Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

3 nights in Rome hotel - 205euro

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭fl4pj4ck

I think it's a regular pricing
    tXAhU.png

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

It's a fair bit out of the city centre. One of the best things about Rome is that you can walk between all the main sights fairly easily. Being that far out of the centre would rule it out instantly for me, especially as the nearest metro station is 3km away.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

The journey from the airport to Rome City centre is about 20-25 minutes.

The taxi men are very ignorant and will try to ripp you off on a taxi fare.So BEWARE.Most taxi men were looking for around 70-80 euro for a taxi fare.I might be Irish,but I aint thick or stupid to part with that sort of money.:mad:

Haggle like mad and play 1 taxi man off the other to get the best fare.;)

There is nothing really to see outside Rome City itself.

As someone else allready said,all the hotels are in the centre of Rome for a reason,as thats were all the places of interest are.

The Trevi Fountains are amazing and well worth a visit.

We stayed in the Hotel Quirennele,right in the heart of the city,and it is amazing,like a palace setting with lovely gardens out back.

Theres a lovely Irish Bar 4 doors down the road from the Hotel Quirennele,right in the city centre that serves great food and also shows all the matches and sport in English.They also do BnB there.

PS-Breakfast in most hotels is a Cuppa Coffeee and a bagel or croissent.So dont be expecting a full Irish or anything like that.

That Irish bar does a cracking big Irish Breakfast though.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭canonball5

paddy147 wrote: »

The taxi men are very ignorant and will try to ripp you off on a taxi fare.So BEWARE.Most taxi men were looking for around 70-80 euro for a taxi fare.I might be Irish,but I aint thick or stupid to part with that sort of money.:mad:

As someone else allready said,all the hotels are in the centre of Rome for a reason,as thats were all the places of interest are.

We stayed in the Hotel Quirennele,right in the heart of the city,and it is amazing,like a palace setting with lovely gardens out back.

Theres a lovely Irish Bar 4 doors down the road from the Hotel Quirennele,right in the city centre that serves great food and also shows all the matches and sport in English.They also do BnB there.

I never get this. You are only going away for a few days. My advice fpr what it's worth, sample the Italian culture and and eat and drink with/like the locals!!

canonball5 wrote: »
    I never get this. You are only going away for a few days. My advice fpr what it's worth, sample the Italian culture and and eat and drink with/like the locals!!

I dont get what you're problem or issue is?????

I found an Irish bar in the middle of Rome,and we (myself,girlfriend and daughter) went to it,to enjoy the craic and some nice conversation during 2 of the 4 nights,and with quite a few of the local Italians and also the Irish community who work and live in Rome.Great craic and banter,especially about Ireland V Italy in the football and in the Rugby.:)

Also,the San Sylvestro church is a beautifull church to visit.
    A very popular and beautifull church for Irish couples getting married in Rome.It too is also smack bang in the middle of Rome City.

We also did eat out in various Italian family run cafes/bars and Pizza places,down by the Trevi Fountains.We mingled with the local people,had a bit of banter with them,and a few drinks too,we sampled the culture and enjoyed it,but we did also enjoy finding an Irish bar in the centre of Rome too.Unexpected,yet very nice to find it.:)

PS-We were over there for a wedding too,which was the whole point of going to Rome in the 1st place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭liamcu

PS-Breakfast in most hotels is a Cuppa Coffeee and a bagel or croissent.So dont be expecting a full Irish or anything like that.

That Irish bar does a cracking big Irish Breakfast though.:D

No need to haggle - there's a fixed fare from both airports to city centre. See here: http://www.romefile.com/information/taxis-in-rome.php

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Theres a lovely Irish Bar 4 doors down the road from the Hotel Quirennele,

I stayed there a couple of years ago, it is indeed beautiful hotel and couldn't be more centrally located. The garden out the back with the fountain and marble statues is magnificent.

