Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Impact of budget on Postgrad funding support?

Options
  • 08-12-2011 7:29pm
    Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭

Hi all

I am trying to figure out EXACTLY what the budget has changed for anyone considering entering the postgrad system in 2012.

I am a mature student who will be assessed as an independent mature student - as in my earnings in 2011 will be taken into account for what I am eligible for.

BEFORE the budget my understanding was that if I earned less than 22,000 in 2011 then I was eligible to get my fees paid and get the full maintenance grant.

My situation is the same but what will I now be eligible for?

Can i still get my fees paid for 2012? Is there still a grant - has it been cut or completely abolished?

Thanks - I cant seem to find exact details on what the cuts mean to a mature independently assessed student.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 11 Prez2

I've been trying to figure out the exact same.
    Budget 2012: From the 2012/13 academic year, fee grants will only be paid for new postgraduate students if they would previously have qualified for the special rate of grant (see 'Special rates of grants for disadvantaged students' below). In addition, based on their means, a further 4,000 postgraduate students will get a €2,000 fee contribution grant.

That's from the Citizens Information website.