Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Saturday Night Show 10th December 2011

• 10-12-2011 1:28am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭

Coming up on the show this week, Queen of the Jungle and Olympic medalist Fatima Whitbread talks cockroaches and why she put herself up for the challenge.

Two time All Ireland Champion Michael Duignan tells us about how he coped with the death of his wife aged 41, leaving him to bring up his two boys.

Guinness swigging funny man Johnny Vegas reveals he went into a seminary at the age of 11!

Eddie Hobbs helps us understand what’s happening in the economy and what the future holds.

Bombay Bicycle Club will be performing “Lights Out, Words Gone” from their third album “A Different Kind of Fix”. Tune in at 9.45pm and enjoy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Johnny Vegas will take over the show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

Vegas is always a bit of craic, let's be thankful he's on with BOC and not Tubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90,227 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Eddie Hobbs helps us understand what’s happening in the economy and what the future holds.

Just what we all need to hear and see :rolleyes::(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Poly wrote: »
    Vegas is always a bit of craic, let's be thankful he's on with BOC and not Tubs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Hangover over 3, waking up in vegas and finding out you have married sinead o conor:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭el diablo

Ballsy's "stand-up" routine is unbelievably lame. :rolleyes:

Orange pilled.

Who's this chap?

Orange pilled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

el diablo wrote: »
    Who's this chap?
    Fatima Whitbread, she is a British former javelin thrower and has two olympic medals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

was a big fan of track and field as a child if the eighties , fatima was awesome

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

quite possibley the weakest compliment ive ever heard given to a woman , how does o connor have any kids ?

I thought Fatima came across really well, she seems like a nice lady.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Looking forward to Johnny Vegas.

I saw him in a Pub in Rathmines one night after he had filmed the Podge and Rodge Show in RTE. He was hilarious, exactly the same in real life as he is on TV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Hey forgot about Brendan, was watching X factor,

These lads should get on their bikes and head back to Bombay.

Very dreary.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Skid wrote: »
    These lads should get on their bikes and head back to Bombay.

Very dreary.

Its called Mumbai now didnt you get the memo.

Duignan is being very modest, he was a very good hurler in his day.

His wife sounds like she was an incredibly brave woman.

This Interview seems to be going on for ages.

Did you see the Woman coming out from behind the curtain? :pac:

Johnny's wife is very pretty

Jameson+Empire+Film+Awards+Inside+Arrivals+vIOSaWclyX5l.jpg

Very awkward interview :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Rumple Fugly

Well Holy God! He obviously has a few shillings about him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Fentdog84

Wow what happened? Johnny Vegas used to be insanely funny...Probably since he stopped drinking, lost a load of weight and married a gold digger.. shame on him :p

I never thought Johnny was very funny.
    Good old Eddie, puts the country to rights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭ThePower11

I was looking forward to Johnny Vegas been on tonight but I have to say it was a huge let down, he's not funny anymore and O' Connor's fake laughing was cringeworthy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭ThePower11

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Johnny's wife is very pretty

Jameson+Empire+Film+Awards+Inside+Arrivals+vIOSaWclyX5l.jpg
    She looks like Grainne Seoige, lucky bastard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭flyaway.

I thought the miscarriage 'joke' was in poor taste and don't understand why it got laughs...

Maybe I'm oversensitive. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Fentdog84

I think what Eddie is trying to say basically is that we are all ****ed..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭gigino

hondasam wrote: »
    Good old Eddie, puts the country to rights.

he is spot on about the croke Park Agreement though. And those golden public service pensions......

Fentdog84 wrote: »
    I think what Eddie is trying to say basically is that we are all ****ed..

I wouldn't pay too much attention to what he has to say. :)

Orange pilled.

gigino wrote: »
    he is spot on about the croke Park Agreement though. And those golden public service pensions......

Don't be jealous now, public service is a great place to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,290 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

I was in the audience for this last night. The band weren't there live, it was pre-recorded.

Johnny Vegas stayed on the chair during the ad and provided the best laugh of the night.

We nearly fell asleep listening to the GAA person. I don't get why a weekend chat show would include these misery stories. I would expect that during the week on the radio, but not on a Saturday.

Lots of free wine beforehand though :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Just watching this now.

Fatima Whitbred came across as a genuine honest person with none of the airs and graces or bullshít of many of her peers. She was some athlete in her day too.

Looking forward to Vegas after these ads !

Lapin wrote: »
    Just watching this now.

Fatima Whitbred came across as a genuine honest person with none of the airs and graces or bullshít of many of her peers. She was some athlete in her day too.

Looking forward to Vegas after these ads !
    I agree Fatima was a really nice guest. (I watched the programme last night) Personally, I found the interview with Vegas very awkward but I hope you enjoy it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Yeah I was gonna post about how nice Fatima Whitbread was... but unfortunately last nite (after a bottle of wine) I was a bit drunk, and started wondering about the coincidence of her being named Whitbread AND her trainer being called Whitbread... it's kind of embarrassing now :o

I agree Fatima was a really nice guest. (I watched the programme last night) Personally, I found the interview with Vegas very awkward but I hope you enjoy it!

Awkward sums it up. He didn't seem to be on form at all and came across like he didn't want to be there.

Yeah I was gonna post about how nice Fatima Whitbread was... but unfortunately last nite (after a bottle of wine) I was a bit drunk, and started wondering about the coincidence of her being named Whitbread AND her trainer being called Whitbread... it's kind of embarrassing now :o

Ah, you deserved it.....

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcT-OAEZiUKrggAjqxiyzLdNHhxpp24A4PF0YzRquk6saw_482r8

Were you Hotmail's +1 at the SNS?? Hotmail mentioned lots of free wine in his post too :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Were you Hotmail's +1 at the SNS?? Hotmail mentioned lots of free wine in his post too :)

Yeah I was.. cos you know how we get on soooo well... we picked up Ryan Tubridy and Jim Power on the way to complete the foursome of BFFs.

Wow, what a treat for you! I know how much you admire Jim. What was it you said before.......oh yes, I remember now, you said that he was your favourite economist of all time, you admire him so much because he predicted the "soft landing" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,290 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Me and my plus (not Jonathan :D) drank A LOT of the free wine, we were going out afterwards.

It's a small way of feeling better for paying the licence fee! ha

We were really annoyed there was no prize for the audience, although he did give out two bottles of wine to birthday people in the audience during the ad. So pretend it's your birthday if you want to get a prize on the Sat Night Show.