Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Could you afford to re-join your local golf club this year?

• 11-12-2011 9:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭

I couldn't, our local genius' changed the calender year to October instead of January effectively loosing over 100 members by doing so.......BUT that's what happens when a members club is run by retired guards and pensioners.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭thewobbler

I couldn't, our local genius' changed the calender year to October instead of January effectively loosing over 100 members by doing so.......BUT that's what happens when a members club is run by retired guards and pensioners.....

Unless you actually name the club in question, then this is a pointless post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Dtoffee

Strange decision all right ..... I think March 1st each year is best as it gives everyone a chance to get over the christmas.

Is it a garda club or is it just you happen to have some garda on the committee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

Yes I can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Dtoffee

soundsham wrote: »
    Yes I can

?????????????

Well, go on then ............:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

No. Wife lost job. Car is fecked and need new one. Leaving Ballinrobe hurts but sure might get to play it with society. Only likely to play 10-15 times next year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

I would rather give up drinking & not eat for a few weeks than not renew my membership.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

was put on a 3 day week there friday so doubt i'll be renewing in march.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭blue note

I'm an intermediate member at present. If I'm senior next year it's a 900e jump, probably won't be able to afford that. Living in Dublin anyway, so it would be hard to justify full membership at home anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭Hacker111

If I had to pay it would be tough... but I'd go with out (kids clothes not that important)...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭golfnut1

Sorry to hear all the bad news lads. I wouldn't exactly describe myself as "fully wedged" these day either. Oh well chin up. As in golf, life can deal you out a couple of doubles quicker than you can say "f&#%in dirty ba@#!$d three putt" anyway we'll all be back on a birde run soon enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭thewobbler

moved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

Charlie and Scrubber I hope your fortunes change for the better in the weeks to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭xgtdec

not rejoining my place either, year after year its the same stuff....tee boxes not kept....greens are bad..then good then bad again, uncut fairways....the list goes on......captain after captain vows to sort out the staff and in the last 5 years it just has not happened...didnt even bother with this years AGM....quite possibly as of now im not even a golfer.....twas good while it lasted :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Al0502

Is the club in the West of the country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭airguitar

Did you make your concerns known to the management about them restructuring the financial year?

Member's may not always agree with committee decision's so if they cared enough about their own club they should step up to the plate and proactively offer a viable alternative rather than be stereotypical against retired guards and pensioners. My club had an exceptional captain in 2009 and he happened to be a retired chief superintendent pensioner :)

My club reduced its fee by over 10% this year and offered a €200 incentive discount for current members so thankfully it is affordable again this year

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

I'm joining a different course in the new year. Will be about €20 a week but I'm not a big drinker nor do I smoke so I'll be getting plenty of value for money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 golfone

Golf clubs will be sending out their subscriptions over the next month or so and renewals might not be 100%, therefore deals on membership are inevitable. Bad times for the economy but good time to join a club if you still have a job!!