Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Local Fox

• 19-12-2011 11:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭

A few weeks ago I had the opportunity to go out lamping in Tipperary with a few of the cousins and their mates.

I was surprised to see that they had a shot every fox that dared show its eyes.

I asked if they knew the local fox.

They found this amusing, I found it concerning.

In the old days, when I was home full time, I would often be called to ambush a fox after a night's carnage.

In all the foxes taken, rarely did we ever catch the local dominant fox mucking with the chickens or sheep. Almost exclusively, the problems were caused by passers through.

So I am wondering if anyone out there has noticed similar behavior and whether their shooting habits take this into consideration.

One of the cousins who has a farm still thinks the idea is ridiculous. He shoots everything, always, and all ways.

For some reason, he ends up having to shoot more than anyone else. By comparison, any of the farms where I spared the local lad, rarely had problems. Especially, when Charlie was able to hold his own territory.

Has anyone else noticed the same or did we just somehow condition the local dominant fox?

If you haven't, consider getting to know the local fox and doing a bit of an experiment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭crackcrack30

I suppose all fox's are local to somewhere:confused:.

or ? are ther some 'travler' foxes knocking around :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

FISMA wrote: »
    If you haven't, consider getting to know the local fox and doing a bit of an experiment.

No thanks, tried it before and it proved a prohibitively expensive experiment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

I tried a few experiments once with the local fox. Unfortunately so did half the town! We were all scratchin for days after......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Devil in disguise.

sorry fisma, but the best local fox i seen was a dead one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

This thread isn't going well!

Thanks for the laugh longRanger, I needed that!

last edit
    still laughing

No probs;) pity it's not a joke though! :embarrassed: :D
    Mind you, you can get cream for anything these days:*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Longranger wrote: »
    No probs;) pity it's not a joke though! :embarrassed: :D
    Mind you, you can get cream for anything these days:*

A cream for the mange, jaysus, what next :D

johngalway wrote: »
    A cream for the mange, jaysus, what next :D

All you have to do is change one letter in one word and this thread sinks to a whole new low! Anyway, back to charlie:eek:;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

you are working on the' don't **** on your own doorstep principle ' unfortunately foxes don't subscribe to the principal, in my experience the local fox is as likely to be the culprit as the next lad local or not ,
    what can happen is that a pair will defend and maintain a territory therefore keep others out and by removing one or both of the pair opens the floodgates so to speak .
    i shot nearly 30 foxes in a month of a 700 acre place bordered by a river to try to stop lamb losses one spring .in the end i shot a big old lad with stumps of teeth with a back like a concrete block one afternoon, i reckon he was the local crime boss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

I theres always a dominant one around, up my way i have been after one for close to a year:mad: pops up now and then. last time i missed the fecker running for a chicken but gave him a war wound in the tune of half an ear:D He stays well away from the neighbors chickens now which roam around the field next to the house, watched him one day sitting watching them but he never ventured near them:confused: im sure the little fecker was watching me toooo:mad:

Since our encounter in the field he from what ive seen and the neighbors told me stays on the boundaries during the day and at night i haven't lamped him so not sure. Havent had a chicken go missing in well over a year either:confused:

There's a spot near my place where dozens of foxes have been shot over the last year or two,and every time we go out we see the same big dog fox with a dark patch on his back. he's a cute hoor that's for certain:cool::cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

i dont discriminate i shoot at any fox that presents a shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭FOXHUNTER1

I suppose all fox's are local to somewhere:confused:.

Would ye buy a new gate for yer chicken run sir :D:D:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭fish slapped

Any fox at any time... thats my way. I don't stop to look for I.D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭vixdname

I've definitely seen a few of them around, you'd know them a mile away, heres a few pointers in their identification:

A;/ They have the tips of their red hair bleached a kind of pissy yellow

B:/ They hunt in packs but are spineless on their own

C./ They have a wicked stench of urine off them

D./ They're very opportunistic hunters and will take advantage of any hen house or shed that may be open and lastly

E./ Unlike normal foxes, the traveller foxes strangely seems to prefer mating with their own siblings in the family unit rather then looking for a mate outside their own gene pool.
    This often results in these foxes having lower IQs then most normal foxes, having cross eyes and having a penchant for having spontaneous rows with other family units within an area.

Hope this info helps !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Vizzy

vixdname wrote: »
    I've definitely seen a few of them around, you'd know them a mile away, heres a few pointers in their identification:

D./ They're very opportunistic hunters and will take advantage of any hen house or shed that may be open and lastly

E./ Unlike normal foxes, the traveller foxes strangely seems to prefer mating with their own siblings in the family unit rather then looking for a mate outside their own gene pool.
    This often results in these foxes having lower IQs then most normal foxes, having cross eyes and having a penchant for having spontaneous rows with other family units within an area.

Hope this info helps !

Yeah I noticed these traits as well
    I also found that they normally have a lot more young than the average fox.
    Friend also told me that they are much more lamshy as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭customrifle

Vizzy wrote: »

Hope this info helps !

