Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Johnny retires from international rugby!

• 12-12-2011 6:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭

Don't worry, it's wilkinson!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

durkadurka wrote: »

Mabey add that to the title then, some people wont like it :D

Just heard it confirmed on BBC News.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,278 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Well you could say he announced his retirement when he signed a new contract with Toulon after the RFU announced only home based players would be picked for England.

A World Cup winner in 2003, finalist in 2007, three 6 Nations (2011, 2001, and 2000), a 6 Nations grand slam (2003), and twice a Lions tourist (01 and 05). Not bad if you ask me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

one of the few english rugby players (as an Irishman) you could have the utmost respect for and enjoy watching.

Anyone whos read his books can be a testament to how he is a tortured soul and an incredibly hard worker. Pleasure to watch all these years

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

End of an era. Certainly one of the best ever at international level. Personally I thought he was a bit too robotic (give me Dr. Phil anyday!), but obviously an incredible trainer, and a rugby icon.

Good few years left too at club rugby I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭jasper11

think once he released the book retirement was obvious.

quality player no doubt and likeable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭AG2R

Awh got my hopes up it was Sexton

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Whatever people may have thought about him as a player, whatever limitations his game may have had, whatever lack of public persona he cultivated, 99% of players aren't fit to be mentioned in the same breath as him when it comes to professionalism. He was a truly great professional and I hope his legacy is that of his superb approach and the recognition that he changed the way people saw the role of an outhalf. I hope he enjoys his time at Toulon and wins some silverware in his twilight years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Zuffer

One of the greatest of professional era. The list of things he has won speaks for itself. It is amazing to think that he earned 91 caps for England and is 2nd in the all time Test points scorers despite playing no games for them between the 2003 RWC final and the 2007 6N. One of the guys who pushed the boundaries of what it means to be a professional rugby player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

AG2R wrote: »

As a Leinster fan, not would make me happier than Sexton retiring from international rugby! :pac:

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

[Jackass] wrote: »
    As a Leinster fan, not would make me happier than Sexton retiring from international rugby! :pac:

Ditto!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

When I was Connacht v Toulon a few years ago, Wilkinson was the last player to leave the dressing room after the match. All the other squad members were waiting on the bus. Supporters mobbed Jonny when he appeared, but he was happy to stick around and sign autographs and be in photos, while the Toulon team manager kept saying "We gotta go Jonny, we gotta go!". I think it showed what a great ambassador for the spot he is.

He was a fantastic player who was still able to play at the top of his game after 5 years of repeated serious injury. Hopefully his international retirement will give him another 3/4 good years at Toulon, where he is a hero.

I think it's best for England though tbh, they have to stop relying on the veterans and turn over a new leaf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭padser

Don't let the munster guys see this......there will be calls for ROG for England!!!! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

91 caps and 1,179 international points. When you take into account he missed the best part of 4 years of his international career when he should have in his prime, it really puts an already outstanding achievement into perspective.

Best of luck to him in Toulon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Someone better send the medics around to Judgement Day's house fast!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,278 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Who is England's second choice No.10 now?

Looking through the squads the English outhalfs playing in the Aviva are:

Bath - Sam Vesty who's second choice behind Donald.
    Gloucester - have two English outhalfs but I'm not familiar with them.
    Quins - Rory Clegg who is second choice to Evans.
    Leicester - George Ford who is second choice to Flood and is possibly behind Staunton too.
    Northampton - Mylar and Lamb
    Saracens - Owen Farrell and Charlie Hodgson
    Worchester - Andy Goode

I could see Hodgson, if he's not retired already, being no.2 until one of the younger guys gets more club experience. He may have no interest in doing this though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,459 ✭✭✭twinytwo

If only the current squad of english players would take a leaf out his book...

At his best untouchable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

AG2R wrote: »

And who would replace him?

Idiotic comment!!!

Think England should and will bring Farrell into the set up for the 6N. He can play 10, 12 and 13. He's still only 20 and has great potential. Flood has enough experience now to steer the ship and allow Farrell to come into games at 12 or to finish them. Farrell showed last season he has the bottle to play in pressure games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Who is England's second choice No.10 now?

Looking through the squads the English outhalfs playing in the Aviva are:

Bath - Sam Vesty who's second choice behind Donald.
    Gloucester - have two English outhalfs but I'm not familiar with them.
    Quins - Rory Clegg who is second choice to Evans.
    Leicester - George Ford who is second choice to Flood and is possibly behind Staunton too.
    Northampton - Mylar and Lamb
    Saracens - Owen Farrell and Charlie Hodgson
    Worchester - Andy Goode

I could see Hodgson, if he's not retired already, being no.2 until one of the younger guys gets more club experience. He may have no interest in doing this though.

Is the London Irish 10, English, the red head? Got a hell of boot on him. Farrell will surely be given a chance, time for Cipriani to put his head down and make a comeback also.

razorblunt wrote: »
    Is the London Irish 10, English, the red head? Got a hell of boot on him. Farrell will surely be given a chance, time for Cipriani to put his head down and make a comeback also.

