Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

lidl spotting scope + nightvision

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭rabbit assassin

I bought the night vision last time it was out in Lidl. I do alot of lamping on foot and prefer not to use torches when walking about. Cant recommend this night vision highly enough. It does the job of a piece of equipment 5 or 6 times the price. The only issue I had with it was I left the battery in and didnt use it for a few weeks over the summer and it died out but this was my fault. Its also fairly handy on batteries. My local chemist sells them in a pack of 2 for €5 and they last me a long long time.

I think bressner itself is just a great brand. Bought a pair of binoculars in lidl . they were 10x50 and cost me €15 . have to say they are the best pair of binoculars I ever owned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

+1 on the binoculars. I can't speak for the NV stuff but from my experience they do pretty reasonable optics for SFA money. And in all fairness, for the price you can't complain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭J.R.

I bought that spotting scope the last time they had them.

Great value for the money.

Very clear optics, not blurry and goes up to 60X.

The tripod is fairly basic but it works. I usually use a larger tripod I have for the camera.

Couldn't fault the scope for the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Vote 4 Pedro

I give the spotting scope a go at that price.
    like J.R say, tripod from the camera will make it a lot more usable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

Well spotted im going to buy it,its affordable and you lads seem to recommend it so it must be good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭cyberblade 918c

4200fps wrote: »
    Well spotted im going to buy it,its affordable and you lads seem to recommend it so it must be good

think Ill do the same ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭johnk123

think Ill do the same ....
    Likewise... Worth a shot anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭rambo87

The Mother got the nightvision for me last Christmas. I take it lamping and use it for lamp shy foxes... its good to 100 yards and you'll see their eyes 300 yards away. A bit fidelly but once you get used to it its class!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

LB has 2 spotting scopes, one that was got in lidl and an expensive one. Had them both on the range watching her shoot and tbh I prefered the lidl one, seemed cleared to look through for me.

went in to tuam branch on thurs morn and they were sold out at 12pm, was bloody sickened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭czgalway

went in to tuam branch on thurs morn and they were sold out at 12pm, was bloody sickened
    got a spotter scope in lidl an hour ago in oranmore they have a few left and some nv monoculars aswel,and the roads are absolutely lethal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

Son got me the NV yoke for Christmas so I'll have it next week :mad: :D

I also ordered a IR filter for the Lightforce 170 off the bay ;16.50 :D:D

anyone with the spotter scope ,what would you compare the quality of image to i only have a zos scope 10x40 and its about the same zoom at 60 as my zos scope is at 40 and the zos is much clearer at max magnification but zos is a piece of sh1t.i never looked through a quality scope anyone who has a good quality scope how does it compare with the lidl spotter scope

czgalway wrote: »
    got a spotter scope in lidl an hour ago in oranmore they have a few left and some nv monoculars aswel,and the roads are absolutely lethal

cheers lad.... I'm actually working in oranmore now so ill shoot over on lunch. thanks a mill

did ya get the scope what ya think ?

czgalway wrote: »
    did ya get the scope what ya think ?

Ya I got it .... cheers. Never used one before so Ill muck about with it during the week, kinda expected the viewing size to be a bit bigger though. Im sure ill get used to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭kenneths

got the NV lens yesterday.
    seems very good can see clearly in complete darkness

but one question to anyone who has one...
    it says the display is "creating an enlarged visible image in a monochrome green"
    but mine is in grayscale black & white. is this normal or should i bring it back?????

kenneths wrote: »
    got the NV lens yesterday.
    seems very good can see clearly in complete darkness

but one question to anyone who has one...
    it says the display is "creating an enlarged visible image in a monochrome green"
    but mine is in grayscale black & white. is this normal or should i bring it back?????

mine is the same lad, was kinda disapointed with that too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

brno wrote: »
    http://www.lidl.ie/cps/rde/xchg/lidl_ri_ie/hs.xsl/offerdate.htm?offerdate=16238
    thought this looked like very good value for a bressner!

Brno,
    I don't mean to sound like an optics snob, however when it comes to glass, you need money, when it comes to night vision, you need lot's of money.

I went to a shop in the States to suss out some night vision gear. I purposely did not look at prices, only the functionality I wanted. The only kit I considered started around $2500. Needless to say, I didn't buy.

I did receive some head gear as a Christmas gift once. It was around $350 and was a total piece of junk. I didn't want the person feeling bad so I used it- still got migraines - not sure if it was from her or the awful optics!;)

I have tried many night vision monoculars out, the coolest thing they saw was my remote control flashing the TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭kenneths

it actually was grand to view stuff with i can definetly make fence posts etc at 100 yds but i use a friends one before i bought this and the green seem to highlight stuff better.

might bring it back and see if they have one with green display.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭foxer3640

mine is in black and white too... i dont think theres a choice. their pretty good for the price but no one is expecting miracles at that kind of money. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 samthe man

lidl had the bresser nightvision back in stock, Bought one yesterday, cant see anything only a white screen, what am I doing wrong?