Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mother speaks out after her Boy got hit in at DART Incident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

When you said "speaks out" I thought it was going to be a criticism of Irish Rail - can't see anything in the article that indicates this.

Tragic alright, but the bigger question is what 10yr old kids are doing travelling unaccompanied on the DART?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    Tragic alright, but the bigger question is what 10yr old kids are doing travelling unaccompanied on the DART?

He was with his sister.

Besides that children younger than 10 travel to and from school unaccomanpied all the time just fine. Hell, back when I was 5, I took the bus 7/8 miles to school unaccompanied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

The thread title was meant to have the word ''speaks out'' replaced with ''speaks of relief''. So, I apologise for the title being mislead here.

Having said that, the boy's mother could believe that she could speak out if the staff at Irish Rail were very much responsible for the incident to happen.

Seeing a DART coming in from the Connolly side is probably not invisible to the naked eye in that respect. Another idea could have been that the boy could have actually been looking the other way and then the train hits him.

There is, I feel that there are many sides to the story that do need to be addressed to the family of certain aspects of the incident that took place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Here is the article here to prove to observe it.

Having said that, the boy's mother could believe that she could speak out if the staff at Irish Rail were very much responsible for the incident to happen.

Seeing a DART coming in from the Connolly side is probably not invisible to the naked eye in that respect. Another idea could have been that the boy could have actually been looking the other way and then the train hits him.

There is, I feel that there are many sides to the story that do need to be addressed to the family of certain aspects of the incident that took place.

What point are you trying to make? :confused::confused::confused:

There not many sides to this story at all. Stop suggesting otherwise. It's really very simple. The boy was running for the train, tripped and fell under the moving train. That's from an eye witness. There is no suggestion at all that anybody in IR has any responsibility for what was a simple accident. The boy was very lucky too that there was a doctor and a nurse at the scene when it happened which may well have saved his leg.

Hope he makes a good recovery.

The point I was trying to make that at least the boy was lucky not to get himself killed. He is in hospital now and I hope he gets well soon. It is a very rare case that someone does hit by a train and to survive like he did.

To different circumstances It has happened at the same spot before.

We remember the tragedy in 2007 at Howth Junction of the girl who received her junior cert results, some time later she commits suicide after being hit a DART. She was only 15 years old at the time.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/priest-makes-passionate-plea-to-friends-as-suicide-teen-laid-to-rest-1081424.html

It is true that about the earlier post about the DART not visible from Connolly, If it wasn't well again apologies for the mistake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

From the report in the Herald it sounds like the kid fell down through the GAP as the dart was pulling into the station? surely it is up to Irish Rail then to make sure that the GAP between train and platform at all stations is not wide enough for a child to fall through because the next thing is they would be under the wheels.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

The thread title was meant to have the word ''speaks out'' replaced with ''speaks of relief''. So, I apologise for the title being mislead here.

She could also believe that Irish Rail staff acted quickly and helped saved his
    life. She could believe in aliens and that the moon landing was faked.

None of the above is in the article, so we are just making stuff up right? Your posts make absolutely no sense at all.

The point I was trying to make that at least the boy was lucky not to get himself killed. He is in hospital now and I hope he gets well soon. It is a very rare case that someone does hit by a train and to survive like he did.

To different circumstances It has happened at the same spot before.

We remember the tragedy in 2007 at Howth Junction of the girl who received her junior cert results, some time later she commits suicide after being hit a DART. She was only 15 years old at the time.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/priest-makes-passionate-plea-to-friends-as-suicide-teen-laid-to-rest-1081424.html

It is true that about the earlier post about the DART not visible from Connolly, If it wasn't well again apologies for the mistake.

Before your edit and in previous posts, you seem to be trying to get a dig in at IR. Maybe you are unaware of what happens in these tragedies and more importantly who cleans up the physical and psychological mess that is left afterwards. When I hear of these incidents my thoughts are with the deceased's family, the IR staff, especially the driver given how up close they are at the critical moment and the emergency services who help clear up. It's a trauma for them.

I know 1 driver who has been involved in 2 incidents and an ex-driver is a good mate of mine. The stories they have to tell are not pretty at all.
    foggy_lad wrote: »
    From the report in the Herald it sounds like the kid fell down through the GAP as the dart was pulling into the station? surely it is up to Irish Rail then to make sure that the GAP between train and platform at all stations is not wide enough for a child to fall through because the next thing is they would be under the wheels.

