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

Maybe Portmarnock or Corballis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

f22 wrote: »
    I hope your boss doesn't read boards, you might have a little more time on your hands

Unless his real name is Mr Running Balance, he should be alright......:)

my real name is The Running Man.I've said too much. I'll be back!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭AldilaMan

Hollywood Lakes earlybird rate €20 8-10am. No temporary greens ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,184 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

so I feel like I could be off sick tomo and looking for a recommendation for a club in north dublin area (but not specifically)
    I normally play in roganstown, swords open and castlewarden (I know not exactly north Dublin)
    But since xmas week I assume most courses will be empty, i'd also prefer a place that wasn't using winter greens (not sure of the likelihood of this)

so where best?

The dole office is a fair track, but can be tough too.
    D Doc is a good doctor,
    Give Uniflu the one two,
    Esker "Ills" is good.
    S"Ill"ouge not bad, load of lads on sick leave there.
    Make sure you don't pull anything.
    Hope you don't get off the Hook.

Sorry , some poor puns there.

Go to work and get the country back on the track. My tip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

Go to work and get the country back on the track. My tip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭harpsman

Hes probably public sector. Sure hes entitled to his sick days.
    Probably wont be missed anyway.

harpsman wrote: »
    Hes probably public sector. Sure hes entitled to his sick days.
    Probably wont be missed anyway.

Keep the Public Service bashing to some other forum. Private Sector workers never take a sick day ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Gauranteed he's not working for himself anyway.

AldilaMan wrote: »

Keep the Public Service bashing to some other forum. Private Sector workers never take a sick day ???
    I wonder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

Asking for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭GetInTheHole!

so where best?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Whyner

I'm not so sure on this anymore, a quick flick through any poster's (mine included) previous comments and it's easy to build up a profile. I won't be tracking you down though.

Can't believe people are lecturing you on pulling a sicky, sweet baby jesus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭Tones69

The man asks where to play golf and people are giving him stick about taking a day off work lol, classic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

Whyner wrote: »
    I'm not so sure on this anymore, a quick flick through any poster's (mine included) previous comments and it's easy to build up a profile. I won't be tracking you down though.

Can't believe people are lecturing you on pulling a sicky, sweet baby jesus

i'm glad i'm not the only one who thinks the OP is a lazy F***,
    i have never rang in sick and pride myself on that

maybe if the op had just asked about what courses are recommended instead of going on like he's great lad pulling a sicky like it's something to be proud of:(

heavyballs wrote: »

maybe if the op had just asked about what courses are recommended instead of going on like he's great lad pulling a sicky like it's something to be proud of:(

Eh it's the last working week before xmas...

If your mate mentioned he was pulling a sicky would you call him a lazy F*** and lecture him with your immaculate record??

I didn't get the impression he was proud of it, merely mentioned it.

Can I assume you're on boards during working hours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭mikeunt

someone touch a nerve?

Eh it's the last working week before xmas...

If your mate mentioned he was pulling a sicky would you call him a lazy F*** and lecture him with your immaculate record??

I didn't get the impression he was proud of it, merely mentioned it.

Can I assume you're on boards during working hours?

well you can but you shouldn't

if it was a mate i'd be saying the same,beleive it or not i don't really g.a.f.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

Lol get you..he asked for reccomendations on a course at the minute not your opinion on sick days. Who gives a fook if you have never rang in sick some people on these boards really need to get a grip.

Fwiw hollystown is a nice track OP.

Jaysoose wrote: »

He's not here, he's sick (ssshh, he's playing golf)

www.youtube.com/watch?v=MGpwbKpjdtI

mikeunt wrote: »
    someone touch a nerve?

Yes

Eh no ... He came on specifically to
    1. Tell us he is pulling a sicky (this is such a crucial part of the equation he felt it be necessary to title the thread based on it)
    and
    2. Where can he play golf while he's off

Presumably people can express their
    Opinion on either 1 or 2. Otherwise just tell us
    you're interested in playing golf tomorrow and spare us
    the irrelevant, tiresome reasons you happen to be off.

Myksyk wrote: »
    1. Tell us he is pulling a sicky (this is such a crucial part of the equation he felt it be essay to title the thread based on it)
    and

It's amazing how 2 people can read the same post and react so oppositely. Did you have steam coming out of your ears whilst writing this? Anyway, we'll move on. I'm pretty jealous of the OP as well

Myksyk wrote: »
    1. Tell us he is pulling a sicky (this is such a crucial part of the equation he felt it be essay to title the thread based on it)
    and

Agree,

If you come on and are deliberately provocative here, you will get it back. I have, we all do.

It is not our fault that people who pull sickies are failures in life. :p

But , there are a 100,000 people who would take that job and not go sick.

Anyway, it is his own life, but it catches up with you in the end that craic. Bet you he lost 5 balls and hit a tree and hit his head and ended up in A+E in Beaumont with a golf ball in his eye socket. Guess who is sitting next to him in A+E, the girlfriend of his bosses son, who is fit and fancied him until he looks like a cyclops with PROV 1x as one eye.

He happened to work as an eye model and now his work is limited to horror golf movies, this work is very limited. But there is talk of nightmare on Sillogue Golf links, staring "The running balance". He now plays golf on his many days off, he can not line up a put for **** and randomly shouts "fore" even when the ball is going straight down the middle.

Day1 of Nightmare on Silogue shooting.

Canceled due to sick leave.

Sorry all, it is Christmas. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

Are you being serious :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,337 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

I thin the average sick days from a Public sector worker per year is 12 versus 6 from a private sector worker.So playing the numbers game somebody pulling a sickie is more likely to be a Public sector worker

On a side note if you did not know the gender (ie it wasnt in a golf forum) you would be safe in assuming Female as well they take an average of 14 days per year compared to the 8 for a man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

But , there are a 100,000 people who would take that job and not go sick.

This thread is gone wildly off topic ..! But anyway ..

In relation to your comment FdP, their is a whole lot of that type of comment going around these days. Things like "your lucky to have a job" and "thousands of people would take that job" are being spurted from mouths all over the country. It's obviously a sign of the times but it begs the question whats more important, quality of life or just having a job.

I know plenty of people in jobs getting raped up the arse because of the current economic climate. People being forced to work excessive hours for little pay and in terrible conditions. As soon as anyone mentions that they are unhappy with the situation , out come the guilt tripping one liners. People have no idea what people put up or have to endure in the work place. I could rant on a bit but basically the current economic climate is being abused to the detriment of peoples quality of life.

In regard to sick days, obviously you are not meant to lie about being sick but it's getting harder and harder to define sick. Recently I have had to encourage 3 people to take a sick day, one person working in hospitality after 2 weeks of coughing and spluttering with no let up and still persisting to show up, I had to sit him down and ask him what was going on, the answer was understaffed and can't do without me, after two weeks of showing up sick I finally got him to take a day off.

Another person working shifts doing and extra hour a day and a Saturday was in a routine of pretty much bed work bed work, obviously shattered and not themselves at all, poor mood and hints of depression. Everyone telling them how lucky the were in their great job also..! A couple of days off and it was like talking to a different person..

Their have been lots of articles written of recent years about working conditions in Ireland and by in large they have refereed to the fact that Irish worker generally work longer hours in harder conditions, productivity might be questionable, but their is a reason for the disproportionate amount of sick days taken by the country's workforce.

I don't know the Op's situation but because of the mention of a sick day I think the OP sounded like he was excited about the prospect, not just proud of the fact he was doing it.

You really have to ask the question "whats more important"? .. I think we know the answer , Golf of course ..! :D

What would Jesus do?

Are you being serious :confused:

No, yes, maybe.

You decide your obviously going to tell me anyway.

k.p.h wrote: »

In relation to your comment FdP, their is a whole lot of that type of comment going around these days. Things like "your lucky to have a job" and "thousands of people would take that job" are being spurted from mouths all over the country. It's obviously a sign of the times but it begs the question whats more important, quality of life or just having a job.

