Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bovine Gestation

• 14-12-2011 1:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭

What is the longest time in days anyone on here had a cow carry a calf?

Our last cow carried 300 days, and another one is 300 hundred today, with no sign of a calf yet! (There is a chance this one repeated though!)

A cow here last year carried 301 days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

Bizzum wrote: »

Our last cow carried 300 days, and another one is 300 hundred today, with no sign of a calf yet! (There is a chance this one repeated though!)

had a couple go 300 days last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

We had one 303 days a couple of years ago. Dead twins :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

I think I had one go 305 days a while back. Lim Bull, born ok.
    300 days isn't a lot when you consider the breed average for the Limousins is 290 Days, AFAIK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

I calved (with a struggle) the cow that prompted me to start this thread.
    PB Charolais 4th calver by Sylvain, She had her 4th bull calf last night off Fury Action. A bear of a calf. She was AI'd on 17th Feb according to the AI docket. Leaving her carrying 316 days.
    There is a chance she repeated at 20/21 days and the AI man and ourselves, for some reason failed to record her. This would add up better on the time, giving her 295/296 days.
    I'll stick up a pic when the cow allows me near the shed, and the calf can stand up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

I calved (with a struggle) the cow that prompted me to start this thread.
    PB Charolais 4th calver by Sylvain, She had her 4th bull calf last night off Fury Action. A bear of a calf. She was AI'd on 17th Feb according to the AI docket. Leaving her carrying 316 days.
    There is a chance she repeated at 20/21 days and the AI man and ourselves, for some reason failed to record her. This would add up better on the time, giving her 295/296 days.
    I'll stick up a pic when the cow allows me near the shed, and the calf can stand up!

Happy ending anyway, good early PB bull calf! was there a bull near her on 20/21 days though.. he might not be Fury Action but some other stock bull action!? Does happen though where ai man would do repeat and docket gone astray.. Sunday evening etc

Bodacious wrote: »
    Happy ending anyway, good early PB bull calf! was there a bull near her on 20/21 days though.. he might not be Fury Action but some other stock bull action!? Does happen though where ai man would do repeat and docket gone astray.. Sunday evening etc

Not a chance of the bull near her. She was inside on slats with 5/6 cows all with fresh calves at foot. The bull was outwintered, so got no action!

We would often have a cow not show up on the AI monthly statement, usually because the AI man would chat and drink tea, and get sidetracked, but generally they would be recorded on the calandar in the kitchen.
    Anyway all's well that ends well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 deerejohn

Had 6 heifers to calve in late oct(good red lim). All were served to ai and ran with lim stockbull after. No trace of any of them calving at the 285-290 day mark, knew they may have carried on to the natural services but ai date and preg scanning tallied! These heifers were on a bare paddock. First one calved at about 293, live lim calf unassisted. Next up a day or 2, after big pull, dead calf, heifer struggled(now fattened for factory), next up I was there myself, thought I had enough to pull the calf(my attitude is if the calf is going to be pulled by the vet, there is no point in calling them - we calve about 300 a year and it is very rare to call the vet other than to a section), anyway got caught in the hips:mad: cut calf to get it out. The 3 other heifers calved these days as well, good firm pulls but got all 3 ok. Anyway back to dates, these 3 were served to the parathenaise bull sirex and all 3 had black noses:D, bloody good calves now. The others had to be by ai as well as the heifers were all aied on the same day, they wereby the """easy calving""(I was told) lim bul vision.

The 3 incalf to sirex calved at 302 days avg(max to 306)
    The 3 incalf to vision calved at 306 days avg (max to 309)

deerejohn wrote: »
    The 3 incalf to sirex calved at 302 days avg(max to 306)The 3 incalf to vision calved at 306 days avg (max to 309)

Jaysus, where is it all going to end with gestation length like this. Some job getting a calf a year at this rate!
    It's something that's starting to worry me, more and more cows are heading for the 300 day mark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

It's to do with the amount of limousin breeding. Lims are especially long in gestation, so a 3/4 bred Lim heifer calving to a Lim bull again is going to be very long.
    A handy trick is to use an easy calving BB bull on the last calving cows. It can help keep the calving compact.

pakalasa wrote: »
    A handy trick is to use an easy calving BB bull on the last calving cows. It can help keep the calving compact.

I've used BB up and down on repeats and late cows to buy back a bit of time alright. It's certainly an option.

