Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Security hole exposed in college.. what would you do?

Options
  • 13-12-2011 1:30am
    Registered Users Posts: 35

Hey,

So i've been doing a little experiment over the last few days in college. It turns out that my "hack" works and could mean the college losing out on money.

So, my dilemma is what to do now!? Should I

(a) Tell nobody
    (b) Tell the college about the hole so it can be fixed, how though? Also, i'm worried the college might not look too kindly on this and punish me.. i'm in final year so can't risk any shenanigans.

Cheers

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭The Outside Agency

If you don't tell them and try to profit from it, you'll be caught eventually and the consequences could be more severe than if you just told them straight away.

As for how to report it, probably through one of your lecturers, presumably they'll understand ;)

My guess is you found some internal site used for controlling access to college services which doesn't require authentication -- printing for example, being able to top up your account without paying...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭UDP

Thread very carefully since you have hacked a resource belonging to the college and it depends on the person you tell as to how they will see it. Some might freak out and suspend you for hacking college systems which they may be entitled to do so as to discourage others from even attempting to hack a service.