Yeah I noticed these traits as well
    I also found that they normally have a lot more young than the average fox.
    Friend also told me that they are much more lamshy as well.

Swear to god boys, yer discriminating against the foxy community :D

For f*#k sake fellas,has haven't we enough trouble with the antis! That's all we need, hunters turning on an "ethnic minority". Say what ye want and give out you if ye will, but don't we have enough bad press as it is! Cop on lads, things are tough enough already without the clueless majority thinking we're now racist as well as cruel! We know ourselves that we aren't,but one poxy tabloid report is enough to fcuk it up for us!!!!
    Just my 2c
    LR

For f*#k sake fellas,has haven't we enough trouble with the antis! That's all we need, hunters turning on an "ethnic minority". Say what ye want and give out you if ye will, but don't we have enough bad press as it is! Cop on lads, things are tough enough already without the clueless majority thinking we're now racist as well as cruel! We know ourselves that we aren't,but one poxy tabloid report is enough to fcuk it up for us!!!!
    Just my 2c
    LR
    Wat trouble have we had? Name me one thing that the boogymen have done to scare u ? Is there an anti hiding down the end of the garden waiting for u, for God's sakes u call them "antis" hahhahahaaha don't even know who they are

What the hell are ya on about lad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭jmrc

The best local fox ...........is a dead one .....!

Spunk84 wrote: »
    Just my 2c
    LR
    Wat trouble have we had? Name me one thing that the boogymen have done to scare u ? Is there an anti hiding down the end of the garden waiting for u, for God's sakes u call them "antis" hahhahahaaha don't even know who they are

Well said Spunk84, Longranger your post or should I call frantic outburst was very Simpsonesque, you know when in the Simpsons, something small happens but the whole town starts to spontaneously run riot, burn buildings and scream their heads off.

Your outburst would have done more to highlight our posts then anything else.
    The mods know what can be posted or not and dont require your input,.thats whats called back seat modding I believe.

If I were you I'd have a beer, a smoke or pop a chill pill and see posts for what they are, a.bit of jest amongst a group of adults, you'd hear worse in any pub any night.

Dont be letting the dark hooded figure lurking in your gun safe known as the anti bother you so much lad, because they arent bothered about you that much

Probably had too many beers when I wrote that sh!te. Chill pill taken:o! BTW,sorry Vix & Spunk:o;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭crackcrack30

Just my 2c
    LR

best laugh ive had on here for a while........:D

Probably had too many beers when I wrote that sh!te. Chill pill taken:o! BTW,sorry Vix & Spunk:o;)
    Still love u too LR

Aww, the spirit of christmas is alive and well. By that, I mean me getting pissed and talking out of my arse.;) thanks to ye all for tolerating my inane drivel.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭kakashka

Aww, the spirit of christmas is alive and well. By that, I mean me getting pissed and talking out of my arse.;) thanks to ye all for tolerating my inane drivel.......
    Dont know Longranger..while you may have been pissed IMO there is some merit in what you said

Anytime Longranger !!!! We all have our off days, have a great Xmas !!!

kakashka wrote: »
    Dont know Longranger..while you may have been pissed IMO there is some merit in what you said

Get back in your box, lets not drag this out any more then it already has :rolleyes:

Anytime Longranger !!!! We all have our off days, have a great Xmas !!!

Thanks Vix,you too dude;)

Get back in your box, lets not drag this out any more then it already has :rolleyes:
    Now............ just coz you live in a box

Now now now, there's nothing wrong with being stuck in a nice box...

Oops! Here I go again! Sorry all!

Bet mine's nicer than yours,i've got alloys on mine:D:D

Now............ just coz you live in a box

Albeit a large one

You really have a mind like a sewer !!!! I love it !!!:D

Sick minds think alike !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

Why do people shoot foxes?!

Dermighty wrote: »

Because they taste great with some father beans and a nice bottle of Chianti

fufufufufufufufufufufufufuf

I'm too slow :(
    Because they taste great with some father beans and a nice bottle of Chianti

fufufufufufufufufufufufufuf
    They do?????

[QUOTE=kakashka;76152702
    They do?????[/QUOTE]

Hell yeah, nothing like a nice bit of slow roasted vixen thigh wrapped in Fox ears and marinated in scent gland gravy, the father beans and Chianti really compliment the overall culinary experience

Dermighty might be on to something here,why not catch them and fatten em up like they do with dogs in Vietnam:cool:

Was in Vietnam in the 90s, didnt really like their dog burgers or slow roasts, there was a bit of a weird tang off the meat.
    Fox meat doesnt go well with rice either !!!

Was in Vietnam in the 90s, didnt really like their dog burgers or slow roasts, there was a bit of a weird tang off the meat.
    Trick is probably- Chianti first:D

Hahaha yep along with during and after !

Dermighty wrote: »

Cos foxes can't shoot people!

wouldnt be too sure about that hahahahhaa

fox_shooting_fail_by_ajbob-d325mg4.jpg

LMAO! Feckin brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭ssl

0d8194cc.jpg

Im told this is the local fox of Tipperary golf club. I hear he's bad on the drink tho :)