Tom Homer is his name. He's a full back but does all their goal kicking normally. Dan Bowden has been playing 10 for them who is a Kiwi. He plays 12 a lot but seems to be 10 this season. He'll be English qualified in about another year though so could be an option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭mrboswell

Have to say that he was the most boring bloke I have ever seen play the game.
    That being said he had massive success playing a brand of rugby with England that won them the world cup. It was awful to watch but he has a winners medal in his pocket...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,459 ✭✭✭twinytwo

mrboswell wrote: »
    Have to say that he was the most boring bloke I have ever seen play the game.
    That being said he had massive success playing a brand of rugby with England that won them the world cup. It was awful to watch but he has a winners medal in his pocket...

Sure he wasnt the most flashy 10... but he did what he was best at which was kick the ball. We however didnt get to see him in his prime due to injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭MLC61

I heard Eddie O'Sullivan on Off The Ball earlier commenting on the way he handled his retirement. No histrionics. Waited till the dust settled from the world cup and made his announcement.
    Hard to warm to his style of play, but a very courageous player who always handled himself with dignity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

The next full-time England coach should be taking a long hard look at Danny Cipriani. He was at ten the last time England properly smacked a tier one nation (us, unfortunately) and is far too good not to be considered at the very least.

Best to watch with the sound off due to a dodgy soundtrack but some of the hits and kicks were just superb:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

A sad day indeed and the end of era but why would he want to continue with England after the RWC fiasco. Hopefully he'll have some success with Toulon in the next couple of years. Apart from his drop goal to win the RWC in 2003 one of my favourite Jonny moments was this try against my beloved All Blacks. :D
    They broke the mould when the made Wilko, ROG, Dan Carter (and even that fella that plays 10 for Leinster). :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

He owes England absolutely nothing. Wish many more years of good rugby for him in his club career.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

I think people who say Wilkinson played a boring brand of rugby are probably forgetting what he was like in his real heyday of 2001-2, he was off the charts in terms of getting England winning games. He's remembered most for his kicking in 2003 but there was so much more to him than that. His tackling was phenomenal, by far the best of any out-half I've ever seen.

It's such a shame he was at Newcastle for so long when he could have been competing for Heineken Cups with the likes of Leicester or Wasps, but fair play to him for his loyalty.

For anyone to accumulate 91 caps and six Lions tests with the list of injuries he's had is an unbelievable achievement, a genuine hero of the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

I think people who say Wilkinson played a boring brand of rugby are probably forgetting what he was like in his real heyday of 2001-2, he was off the charts in terms of getting England winning games. He's remembered most for his kicking in 2003 but there was so much more to him than that. His tackling was phenomenal, by far the best of any out-half I've ever seen.

Agree. He also simply played the game that Woodward wanted England to play. It wasn't Wilkinson dictating the tactics. It was Woodward and Johnson.

It would have been interesting to see what he was like controlling a team who wanted to play rugby when he was at his peak. He put his body on the line defensively but also in attack. He was great at attacking the line, taking big tackles on the ribs by getting his hands in the air to allow an offload.

He was a great player in his prime. One of the most professional players the game has seen and seemingly a decent bloke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

We still can dream

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

great player, ruined by injuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭MLC61

The Telegraph are running a poll to see if he was the best no. 10 of the professional era. Currently he's running in second place at 36% to Dan Carter's 43%.
    Even in England, where he won them the world cup, he is still rated behind Carter and I would surmise this is primarily because he was viewed as a kicking outhalf rather than an attacking outhalf.

MLC61 wrote: »
    The Telegraph are running a poll to see if he was the best no. 10 of the professional era. Currently he's running in second place at 36% to Dan Carter's 43%.
    Even in England, where he won them the world cup, he is still rated behind Carter and I would surmise this is primarily because he was viewed as a kicking outhalf rather than an attacking outhalf.

That poll cracks me up, they're included Carter, Wilkinson, Larkham and Butch James in the list of options. LOL, ROFL, LMFAO, etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

That poll cracks me up, they're included Carter, Wilkinson, Larkham and Butch James in the list of options. LOL, ROFL, LMFAO, etc etc.

Can't risk having him finish last, can they? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

One of my favourite tens of all time, to be such a physical outhalf and play in 2 world cup finals (when Carter has played in none!) is a great achievement.

He got a great reception in Thomond Park when he played there for Toulon, testament to the class act that he is...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 816 ✭✭✭vinny chase

Butch James has at times not been the best ten in his own team. Laughable to have him on that list.

RO'G obviously belongs in the shake up as well, and I'd argue Felipe Contepomi should be there too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭shygal

toby flood i think is a solid replacement for wilkinson

Butch James has at times not been the best ten in his own team. Laughable to have him on that list.

RO'G obviously belongs in the shake up as well, and I'd argue Felipe Contepomi should be there too.

Full list is Carter, Wilkinson, Larkham, ROG, Carlos Spencer, Stephen Jones (another questionable inclusion) and James.

I suppose they had to have at least one Bok in there, but is James really the best they've had? Now that I think of it, they haven't had a quality 10 in donkeys.

I'd have included Diego Dominguez in there, possibly Andrew Mehrtens too.

But for me, Carter, Wilkinson and Larkham are way ahead of the field as the best of the pro era, and Carter is probably the most all-round complete rugby player of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

http://www.rctoulon.com/en/news/article/jonny-wilkinson-au-rct-jusquen-2013/

Jonny signs on for another year at Toulon, with another year as an option.