Flann O'Briens is the name of the pub down the road.

canonball5 wrote: »

I agree, but its also no harm to know such a place in any city, especially if its your first visit there or you don't speak the local language. I like meeting Irish or UK people living abroad who frequent these pubs as I like to get their take on the city and I always pick up a few tips about places to visit that won't always be found in the tourist guides.

Just because someone uses an Irish pub as a base to meet up in once or twice during a holiday doesn't mean they are denying themselves the local culture and cuisine to be had elsewhere during the rest of their stay. Indeed you might find the info on the best local cafés, restaurants etc in these pubs.

Lapin wrote: »
    I stayed there a couple of years ago, it is indeed beautiful hotel and couldn't be more centrally located. The garden out the back with the fountain and marble statues is magnificent.

Flann O'Briens is the name of the pub down the road.

I agree, but its also no harm to know such a place in any city, especially if its your first visit there or you don't speak the local language. I like meeting Irish or UK people living abroad who frequent these pubs as I like to get their take on the city and I always pick up a few tips about places to visit that won't always be found in the tourist guides.

Just because someone uses an Irish pub as a base to meet up in once or twice during a holiday doesn't mean they are denying themselves the local culture and cuisine to be had elsewhere during the rest of their stay. Indeed you might find the info on the best local cafés, restaurants etc in these pubs.

The locals absolutely love this Irish bar,theres also a lovely mix of irish and italian drinks,foods and deserts too.

And the craic and atmosphere is great.We had great craic mixing it up with the locals while enjoying a few beers and some wine.:D

Still good banter and jokes of Scilachis goal for Italy against Ireland that time in the USA.

We found the Trevi Fountains,and it was all thanks to a local Italian couple in the bar who told us where to go and what to see while in Rome.

Allmost all of the sights we wanted to see were within walking distance of each other.

We got a taxi from our hotel to the Collasuem,as it was 31 degrees C that day and it was just a tad too hot to walk that distance,especially with a young child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭The Orb

Seriously???????

Go up the mountains to Lago di Bracciano
    The Etruscan ruins in Cerveteri
    Ostia Antica
    The Catacombs
    Castel Gandolfo

etc etc etc

The Orb wrote: »
    Seriously???????

Go up the mountains to Lago di Bracciano
    The Etruscan ruins in Cerveteri
    Ostia Antica
    The Catacombs
    Castel Gandolfo

etc etc etc

On a 3 night break away to Rome?????...as per the thread title.

If you are going to quote my post,then quote all of it and keep it in the context of the entire post and the relation of it to the thread title..

Regards.

On a 3 night break away to Rome?????...as per the thread title.

If you are going to quote my post,then quote all of it and keep it in the context of the entire post and the relation of it to the thread title..

Regards.

You did not qualify your statement with your 3 day rule nor was your statement qualified by anything in the rest of your post. It was perfectly reasonable to quote one line as it was a statement in itself. I suggest that the next time you go to Rome you go exploring, to say that there is nothing to see outside the city itself beggars belief.

The Orb wrote: »
    You did not qualify your statement with your 3 day rule nor was your statement qualified by anything in the rest of your post. It was perfectly reasonable to quote one line as it was a statement in itself. I suggest that the next time you go to Rome you go exploring, to say that there is nothing to see outside the city itself beggars belief.

Again,can you do all that within walking distance and iwithin a 3 night stay????

You have failed to answer me on this

Stick to the thread title yourself and also what others have posted,before lecturing others...or tryng to.

Again,can you do all that within walking distance and iwithin a 3 night stay????

You have failed to answer me on this

Stick to the thread title yourself and also what others have posted,before lecturing others...or tryng to.

It's "walking distance" now, another new rule. In your original post you never mentioned three days, using the thread title to suit yourself. I never suggested doing the things I suggested in three days, they were mere suggestions, do as many or as few as you want, if any. I'm guessing you've been to Rome only once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭Davy

Lads take it easy, its a bargain alert. If you want to point all the in's and outs of Rome then take it to the travel forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

Jaysis, cop on for gods sake - handbags at dawn here...