Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chances of catching HIV

• 16-12-2011 9:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12

what are the chances of catching HIV from unprotected heterosexual sex from a male in the west of ireland? im really scared of this disease and i dont want to have it i think im panicking over it.. i just need statistics.. oh and were both irish nationals if thats anything got to do with anything and non drug users. and do they check for hiv in the hospital when you go for blood tests anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭greenprincess

Google stat's. It would be extremly rate that you would have contracted it. In future just use a condom save yourself the worry!! You can get a free STI test, but HIV has a 3 month 'window' where it might not show on a test.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 934 ✭✭✭C-J

Does the male in question have hiv? Please remember that HIV and aids are NOT the same thing. Aids is the fourth stage of hiv, and not everyone who has hiv will develop aids. There are over 30million people in the world living with hiv, and while there is no 'cure', it can be managed with drugs. Yes, hiv can be transmitted through unprotected sex. The first symptoms may include flu like symptoms, but asymptomatic for up to ten years or so, usually people do not know they are infected. In ireland there is now a 'rapid hiv test' available in some clinics which involves a prick test or swab, if you are worried its very quick and results are available within 20mins. If you are very very worried and have been exposed in the last 72 hrs, go to a&e and ask for Pep (post exposure prophylaxis) which is an emergency treatment which prevents infection being established in the bloodstream. Please ask if you need to know anymore i know its a sensitive topic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 pickaboo

oh my gosh.. i have a boyfriend of 4 years, its a really long story but basically i woke up to a guy on top of me at a house party he finished by the time i was waking up.. this was ages ago i put it to the back of my mind well tried to but now for some reason hiv keeps popping into my mind i think cos its the worst thing u could get and im deadly scared of it.. i was admitted into hospital 2 weeks ago as usual they took blood tests but do they check for hiv??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭Janet1986

Pickaboo i'm sorry to say this but you were raped!

You should have went to the gards straight away.

God only knows how many other girls this scumbag will do that to!

Jesus the men out there these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 934 ✭✭✭C-J

Hiv isn't the worst thing you can get believe me. Only a very very small minority actually go on to get aids, living with hiv is totally managable, due to drug intervention in the last few years you can live a totally normal life. The chances of you contracting hiv are very slim but i would ask to be tested or for your gp to refer you on. I don't think its routinely tested for but am open to correction on that. On another note have you ever talked to anybody about being raped? I think that you are so focused on hiv that you haven't dealt with the enormity of what happened to you

its not something that I want either.. I have a boyfriend who i love who treats me great to tell you the truth how am i supposed to say to him i gave him a disease if i did.. oh and sorry i didnt say thank you..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭gypsy_rose

Pickaboo, the worry over this can literally drive you insane. It is very, very unlikely that you contracted HIV, but you should really get tested as soon as you can just to put the worry out of your mind.

As far as I know, if you give blood and you have HIV they will notify you, I think the same goes for if you get blood tests but I can't guarantee that.

Please get yourself tested for your own peace of mind. I know you're worried you may have given it to your boyfriend too, but that's something you should worry about after you get tested, break down one worry at a time, most likely you don't have it at all and therefore don't have to worry that you gave it to him.

The next thing you should do is get some counselling or talk to someone you trust about the sexual assault, I'm guessing all of this is building up in your head right now and driving you nuts, so like I say, break it down and take one mode of action at a time, the first being get yourself tested. I hope you're OK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 974 ✭✭✭BarackPyjama

Janet1986 wrote: »
    Jesus the men out there these days.

Lovely attitude. Rape and misandry are as bad as each other, just so you know.

OP - the chances are very slim that you would have contracted HIV. However, it's worth getting tested for HIV as well as other STD's in light of what happened to you. Which, by the way, was horrible. You may want to talk to friends about it or possibly seek counseling to come to terms with it. Take care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Hey pickaboo

Good news - its very unlikely you would have caught HIV if he is a straight white irish non-IV drug user

Bad news - blood tests you got from the hospital will not check for HIV. You will always be informed if they are testing you for a disease like HIV/hep C etc

This fear will not go away. You need to bite the bullet and just get it checked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,830 ✭✭✭✭Taltos

OP

please go to the Gardai and make a complaint.
    Also - please go and seek a full screening for HIV.

Make sure you tell someone, this is not something anyone should carry alone with them. Also when you tell your BF (assuming here) make sure that he doesn't react and make a bad situation worse - hence work this through the gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭Miaireland

I'm so sorry what happened to you.

Pickaboo, it is very unlikely that you that you have contracted HIV but it is important to get a test done.

More than likely you were not tested for HIV when your bloods were taken in the hospital although your GP could always ring the lab for you and check.

Make an appointment to see your GP on Monday. Explain what happened and ask that they carry out a STD check for you.

ohhh thank you guys sooo much, i have a test booked for wednesday.. *fingers crossed* i actually tried teling my bf and he thought that it was sick that I could make up a story that sounds really believable also the next day after that incident with the other guy, i told my bf i didnt go to the house party i just kinda wanted to forget it. thank you again everyone..