On the subject of the Lim bringing time: There's more than the Lim at it.
    I've seen it with CH and BA.
    As breeders of stock it's something we should be considering.

they were by the """easy calving""(I was told) lim bul vision.

The latest calving figures for Vision back up your experience.
    Gone from 3* in Aug '11 to 1* in Dec '11
    Or in the last year he went from 5.5% to 9.4% Calving Diff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

they were by the """easy calving""(I was told) lim bul vision.

The latest calving figures for Vision back up your experience.
    Gone from 3* in Aug '11 to 1* in Dec '11
    Or in the last year he went from 5.5% to 9.4% Calving Diff.

some truth in the figures then so,

last 2 years I've kept actual no. of days that each cow took so can only base my info on 2 years but longest taken was 293 and that was a lm heifer that calved a lm fl22 heifer calf

shortest was 277 days and that was a lm x cow and edj bb heifer calf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭red bull

Bodacious wrote: »
    some truth in the figures then so,

last 2 years I've kept actual no. of days that each cow took so can only base my info on 2 years but longest taken was 293 and that was a lm heifer that calved a lm fl22 heifer calf

shortest was 277 days and that was a lm x cow and edj bb heifer calf
    how many days does there have to be between calvings to register a calf

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Not sure exactly but I think below 300-310 days is where the little red flag pops up.:D

Been there, done that, didn't get the T-shirt, just lorry loads of crap in the post!!

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭red bull

blue5000 wrote: »
    Not sure exactly but I think below 300-310 days is where the little red flag pops up.:D

Been there, done that, didn't get the T-shirt, just lorry loads of crap in the post!!

was told tonight its 286 days dont know but my new bull has cows back in calf in less than that:)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

did you try register a calf after 286 days?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

I had a cow calve yesterday at only 281 days to the charolais bull LGL. I usually go by the ICBF data so, not expecting her to calve for another 10 days or so. Never had a cow calve that early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

I had a cow calve yesterday at only 281 days to the charolais bull LGL. I usually go by the ICBF data so, not expecting her to calve for another 10 days or so. Never had a cow calve that early.

Single calf? Was she fully sprung up and all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

That's very early. What breed was she?

Never had a calf off him at less than 290 days.

I have a LM cow and a CH cow due to LGL at the moment and one is at 292 days with no real sign yet and the other is at 288 but looks like she might go another 10.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Single calf? Was she fully sprung up and all?
    Ya single heifer. Running around the place when I found her. Not the biggest bag on the cow but she seemed bagged up enough.
    towzer2010 wrote: »
    That's very early. What breed was she?

Never had a calf off him at less than 290 days.

I have a LM cow and a CH cow due to LGL at the moment and one is at 292 days with no real sign yet and the other is at 288 but looks like she might go another 10.
    Cow is by Malibu (MBU). I bought the grandmother, a full red Lim too, but don't know her breeding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Ya single heifer. Running around the place when I found her. Not the biggest bag on the cow but she seemed bagged up enough.

Cow is by Malibu (MBU). I bought the grandmother, a full red Lim too, but don't know her breeding.

Had a cow calve to FFK last week, 300 days.
    2 more to BB's 283 days, thankfully no trouble all round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Bigbird1

Have a cow here at da min AI ed on the 9/4/2015 to FL22. Also scanned incalf yo this date. And realy no sign at all id say she will carry two more weeks.

What do ye find the average gestation to be for your herd?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,219 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Bigbird1 wrote: »
    Have a cow here at da min AI ed on the 9/4/2015 to FL22. Also scanned incalf yo this date. And realy no sign at all id say she will carry two more weeks.

9 months would have been the 9th of january :confused: surely she held to a different serve at this stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

9th of the April? That Lassy isnt in calf to FL22!

whelan2 wrote: »
    9 months would have been the 9th of january :confused: surely she held to a different serve at this stage

Sorry service date is 9/5/2015.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Where did you get the FL22 straws ya fecker??:D

tanko wrote: »
    Where did you get the FL22 straws ya fecker??:D

Bought a few straws few years ago. Only usin him now for first time.

His icbf figures look good. Top maternal.

