Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Grey crows

• 11-12-2011 7:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,012 ✭✭✭

Any info on drawing in Grey Crows without using a dead rabbit as bait.All the rabbits have gone to ground for the Winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

i find the best places for shooting them is where farmers are feeding livestock in slatted sheds or round feeders in fields they come in for the meal or root in the silage
    or where there roosting at night they come in just as it gets dark
    there the last in to roost and the first out the sneaky feckers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭arrowloopboy

A gralloch on a silver coal bag,the harder the weather the better,set this up last year during the snow @ 150 from the landing window of the house,shot 3 or 4 scawl crows /magpies most days with the .270 .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,808 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Any type of road-kill will bring them in for the gun - plenty of it about in these parts, including deer!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

A gralloch on a silver coal bag,the harder the weather the better,set this up last year during the snow @ 150 from the landing window of the house,shot 3 or 4 scawl crows /magpies most days with the .270 .

lol good craic but expensive shooting

daithi55 wrote: »
    lol good craic but expensive shooting

I'd pay a fiver to shoot a scawl crow:D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

I'd pay a fiver to shoot a scawl crow:D.

I have a proposition for you, I'll supply the crows, you supply the fivers :D

Like Daithi said, anywhere livestock is being fed, and indeed anywhere anything is dead. Works best if they're being fed grains or rations on the ground. Also seen them at dog and cat food.

Something I've been meaning to try is to put one of those spring feeders on a small bucket with a lid and fill it with grain. Put the set up out in the open near a place you can hide very well in, should provide a few shots.

Not sure what part of the country you're in but the sea shore is another of their favourite haunts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,012 ✭✭✭minktrapper

Whats a Grallock on a silver coal bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

johngalway wrote: »
    I have a proposition for you, I'll supply the crows, you supply the fivers :D

Don't listen to John,I'll sort you out for €2.50 and I'll throw in a cup of strong tea and a hang sangwich:D sorry JG;)

Sorry Mink,the gralloch is the intestines of a deer and i all so put out the skin and head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,808 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Basically deer guts placed on a silvery reflective surface such as certain types of coal bags. Making use of a Grey Crows liking for offal and shiny objects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭patdahat

is it the belly of a deer!

Longranger wrote: »
    Don't listen to John,I'll sort you out for €2.50 and I'll throw in a cup of strong tea and a hang sangwich:D sorry JG;)

We used to keep sheep lads,hate scawl crows with a vengance.

Feckin reverse-gazumper :p

Actually, I'm just looking at your location and it reminds me of something. the absolute worst place I ever did see for greycrows was along the coast of West Mayo, I was driving the ould fella up to the back of beyond somewhere to look at a rusty tractor that wasn't supposed to be rusty :rolleyes: The draw for them was....

....a fish farm of some description that was right beside the road, must have been one hell of a feed spill or it was washing back onshore. Every bush, branch and string of wire between posts seemed to have at least ten greycrows on it, and I am not exaggerating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

Actually, I'm just looking at your location and it reminds me of something. the absolute worst place I ever did see for greycrows was along the coast of West Mayo, I was driving the ould fella up to the back of beyond somewhere to look at a rusty tractor that wasn't supposed to be rusty :rolleyes: The draw for them was....

....a fish farm of some description that was right beside the road, must have been one hell of a feed spill or it was washing back onshore. Every bush, branch and string of wire between posts seemed to have at least ten greycrows on it, and I am not exaggerating.
    Joking aside, you're not wrong there John. I've never seen grey crows anywhere else in the same numbers we have here. I've had evenings where I've shot two or three boxes of shells and not have too many misses:eek: the place is thick with the feckers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭crackcrack30

I threw a few fists of these rations into one of those half plastic barrels to coax a couple of heifers out of a field, the greys had a festival around the trought for the next couple of hours as they didn't get eaten by the cattle, was too busy to get the rifle out but plan on repeating this in the next few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

Pigeon flapper with a gray crow mounted on it! I've tried everything, and this is the bee's knee's!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭howa .223

id say ya were in mulranny john headn for bangor:)

howa .223 wrote: »
    id say ya were in mulranny john headn for bangor:)

Could have been now, I forget exactly to be honest, I know we were gone North of Newport and South of getting our feet wet in the sea :D

Would need a machine gun in that area, Hitchcock had nothing on that place :eek: