Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Camping....whats the dealio?

• 20-12-2011 8:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭

Hi all. I only started online gaming a few months ago. I am loving it so far but one thing that annoys me is when gamers start effing and blinding down their mikes roaring abuse at campers. Is this not a form of legitimate gameplay or is there some unwritten rule that I don't know about that forbids it? I don't camp as a rule per se but I love ffa and when I come up against gamers who are clearly better than me I tend to go camping maybe halfway thru the game to try pick up some kills at least. The english seem pretty handy at dishing out the abuse.... Am I missing something here? Again I would like to reiterate that I don't practise camping as such...I prefer to try and just get better at headshots etc. I have been hit many times though by campers and sometimes I take my hat off to them if its a great long range shot or ingenius hiding place. Maybe I am too nice about it...?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

Hi all. I only started online gaming a few months ago. I am loving it so far but one thing that annoys me is when gamers start effing and blinding down their mikes roaring abuse at campers. Is this not a form of legitimate gameplay or is there some unwritten rule that I don't know about that forbids it? I don't camp as a rule per se but I love ffa and when I come up against gamers who are clearly better than me I tend to go camping maybe halfway thru the game to try pick up some kills at least. The english seem pretty handy at dishing out the abuse.... Am I missing something here? Again I would like to reiterate that I don't practise camping as such...I prefer to try and just get better at headshots etc. I have been hit many times though by campers and sometimes I take my hat off to them if its a great long range shot or ingenius hiding place. Maybe I am too nice about it...?!
    If you camp, you are cheating, simple as. The same way if you shoot someone from behind, from infront of their face, using a killstreak, working as a team, running and gunning or basically killing them before they kill you. The only way the other players will see you as not a cheat is if you get a k/d ratio of 0/100.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

I think you're confusing camping with tactically playing

'Camping' is when someone just sits in a corner without moving, I think what you were experiencing was kids getting butt hurt because they were getting killed :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Tallon wrote: »

'Camping' is when someone just sits in a corner without moving, I think what you were experiencing was kids getting butt hurt because they were getting killed :)
    Next you'll be calling it constructive camping ;)

Bitch campers who don't contribute to the team unless its TDM or FFA should be fecked off, nothing as worse as only having 2 people in your team doing positive things where as the other 3 sitting in a corner with a baby monitor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭opinionated3

gcgirl wrote: »

Bitch campers who don't contribute to the team unless its TDM or FFA should be fecked off, nothing as worse as only having 2 people in your team doing positive things where as the other 3 sitting in a corner with a baby monitor
    So its acceptable in ffa mode but not in team based games? That sounds fair enough to me but does it justify all the name calling and foul language? Not a prude by any stretch of the imagination but just play the game......you know what I mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

So its acceptable in ffa mode but not in team based games? That sounds fair enough to me but does it justify all the name calling and foul language? Not a prude by any stretch of the imagination but just play the game......you know what I mean?

Doesn't really matter what you do you are going to get people shouting abuse over the mic at you, I got dogs abuse off some lad from the north yesterday for using a spas on a 3bar in a ffa. I think it's hilarious for the most part but if it bothers you just mute them. Give an angry teenager anonymity and a microphone and this is what you get.

All you should be focused on doing is winning the game you are playing whatever mode that may be, only legitimate complaints about camping is where someone is hiding somewhere out of the way trying to boost their kill/death ratio in a game type like domination where the rest of the team are trying to win the game and struggling to do it because they are effectively a man down in their attempts to capture/defend flags or plant bombs or whatever the objective is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,554 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Oh the innocence of it all ;)

You see, at the moment you are mentally stable... the language and reaction from others in the game appear over the top, excessive and childish.. and you'd be right.

However, give it another month or two, and with the poor hit detection, spawn system, lag, disconnects, noob-tubers etcetera the game will grind you down.. and your loved ones will see you transform from this...

The-Better-Gamer.jpg

to this...

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRzU4S8AMqfVThgLG8YB2smDeP213g2zxyOajbb_waaqv6k-EJ18ASD40uWPQ

You have been warned ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭NinjaK

I dont know how people have the patience to camp in a corner, its pathetic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

I think anyone who even mouths the word "camper" should do a stint in the infantry by law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭minotour

Ive seen this too and yes, predominantly English blokes and they get ratty. Its a matter of perception.....consider this.

Im heading along a wall, Ive a UAV up, enemy team doesnt. I can see a lad sauntering along towards the same corner as I from the other direction. pretty sure he doesnt know im there thus i drop down and blow his f00kin head off as he comes around the corner.

Now from his persepective, depending on when the killcam kicks in, he may just see me lying there waiting for any auld twonk thus he gets ratty and calls me a camper

But In my opinion ive done nothing wrong other than play the game better than him. Ive said it before, as long as you displace after the kill, especially when sniping its not camping.

But yes there are lots of campers on MW3, more than in previous versions for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭Chochese

What about playing sniper? Surely by the very nature of being a sniper you conceal yourself, take the shot (maybe 2 or 3) then feck off to another spot with your Skorpion out?

I play this way whenever I snipe, and wouldn't see it as camping but the abuse I get can be unreal at times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭minotour

Chochese wrote: »
    What about playing sniper? Surely by the very nature of being a sniper you conceal yourself, take the shot (maybe 2 or 3) then feck off to another spot with your Skorpion out?

I play this way whenever I snipe, and wouldn't see it as camping but the abuse I get can be unreal at times!

I was playing Seatown or Seacamp or whatever its called recently, Sabotage, a good game in progress, plenty of back and forth. In the house at the back left of the map theres a guy "camped" for want of a better word. He is using a barett and he is sh1t hot with it. No matter what direction i took he popped me before i could look down my sights. In this instance id say he wasnt a strict camper as he made it quite clear he was staying there and the challenge was to try and get him before he got you, he was also protecting his base site and doing it well i might add.

Id say he got me 20/3 in the end but i enjoyed every bit of it as it was skillful, so again, its a matter of perception.

minotour wrote: »
    Ive seen this too and yes, predominantly English blokes and they get ratty. Its a matter of perception.....consider this.

Im heading along a wall, Ive a UAV up, enemy team doesnt. I can see a lad sauntering along towards the same corner as I from the other direction. pretty sure he doesnt know im there thus i drop down and blow his f00kin head off as he comes around the corner.

Now from his persepective, depending on when the killcam kicks in, he may just see me lying there waiting for any auld twonk thus he gets ratty and calls me a camper

But In my opinion ive done nothing wrong other than play the game better than him. Ive said it before, as long as you displace after the kill, especially when sniping its not camping.
    thats exactly what I do when I am getting swamped in ffa....try to suss out where lads are coming from, take them out and displace. As you said depends on what he sees in the killcam....and if he doesn't like it the abuse begins....ridiculous

No it's because I never play those 2 modes and I'm far too lady like to shout profanities at some randomer, I just go back with my shaw and blast them out then say bless you child :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

People are going to play the game the way they want to play it .
    Camping in ffa imo is a waste of time , I've never seen anyone win a game of ffa by camping .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

its so broad a term its hard to judge, laying on the floor pointing a gun at a door hoping someone runs in= camping. hanging around a flag or capture point making sure you take out anyone that tries to take it= tactical.

fcuk it just play the game whatever way you want, anything you do no matter how legit someone will have an issue with. people lose the rag over nothing on these games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,411 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

krudler wrote: »
    its so broad a term its hard to judge, laying on the floor pointing a gun at a door hoping someone runs in= camping. hanging around a flag or capture point making sure you take out anyone that tries to take it= tactical.

fcuk it just play the game whatever way you want, anything you do no matter how legit someone will have an issue with. people lose the rag over nothing on these games.

I rage against people who are doing nothing worse than employing tactics I regularly use myself..... go figure?
    "Fk you u ACR wielding noob!" Reloads own ACR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

gimli2112 wrote: »
    I rage against people who are doing nothing worse than employing tactics I regularly use myself..... go figure?
    "Fk you u ACR wielding noob!" Reloads own ACR

ha yeah "ak74u's are overpowered and noobish!"
    *checks battle record thingy, most used gun? ak74u *
    "oh only because everyone else uses it"
    shenanigans!

I've pretty much stopped caring how I die in COD these days, you could be using a handgun strategically moving around cover, shoot someone in the face fair and square and people will still decry your play style.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

First rule of FFA is to mute everyone.
    krudler wrote: »
    its so broad a term its hard to judge, laying on the floor pointing a gun at a door hoping someone runs in= camping.

This. This is camping in my book. Some people spend the game sitting/lying in a room pointing their gun at a door. Must be a boring way to play the game.
    People that do it never get a good score either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,752 ✭✭✭Bohrio

It really depends on who you are playing against.

I have been called a camper because I killed a guy rushing into my spawn while I was also rushing to their spawn... I killed him right in the open and he still called me a camper.

Sometimes they call me a camper because while I run to their position I can hear them coming and I prone waiting for them to pop out...