The gaps are needed for at least 2 reasons:
    • not all trains are made the same width
    • and they wobble from side-to-side so need the clearance given by the gap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,624 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

surely it is up to Irish Rail then to make sure that the GAP between train and platform at all stations is not wide enough for a child to fall through because the next thing is they would be under the wheels.

Why is it Irish Rail's fault if the child falls off the platform when the train is in the station? What about if the child falls off the platform and onto the track before the train arrives - who's fault is it then?

People have to accept responsibility for looking after their children. A train can't be made to run so close to the platform that nothing can pass between them.

At some stage we have to accept that parents and guardians are responsible for looking after children and pets that are capable of falling betwen the gap, let's stop blaming the train company when an unsupervised child falls off the platform, with or without a train standing in the station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

Am I the only one who is thinking that the OP has some vested interest from the point of view of the Independent newspaper/media group?

I do understand that the boy's mother is trying to tell us what exactly happened to the best of her ability. If she was on the train with her kids, it wouldn't have happened at all with certain care and attention, the boy would have been happy and healthy and living his life as normal.

But they are facing reality as it is now as it coming up to Christmas. That young boy will be treating the pain he suffered for the rest of his life and he and his family will have to live through that too, not minding the love and support from others.

The investigations from Irish Rail and the Rail Accident and Investigation Unit (RAIU) would give extra information on how it happened, which is something small by the way.

I only discovered this story after a bus enthusiast on a different forum told the story of the bus being stolen in Ringsend.

http://irishtransport.yuku.com/topic/3002/Re-Bus-Chase?page=-1#.TuvVeDXWOCc

My thread on the above story is located here
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056486165