He's a super bull for heifers. Straws of him weren't long disappearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

^^^^^^^^ He's a fcuking lunatic. Not if I got straws for nothing would I use him again. We're only slowly recovering from the carnage he left after himself :-)

Lol, I only have one cow off him and she's very quiet.
    My last NSQ cow is going to the factory next week along wit a crazy HCA yoke, if I don't see Paddys day it'll be because one of them finally succeeds in killing me after several failed attempts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭RD10

Had a chx cow go 30something days past her due date before using AI. Bull used was a charolaois. (bvx i think the bull's code was) had got worried about how far over she went...vet said if she hadnt calved by weekend he'd induce her. She calved a BIG charloais calf next day fine.
    Following year, same bull..went further overdue again...got vet out...dead calf inside her a few days.
    Must check the diary to see how many days exactly

Have a cow here at da min AI ed on the 9/5/2015 to FL22. Also scanned incalf yo this date. And realy no sign at all id say she will carry two more weeks.

Still no sign what so ever of this lady to calve. Should i induce her?

I wouldn't, she's only 22 days along with the nine months. I had several cows last year carry 26 days over and not a bother on them. I've seen a few cows over the years go 31 days over.
    She'll calve when she's ready to, inducing can cause problems such as retained cleanings.

There must be some signs of her calving tho, are you sure she's in calf, was she scanned?
    Edit, I see she was scanned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

She's 299 days I think? I'd say you have a big bull on the way in the next day or so.

I wouldn't, she's only 22 days along with the nine months. I had several cows last year carry 26 days over and not a bother on them. I've seen a few cows over the years go 31 days over.
    She'll calve when she's ready to, inducing can cause problems such as retained cleanings.

There must be some signs of her calving tho, are you sure she's in calf, was she scanned?
    Edit, I see she was scanned.

No sign at all shes not softining or slimming very strange.no springing at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

You should try Wilodge Cerberus (WGE) sometime. I had a few FL22 calves. FL22 is an alter boy compared to Cerberus. I stared death in the face twice last year with a Cerberus heifer. I was whistling the whole way home from the factory after dropping her off.

If you're worried about her and think there's something wrong you could get your vet to look at her, at least you'd have piece of mind then.
    Waiting for Limousin calves to arrive especially off limousin cows can be a test of paitence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Had one do the very same last year, was 100% sure the AI man had put down the wrong month or else she slipped the calf unknown to us. But the Friday morning of 300/301 days I went down and she had a huge bull calf up and sucked.
    She's 299 days I think? I'd say you have a big bull on the way in the next day or so.

Sat morning at 3.31 am :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,219 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

If you're worried about her and think there's something wrong you could get your vet to look at her, at least you'd have piece of mind then.
    Waiting for Limousin calves to arrive especially off limousin cows can be a test of paitence.
    The handling could bring her on to calve, maybe vet could induce her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Any go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭50HX

service date of 9/5/2015 means she is 11days over based on an average gestation of 290days

big bull on the way

have 2 FL22 calves this year- top class

had one last year that sold at 425kg 10mnths old and he couldn't tell you what a nut was :)

be careful will the gestation times as these are only averages

has KYA (280 AVG) calve down at 273 & 276 days before xmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,715 ✭✭✭Bellview

50HX wrote: »
    service date of 9/5/2015 means she is 11days over based on an average gestation of 290days

big bull on the way

have 2 FL22 calves this year- top class

had one last year that sold at 425kg 10mnths old and he couldn't tell you what a nut was :)

be careful will the gestation times as these are only averages

has KYA (280 AVG) calve down at 273 & 276 days before xmas
    Kya very easy calving so normally short gestation. I was surprised his average at 280 as I has assumed he was shorter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭sonnybill

You should try Wilodge Cerberus (WGE) sometime. I had a few FL22 calves. FL22 is an alter boy compared to Cerberus. I stared death in the face twice last year with a Cerberus heifer. I was whistling the whole way home from the factory after dropping her off.

I found fl22 stock to be KP nuts also! All rid here now too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Have a cow sick to calf here now at 276 days to fiston, had to bring her back from the winterage at Christmas because she was getting thinnish, am I right to be thinking twins?

Yeah, good chance of twins I'd say.

No twins, big heifer calf.

Not so bad, did you have to help her?

Ya threw the jack on her alright, probably have calved herself though if I gave her a chance.

I've two here 285 and 287 to Fiston .. Not a gig out of them !

sonnybill wrote: »
    I've two here 285 and 287 to Fiston .. Not a gig out of them !

Had one today 305 days to TVR, calved herself , she a BB which shocked me as she wouldn’t have long gestation from her side