I know plenty of people in jobs getting raped up the arse because of the current economic climate. People being forced to work excessive hours for little pay and in terrible conditions. As soon as anyone mentions that they are unhappy with the situation , out come the guilt tripping one liners. People have no idea what people put up or have to endure in the work place. I could rant on a bit but basically the current economic climate is being abused to the detriment of peoples quality of life.

In regard to sick days, obviously you are not meant to lie about being sick but it's getting harder and harder to define sick. Recently I have had to encourage 3 people to take a sick day, one person working in hospitality after 2 weeks of coughing and spluttering with no let up and still persisting to show up, I had to sit him down and ask him what was going on, the answer was understaffed and can't do without me, after two weeks of showing up sick I finally got him to take a day off.

Another person working shifts doing and extra hour a day and a Saturday was in a routine of pretty much bed work bed work, obviously shattered and not themselves at all, poor mood and hints of depression. Everyone telling them how lucky the were in their great job also..! A couple of days off and it was like talking to a different person..

Their have been lots of articles written of recent years about working conditions in Ireland and by in large they have refereed to the fact that Irish worker generally work longer hours in harder conditions, productivity might be questionable, but their is a reason for the disproportionate amount of sick days taken by the country's workforce.

I don't know the Op's situation but because of the mention of a sick day I think the OP sounded like he was excited about the prospect, not just proud of the fact he was doing it.

You really have to ask the question "whats more important"? .. I think we know the answer , Golf of course ..! :D

Good post,

I agree the situation is being exploited , these are the same guys who slag off unions on the radio. It suits them to pay staff **** and keep a place open all hours at min wage. Also during the good years they did not pay all their tax, all the cash tricks and two cash registers and no PRSI and tax scams and property scams, it goes on and on and on.

Back to Golf. Won't go there again. Makes my head boil.

f22 wrote: »
    What would Jesus do?

Take all the gifts that wise men bring.

A gold Pitchmark repairer.
    A frankincense Tee.
    A myrrh filled golf ball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭gorfield

Other end of spectrum........ In the office i work i timed a colleague every time he went for a smoke between 9.30 and 5.30...................total time spent smoking 1hr 17min.
    Pulling a sickie for golf is fine looking at this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

gorfield wrote: »
    Other end of spectrum........ In the office i work i timed a colleague every time he went for a smoke between 9.30 and 5.30...................total time spent smoking 1hr 17min.

It one of the only perks of smoking, if took this away their would be know point smoking at all...

Imagine the harm it would do, all the money lost in tax, the Euro would definitely collapse then...

:p

gorfield wrote: »

lol,

you were not too busy yourself.

What if the guy who is pulling a sickie is a smoker too.

I remember doing a course with a couple of Americans, they were giving out about the time keeping ,

This Irish lad about 20 stone turned around and said " It's not my fault I have to have a smoke and a crap every break". :o:D

Sorry , back to golf.

Lol get you..he asked for reccomendations on a course at the minute not your opinion on sick days. Who gives a fook if you have never rang in sick some people on these boards really need to get a grip.

He brought the 'sick' issue up in his title ,not me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭Borisss

Deary me.

Maybe the OP works for NAMA?

Did you have steam coming out of your ears whilst writing this?

Nah, I'm a remarkably cool contrarian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭link_2007

It's funny to think of all the people arguing in this thread, meanwhile the OP is happy as strolling around a golf course.

link_2007 wrote: »
    It's funny to think of all the people arguing in this thread, meanwhile the OP is happy as strolling around a golf course.
    yep, remember when this forum used be about golf ah that brings me back!!!
    i'd ask for a 3 wood recommendation, but would prob get some ass talking about importing goods from the Uk via the internet while irish shops are going to the wall, oh and don't use UPS or the like to get it delievered use AN Post so it will help the state body.
    (by the way i work in a large mulit-national)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭stringy

won't someone think of the children

He brought the 'sick' issue up in his title ,not me.

And you had a coniption about a person you dont even know pulling a sicky, weird.

Let's go for a mulled cider while the mods lock this, not festive...

k.p.h wrote: »

Next you'll be telling us you know people in Victorian workhouses and debtors prison. Bad cut and paste of old Siptu press releases imho