I am not a journalist and had no intention to make the story sensational in any way. I am sorry again for doing that to anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭redved

``````````````````

'not invisible to the naked eye' - what are you talking about?
    Another idea could have been that the boy could have actually been looking the other way and then the train hits him.

Why does it matter which way you're looking? All you have to do is keep a few feet back from the edge of the platform and the train won't hit you, regardless of which way you're facing.

And is the train company responsible just because not everyone on the platform is facing in the direction of the incoming train?

Whatever that's supposed to mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

It's generally recognised that you stay behind the line until the train is stopped - that way if someone falls into the gap (which is necessary as tricky D pointed out), the train isn't moving.

If someone can't stay behind the line, then they shouldn't be traveling without a responsible adult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

I do understand that the boy's mother is trying to tell us what exactly happened to the best of her ability. It's she was on the train with her kids, it wouldn't have happened at all with certain intervention from the mother, the boy would have been happy and healthy and living his life as normal.

or he and his mother might have been both running for the train and both fallen under it, you never know...

what point are you trying to make exactly

The OP's desciption is seriously garbled, if you read the Herald article you'll see that the mother wasn't in the station and didn't witness the accident, she was waiting outside to pick up the lad and his sister.

I am very new to this. To be fair, I had thought that there was nothing wrong putting this story up on the forum. I view the Evening's Herald website very rarely, so, I realise that a story like this had come up out of the blue tonight.

I viewed the thread the previous week on boards, I had seen irish rail's twitter account earlier in the week that was a fatality in Malahide. Two incident's like that include trying to run a service fustrating as well.

If people young or old actually comply with the bye laws and Health & Safety Laws. That is a good thing, as it keeps the rail company and the passengers in a good state of mind.

Even in Blackrock recently, I had seen another young boy from a private school, who was around the same age the boy from Baldoyle, saying he wanted to run across the tracks and back just for the fun of it. You what the other boy's said, they had the brain and the cop on to actually say NO to him. Now what you say to that?

I didn't want this thread at any stage to be subjective. I didn't want to have any negative criticism, I just wanted to make a point across as best I can.

If any you understand that above, well then, that is fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,337 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

Am I the only one who is thinking that the OP has some vested interest from the point of view of the Independent newspaper/media group?

I do not have a lot of respect for indo staff but I am pretty sure even an Indo hack would write a more coherent post than the op

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

I do not have a lot of respect for indo staff but I am pretty sure even an Indo hack would write a more coherent post than the op

There are times when I'd be pushed to agree with you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

Always trying to find fault eh Foggy.

The train platform is the same as Tara Street. If you are getting the train between Kildare and Hueston on the KRP regularly you would hear on the platforms, "PLEASE STAND BACK BEHIND THE YELLOW LINE, TRAIN NOW APPROACHING".

Like this video at Adamstown

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5syfHIKftQ0&list=PL8AD6C9A14988FA63&context=C310a443ADOEgsToPDskKFSs4PJPL2fUhysXSz7tPm

What would you think of Irish rail having a sign to inform people of all ages that running is prohibited on all platforms? To be fair, the sign would be there to make the railways around the network a lot safer.

Even I have seen people in Blackrock on the street running for the train, they put themselves in double the danger because they could get hit by a bus as well.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

Was the mother waiting outside the station where the boy was injured, or at another station where the boy was supposed to arrive at? This line makes me think she was outside the station that he was getting off at
    "When he didn't come out of the station as usual and I heard the ambulance, I just knew the ambulance was for him," she said.

If he was getting off the train, then why would he be running for the train - that would make more sense if he was trying to get on a train which was just about to depart. And he didn't slip into the gap while alighting the train, because the article says "he slipped down into the gap between the platform and the moving train."

Apologies if I'm missing something!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

What would you think of Irish rail having a sign to inform people of all ages that running is prohibited on all platforms? To be fair, the sign would be there to make the railways around the network a lot safer.
    I think it'd be a stupid thing to do
    Even I have seen people in Blackrock on the street running for the train, they put themselves in double the danger because they could get hit by a bus as well.

by a bus driving up the footpath?:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭al28283

What a brave little young fella to go through that.

What is brave about being hit by a train? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

tricky D wrote: »
    He was with his sister.

Besides that children younger than 10 travel to and from school unaccomanpied all the time just fine. Hell, back when I was 5, I took the bus 7/8 miles to school unaccompanied.
    An 11yr old girl can hardly be called a 'responsible adult'.

I do realise that kids will have to make their own way to school - parents driving kids every morning causes enough havoc on the roads already.

(!Without knowing full details of what happened!) However if kids are running amok around trains and stations they probably should be accompanied.
    Was the mother waiting outside the station where the boy was injured, or at another station where the boy was supposed to arrive at? This line makes me think she was outside the station that he was getting off at
    "When he didn't come out of the station as usual and I heard the ambulance, I just knew the ambulance was for him," she said.

If he was getting off the train, then why would he be running for the train - that would make more sense if he was trying to get on a train which was just about to depart. And he didn't slip into the gap while alighting the train, because the article says "he slipped down into the gap between the platform and the moving train."

Apologies if I'm missing something!
    Yes, well spotted! If he was alighting the train the only possible explanation I can think of is that he was running alongside the departing train, banging on the window to his mates - not uncommon behaviour
    I don't think a sign is necessarily going to make things safer - educating children how to behave around railways might though. We don't have signs on pavements warning of the dangers posed by traffic.

al28283 wrote: »
    What is brave about being hit by a train? :confused:

There is a likely hood from timbuk2 OP that if the boy left the train, he would have his legs caught in the door first. Then he would have had his foot may have slipped in the between the door and the platform gap, the doors would have closed and he would have had his legs trapped in the legs trapped by the wheels and he was spinning around and around and around

The gardai and the RAIU would give extra evidence from any source that includes CCTV footage if there was a camera present at the station.

Even though that the boy would be brave to go through it, it also would be very painful for him too, May god love him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭al28283

There is a likely hood from timbuk2 OP that if the boy left the train, he would have his legs caught in the door first. Then he would have had his foot may have slipped in the between the door and the platform gap, the doors would have closed and he would have had his legs trapped in the legs trapped by the wheels and he was spinning around and around and around

The gardai and the RAIU would give extra evidence from any source that includes CCTV footage if there was a camera present at the station.

Even though that the boy would be brave to go through it, it also would be very painful for him too, May god love him.

I'm not sure you know what Brave means

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

What would you think of Irish rail having a sign to inform people of all ages that running is prohibited on all platforms?

Only if it's beside the sign saying "Do not choke on your own saliva while breathing".

There's a limit to how many useful signs can be placed around the place - the people who are too young/stupid to realise that moving trains may cause injury or death probably don't read the signs.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Even in Blackrock recently, I had seen another young boy from a private school, who was around the same age the boy from Baldoyle, saying he wanted to run across the tracks and back just for the fun of it. You what the other boy's said, they had the brain and the cop on to actually say NO to him. Now what you say to that?

Erm.. what? :confused: