Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

time for bangernomics car change

• 19-12-2011 2:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭

hi all

back in march i brought a 94 golf tdi with 2 years 3 months test. what a cracker of a car, put 8k miles on it since then and ill Ive had done is a recon alternator.

luckily i now have a van for work and the poor golf is only been used by the other half to go to the shops.

so the plan is to sell it and get a small engined petrol for her.

thinking of a fiesta/focus.

any ideas??

budget would be whatever i can get for the golf +500e

any ideas?? .............

I'd keep the Golf tbh :)
    Devil you know and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭Alfagtamini

RoverJames wrote: »
    I'd keep the Golf tbh :)
    Devil you know and all that.

thanks James, that would a smart move but i just cant justify the tax, its over the 600e mark now thanks to the budget.
    car has gone only 10-20 miles in last 2 weeks:(

I was thinking it was perhaps tax rate related, in that case changing to a 1.4 wouldn't save too much, €358 as opposed to €626, the €500 budget to change covers that for the next two years.

If you are changing I reckon a 1.0 Ibiza or Polo may be an option, €185 to tax them and they won't use much fuel, probably as safe if not more so than the Golf too :)

Factor in an NCT for the new yoke if it's due over the next 12 months and you might be spending a few quid though.

A 1.25 Fiesta or a 1.2 Bravo/Brava might suit too :)
    I dunno what your Golf would fetch though, you should get most of your own money back anyway.

I was thinking it was perhaps tax rate related, in that case changing to a 1.4 wouldn't save too much, €358 as opposed to €626, the €500 budget to change covers that for the next two years.

If you are changing I reckon a 1.0 Ibiza or Polo may be an option, €185 to tax them and they won't use much fuel, probably as safe if not more so than the Golf too :)

Factor in an NCT for the new yoke if it's due over the next 12 months and you might be spending a few quid though.

the golf just got in before the one year nct rule thank god!. :)
    when you break it down like that holding on to the golf is probably a good idea.
    ill put a swap , p/x add on adverts and done deal and see what comes of it.

its crazy that to tax it for a year costs more than the value of the car, you can only laugh;)

I'm in the same boat with the ZT ish :(

A 1.25 Fiesta or a 1.2 Bravo/Brava might suit too :)
    I dunno what your Golf would fetch though, you should get most of your own money back anyway.

fiesta would be the number one choice. i wont be driving it so style/ speed doesn't matter:D

I'm in the same boat with the ZT ish :(
    reminds me of my old 2.4jtd 156. only in Ireland.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

I think there's great value in Mazda Demios. OK, it's a bad sign when a Fiesta is "cooler" looking, but I'd definitely consider one if the budget was very limited.

langdang wrote: »
    I think there's great value in Mazda Demios. OK, it's a bad sign when a Fiesta is "cooler" looking, but I'd definitely consider one if the budget was very limited.

just showed herself a picture of one. just got that do and die look :p

great value though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

just showed herself a picture of one. just got that do and die look :p
    Yes, I know that look! I got it from the last person I suggested a Demio to :( I presume that also rules out a Panda.
    They are both on the list of cars I'm never to turn up with. Transit vans are also verboten, as are MX5s.

langdang wrote: »
    Yes, I know that look! I got it from the last person I suggested a Demio to :( I presume that also rules out a Panda.
    They are both on the list of cars I'm never to turn up with. Transit vans are also verboten, as are MX5s.

yep panda's are also a no no :rolleyes:

looks like the hunt is on for a fiesta!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

A Starlet would probably be more reliable

No NCT on this one but looks like a winner
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2815522

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Reliable defo,but I wouldnt like to have a crash in a Starlet it would fold like a chinese bicycle.

starlets were good craic but as lightning said there not very safe :o

ill have a look at the punto's. i drove one recently with 145k on clock, was still tight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Puntos are beasts....once you mind them,mind. Easy to work on and a great car to learn how to service yourself etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭dan hibiki

what about a yaris? failing that id deff go for a polo/ibiza. :)

dan hibiki wrote: »
    what about a yaris? failing that id deff go for a polo/ibiza. :)
    another 3 good suggestions thanks. from looking on donedeal they seem to attract a price premium over a fiesta or punto. Going to wash the golf today take some pictures and put her up on donedeal for sale, p/x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Soarer

Pm me the details of the golf like a good man.

The buddy is looking for something cheap.

Soarer wrote: »
    Pm me the details of the golf like a good man.

The buddy is looking for something cheap.

pm sent!!