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

pickaboo wrote: »
    ohhh thank you guys sooo much, i have a test booked for wednesday.. *fingers crossed* i actually tried teling my bf and he thought that it was sick that I could make up a story that sounds really believable also the next day after that incident with the other guy, i told my bf i didnt go to the house party i just kinda wanted to forget it. thank you again everyone..

Your boyfriend is an ass. You tell him that you were raped and he thought you were making it up??? What kind of an idiot is he?

Please contact a rape crisis centre - you need that help to process it and come to terms with your feelings on this. It wont be possible to just forget about it, but with counselling it wil be possible to to deal with it properly.

he really isnt an ass, i think its more if he doesnt believe it than something like that never happened.. and really i do blame myself over it, i drank alot cos i wasnt out in ages and than i just went to be early cos i felt suddenly sick and went to sleep and than woke up to that.. maybe it was like i was given him a sign.. i dont know anyway whats done is done.. so anyway im still really panicky i go to bed with my heart racing and its like a whirlwind of emoions through the day.. im getting myself tested wedenesday anyway.. my bf also thinks im getting an anxiety disorder cos it runs in the family and basically he keeps asking what have i done to think that i have contracted hiv, so thats when i told him what happened, and he said "thats really sick that you can make up a story straightaway with believable details"!!!!! he just got angry than i said i was sorry for making it up..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭greenprincess

I'm sorry if my first post seemed harsh!! I didnt know the full story. You should stil go to the Garda even if it was a good while ago and it is NOT NOT NOT NOT NOT your fault!!!! You are free to drink as much as you want without some guy taking advantage of you when your asleep!!

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

he really isnt an ass, i think its more if he doesnt believe it than something like that never happened.. and really i do blame myself over it, i drank alot cos i wasnt out in ages and than i just went to be early cos i felt suddenly sick and went to sleep and than woke up to that.. maybe it was like i was given him a sign.. i dont know anyway whats done is done.. so anyway im still really panicky i go to bed with my heart racing and its like a whirlwind of emoions through the day.. im getting myself tested wedenesday anyway.. my bf also thinks im getting an anxiety disorder cos it runs in the family and basically he keeps asking what have i done to think that i have contracted hiv, so thats when i told him what happened, and he said "thats really sick that you can make up a story straightaway with believable details"!!!!! he just got angry than i said i was sorry for making it up..

An unconcious one? The facts are that you were asleep and not able to consent. That makes it a non consentual sexual act. A non-consentual sexual act is unwanted sexual assault. It would not matter if you had a sign around your neck, the fact is that this man forced himself on you, and you were not in a position to stop him at the time. Thats rape.

You try to confide in someone who is supposed to love you, yet he calls you sick and a liar. Then you backtracked and called yourself a liar instead. Defend him all you want but what he said to you was horrible.

Please please talk to someone impartial and non-judgemental, preferably a professional counseller or a trusted friend. Your boyfriend is about as useful as a chocolate teapot to you at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Elmidena

OP, you apologising for making something like that up isn't going to make things better; your boyfriend should be someone you can confide in after four years! You need a good support network around you and he needs to be on your side, not accusing you of making something like that up. He might have reasons for thinking your mind is getting carried away, but he needs to realise you're sincere. He was probably hurt that someone else was with you and you could be lying about it being non-consensual, but you need to talk to professionals such as rape counsellers; they won't be judgmental and it will ease your mind to be able to talk freely without being questioned. Best of luck with everything, but please remember that not one shred of this is your fault and nor did you invite it.

thank you so much everyone yer advice is incredible i feel more at ease knowing it will be only a very very small chance of contracting hiv.. but ill be having an sti test on wednesday :) id actually be happy if i contracted chlamydia at the moment in least its treatable and will go away.. its just alot of my friends have contracted sti's some sleep around, i think thats why im scared i could have got something but none got hiv.. so hopefully im not one of the unlucky ones.. also when i met my bf i was pure if u know what i mean i dont think he wants to think of someone else near me that away and especially the way it happened..

I'm sorry if my first post seemed harsh!! I didnt know the full story. You should stil go to the Garda even if it was a good while ago and it is NOT NOT NOT NOT NOT your fault!!!! You are free to drink as much as you want without some guy taking advantage of you when your asleep!!

your first comment wasnt harsh at all :) and thank you again for replying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

also when i met my bf i was pure if u know what i mean i dont think he wants to think of someone else near me that away and especially the way it happened..

That's neither here nor there now. It wasn't as if you chose for this to happen. You should be getting support from him, not feeling that you are in the wrong because of something that wasn't your fault.