They dont bother me too much in Search, can't say anythign about other game modes as I dont play them. If someone is camping at their spawn I might rush the first time and get killed, but trust me I wont make the same mistake again, next round I will camp right beside their spawn and wait for him/them to come out (if I am defending) or plant the bomb (if I am plating) and force them to come out of their hiding spot.

Of course good campers can be very annoying specially if the person camping is pretty good and has positioned himself behind something aiming down a path or door waiting for people to come through. This can be very frustrating when everyone in the team is doing it but is possible to counter by using, for example, recon and throwing stunts/flash grenades...

This often happens when playing against an organize team. I find it really boring (for both sides) as I dont see how that can be challenging to them... you dont see them doing it when they are playing against another team or even on game battles (4v4 or 2v2) so in the end, all they want is to get easy kills and increase they KD ratio... sad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭TheLynx

I like to tactically camp in houses with my acr and heartbeat sensor, motion sensor and bouncing betty, I go positive all games and get MOABS ocassionally

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭NinjaK

TheLynx wrote: »
    I like to tactically camp in houses with my acr and heartbeat sensor, motion sensor and bouncing betty, I go positive all games and get MOABS ocassionally

wow I want to be you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

TheLynx wrote: »
    All the ladies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭bush

Mute everyone. Play the game the way you want, you paid for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 720 ✭✭✭DrGreenthumb

the best moaners are the ones that call you a camper but every time i kill them there camping themselfs really makes me laugh,

i like to head to a bottleneck hold it down get some kills then reposition in another area so when they come looking your either gone or in a differant spot but kill them in the same area, drives them mad, but mostly i run and gun gets boaring sitting around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭matt-dublin

just do what i do, when aprinting through a door jum in the air while spinnin towards the potential camping location, if someones there they're generally poinging waste high but you know where theyre gonna be at so then youre in a better position!!

sprint, jump, spin, shoot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Noob tubes piss me off more than campers but they are both annoying.

Took to sniping today got the 1 bullet 2 deaths sniper emblem black skull yoke did not even realize and I killed 10 on the trot sometimes I outdo myself :)

PS or Xbox?

PS or Xbox?
    Ps3

PS or Xbox?
    Ps3
    Actually managed to get that myself too on the ps3. Can't remember when I managed to do it but not complaining. Anyone else notice a drop in the s##t talk actually since mw3 came out? Plenty of Mikes on....but very little chatter.

PS or Xbox?
    Ps3
    Actually managed to get that myself too on the ps3. Can't remember when I managed to do it but not complaining. Anyone else notice a drop in the s##t talk actually since mw3 came out? Plenty of Mikes on....but very little chatter.
    The only people I have heard have been squeaky lil 10 yr oldsand a few twits, my own head set broke just before Xmas and I'm saving for a decent pair , as soon as they start talking crap the mute button is a brill invention. Strangely I'm really enjoying the game more so even with drop zone, had a lot of problems connection wise with Blops not so much with mw2 but looking forward to the new content

the brit ten year olds are hillarious, they go mad when you kill them..

the older lads when they get killed are just like "oh..."

ha ha, gotta love the little ragers.

the brit ten year olds are hillarious, they go mad when you kill them..

the older lads when they get killed are just like "oh..."

ha ha, gotta love the little ragers.
    I let my 7 yr old play with me he was more in to zombies on Blops and WAW but he is such a rager I don't know if it's a lil guy thing but it's so funny he was nearly in tears one time

Loads a kids into zombies? I can't figure it out, I prefer killing people...

*** look back at last comment and realizes he sounds psychotic...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭Socialist_Pig

I let my 7 yr old play with me he was more in to zombies on Blops and WAW but he is such a rager I don't know if it's a lil guy thing but it's so funny he was nearly in tears one time

I have a nine yr old and he is mad about zombies.He's fairly handy at mw3.He doesnt camp thank god:D

I've decided i'll stop him playing CoD when I catch him torturing animals....till then I let him rage away:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

I hate people who crap on about 'camping' :P ... 3 things come to mind about it:

1, Its a poxy video game!
    2, If a player wants to sit and wait for other players then thats just their way of playing. (Sure if a camping player kills you, just respawn and kill him. you know where he is)
    3, I've never heard of a soldier in the real world call an enemy a "cheater" for camping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

Ah, the nostalgia.

It wouldn't be CoD if there weren't uptight mouthy morons with no sense of perspective or humour shouting "fockink nuub campaz" in an East European accent after every game.