Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Half the season gone

• 16-12-2011 5:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭

Well lads and lassie,

The season is at the half way point and wondering how all your bags are filling up.

I have 13 Snipe, 1 Pheasant and 1 Duck so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

Only one fallow buck,About 20 pheasant and 8 duck(from a scotland trip)and that little noisy field mouse in the kitchen..I`d say the mouse was the hardest to get...Bold little fecker..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

1 Duck + 1 Pheasant but am trying to get the Dog out at the weekend as well as she is only a young Dog so can't bring the Gun it's when you have her with you that the fecken Phesants are running everywhere ah well its next season I might have her with me hope she'll flush more out then.:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭declan1980

10 pheasants, 5 snipe, 2 mallard, 25 foxes, and 1 fallow doe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭kemen

9 pheasant,3 mallard,4 teal,2 widgeon,6 tufties and 17 foxes.. hope to get the first woodcock this w.end after 2 weeks of trying!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭patdahat

18 woodcock, 5 pheasants, 9 snipe, dog's just bursting out of thier skin this season.

declan1980 wrote: »
    10 pheasants, 5 snipe, 2 mallard, 25 foxes, and 1 fallow doe

Very good thats a great total especially the foxes,
    kemen wrote: »
    9 pheasant,3 mallard,4 teal,2 widgeon,6 tufties and 17 foxes.. hope to get the first woodcock this w.end after 2 weeks of trying!!!

Are these woodcock hard to get and well done good shooting
    patdahat wrote: »
    18 woodcock, 5 pheasants, 9 snipe, dog's just bursting out of thier skin this season.

Thats a brill amount of Birds no shortage for the Freezer well done also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,869 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Only got out once but managed 2 mallards back in October on a m8s permission in the West:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭kemen

Tawny Owl wrote: »
    Very good thats a great total especially the foxes,

Are these woodcock hard to get and well done good shooting

Thats a brill amount of Birds no shortage for the Freezer well done also

very poor turn out this year so far around me compared to last year! hopefully it picks up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,197 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

2 deer ,68 pheasents.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    68 pheasents.

Jaysus Griz!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭stick shooter

4 stags 8 hinds 16 pheasents and a few foxes and countless rabbits so far this season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

4 pheasants 2 woodcock, 3 ducks

2 deer ,68 pheasents.

My God where are you shooting thats a lot of of Birds.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Hungary, the sneaky fecker. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Dupont

2 deer ,68 pheasents.
    Hungary, the sneaky fecker. :p

Hungary:eek:,how could you be hungary after all them birds:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭garyc007

2 pheasants,6 woodcock,2 snipe,6 mallard and 2 foxes. hope to get some more pheasant and duck yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,197 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

IWM gets a cigar for paying attention!:D
    Yeah,a two day driven shoot in Hungary.Never seen so may birds [featherd kind!]in my life!

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭Shoot2kill

2 fallow buck, 4 duck, 7 cocks, 1 snipe, 40+ foxes & fcuk knows how many rabbits! Pheasents are few and far between this year, place is walking with lamp shy foxes though..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 bakil

myself and shooting partner have
    3 sika stags {2 8pointers}, 1 fallow stag, 63 pheasants, 16 woodcock, 5 malard, 11 snipe and 65 foxes. it has been a great season so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 browningsporter

Got one cock pheasant and one snipe. well done to all shooting foxes. great to see lads out shooting game and vermin. I'm off a few days over christmas so i'm heading out after greycrows. A friend of mine got left and right, on a evenings pigeon shooting in november.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭garyc007

Got one cock pheasant and one snipe. well done to all shooting foxes. great to see lads out shooting game and vermin. I'm off a few days over christmas so i'm heading out after greycrows. A friend of mine got left and right, on a evenings pigeon shooting in november.

dont waste your xmas on crows,go for duck or pheasant! we nearly always take out a few crows when were out anyway