Hi again, so i got a sti test done and not as bad as i thought it was going to be :P the doc basically said it'd be very very rare that i would have contracted hiv so all is good there and she said i shouldnt worry about it and call in 2 weeks for results :), so again thank you to everyone.. next step... counselling :) ahain everyone yer posts were very helpful :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭allovertheshop

I'm really sorry for what happened to you OP but you really need to talk to a professional about this whole situation, maybe mention it to the nurse when you are getting tested and she might be able to refer you to someone there and then.
    Please talk to someone because it will eat you up if you try to bottle it all inside.

from the rapae crisis centre webpage -

For support and information related to rape and sexual violence, please ring our National 24-hour Helpline:
    1 800 778 888.

so I went for the STI check but they only took swabs.. ALL IS CLEAR!!! but i said about HIV and she said oh dont worry about that be very very rare and she didnt even check.. so i think im all good?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭dearg lady

I'm a bit confused as to why she wouldn't check. I would insist upon it, to put your mind at ease. I had a full screening myself which included checking for HIV, I thought it would be fairly standard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

so I went for the STI check but they only took swabs.. ALL IS CLEAR!!! but i said about HIV and she said oh dont worry about that be very very rare and she didnt even check.. so i think im all good?

There's a separate test for HIV and they probably don't do it unless the person has been exposed to a genuinely risky situation (e.g being stabbed by a junkie with a blood-filled syringe).

What happened to you was very very low risk in terms of contracting HIV. Even if the guy who assaulted you was HIV-Positive your chances of contracting it from one sexual encounter like that would still be pretty slim (and it's most unlikely that he is). So you've nothing to worry about. You're far far more likely to catch something like chlamydia or gonnorhaea if you sleep around. So use protection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 childminderxx

There's a separate test for HIV and they probably don't do it unless the person has been exposed to a genuinely risky situation (e.g being stabbed by a junkie with a blood-filled syringe).
    Im sorry that was funny i can actually see someone running at me with a syringe filled with blood and now to all seriousness..
    OP- i wouldnt be too worried.. i know one of my sisters who slept basically with most of the town i come from (embarrassing i know) but she obv caught something (chlamydia to be exact) than she asked the docs of her chances of catching HIV basically they said it was very slim and there was no need of her to be tested which i thought was silly since she basically sleep with anyone without a condom!!
    im very sorry to hear what happened but you did the right thing to get tested :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭Warrior011

you can get blood taken for HIV testing at your GPs, that's what i did (I had to get it done for a summer work placement)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Perhaps I missed it but have you actually reported the rape? You have been attacked in the most invasive manner possible and you should not be feeling all this guilt and worry. You have not done anything wrong.

And your boyfriend is an ass. If he won't help, or even believe, you at such a hard time in your life then you can do much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

aidan24326 wrote: »

What happened to you was very very low risk in terms of contracting HIV. Even if the guy who assaulted you was HIV-Positive your chances of contracting it from one sexual encounter like that would still be pretty slim (and it's most unlikely that he is). So you've nothing to worry about. You're far far more likely to catch something like chlamydia or gonnorhaea if you sleep around. So use protection.

while the risk is low. They test people for HIV at the drop of a hat.

I find it very very odd a doctor testing somebody for STIs said there was no risk of HIV.
    I'm not calling the OP a liar - but that is fishy or the doctor is crap.

aidan24326 wrote: »

while the risk is low. They test people for HIV at the drop of a hat.

I find it very very odd a doctor testing somebody for STIs said there was no risk of HIV.
    I'm not calling the OP a liar - but that is fishy or the doctor is crap.
    well i didn't tell the doc what happened basically i just said i had unprotected sex with someone i didn't know etc and i wanted an sti test done tban i asked her about HIV than she ssid oh don't worry about that the chances of u catchin that is very rare and the sti test came out clear which very grateful for, so im sure i wouldn't have HIV

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

Hey OP,

I'm not sure just weighing up odds & assuming is the best course of action; if it's something that you are concerned about then go and get tested so you are absolutely certain and have one less worry to deal with.

All the very best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Hi again, so i got a sti test done and not as bad as i thought it was going to be :P the doc basically said it'd be very very rare that i would have contracted hiv so all is good there and she said i shouldnt worry about it and call in 2 weeks for results :), so again thank you to everyone.. next step... counselling :) ahain everyone yer posts were very helpful :)

Pikaboo, good to hear that it's going well.

Sadly, your boyfriend is an arsehole of the highest order. If my girlfriend/someone I am seening/friend, told me what you just said. I would be putting them in a car very quickly and bring them down the Garda station. It's ****ing sicking that people are still going around taking advantage of girls like this and your boyfriend to tell you that your fabricating a story about been raped ? Is this guy for real?

so I done a HIV home test, in my face there is one line which means negative!!! im sooo happy oh my god!! everyone thanks for your help and advice.. Negative Negative whoop whoop :)

please tell me you have gone to the Gardaí and the Rape Crisis Center. I'd also be hoping you've ditched the boyfriend and started looking for someone you can rely on in a time of need.

sure what can the guards do, its way too late for anything.. it happened in may!! in a house, with a guy i do not know! not his name where his from i really dont want to know either! what can they do with information like that!! but thank you so much :) everyone ye all have been a great help :)

They can find out who he is and arrest him and question him about it. Sure it will be your word against his but is it not worth trying to have him brought to justice?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Great news.
    Delighted it has been resolved for you.