Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai may get segways for Dublin

• 08-12-2011 2:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭

Is it April 1st?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

You're cute

• Registered Users Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

can't wait to see one fall off.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭yermandan

Im outraged.

Wtf is a segway?

Closed stations for some, segways for others!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

yermandan wrote: »
    Im outraged.

Wtf is a segway?

It's when you are taking about one subject but make an unforeseen and loosely connected jump to another subject.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

These yokes http://www.segway.ie/

I hope the Gardai get a special allowance for operating these vehicles.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

A lot of them would need to walk more and get some of the fat off their arses.:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

From segway.ie

As it currently stands in Ireland there has been no formal statement from the Authorities on the Segway PT. Much information has been exchanged with the Authorities and the matter is ongoing. With this in mind we must continue to advise customers that the Segway should be used on private property only. Users should also be 16 years of age and have a minimum weight of 45kgs.

So lets buy a few hundred segways and find that they can not be used on the roads and footpaths. Remember the voting machines?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

kincsem wrote: »
    the Segway should be used on private property only. [/COLOR]

So lets buy a few hundred segways and find that they can not be used on the roads and footpaths. Remember the voting machines?

I have seen several companies use them around Dublin city for promotional purposes. Would anyone like to tell me how ??

• Registered Users Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

I can see a cop leaving one at the bottom of some steps to chase some gurrier, cue another gurrier "borrowing" the segway.

Much hilarity ensues amongst other gurriers.

FFS they are grand on mountain bikes, a lot cheaper too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Is it a punishable offence to point and laugh at a Guard while he or she is on one (if it was true.......aw).

• Registered Users Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

KTRIC wrote: »
    I have seen several companies use them around Dublin city for promotional purposes. Would anyone like to tell me how ??

Lean forward to go forward, backwards to go backwards and turn the handles to turn.

Simples.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,395 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Considering the owner of the company was killed when he drove one off a cliff the situations involving clueless Gardai should make for some entertaining reading.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,931 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Fcuk the segways, start replacing some of the absolute death trap patrol cars.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Airport police have them in Dublin Airport.

Don't really see the point of them in Dublin to be honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Considerimg the inventor was killed when he drove one off a cliff the situations involving clueless Gardai should make for some entertaining reading.

He's alive and well actually http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dean_Kamen

• Registered Users Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

The owner of the company that makes them killed himself by driving one of them things off a cliff!

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭Skullsri

Thay should get tandem bikes so they can handcuf any criminals to the back of it and thay will help cycle back to the station..eventually phasing out the patrol car..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

Skullsri wrote: »
    Thay should get tandem bikes so they can handcuf any criminals to the back of it and thay will help cycle back to the station..eventually phasing out the patrol car..

This is dependent on the criminal cooperating with the Garda by pedalling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

They could just make it an offence to not help pedal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

And balancing !!!

He's alive and well actually http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dean_Kamen

Apologies...owner of the company.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-leeds-11416654

• Registered Users Posts: 23,994 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

• Registered Users Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

ejmaztec wrote: »

How are you going to arrest criminals if you're riding blonde chicks around the place?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭Missmiddleton

ah yes, they'll get loads of respect rolling around the north side an a féckin segway alright...

But they'll fit right in on the southsoide?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,965 ✭✭✭✭bnt

It's happening in the USA too:

From out there on the moon, international politics look so petty. You want to grab a politician by the scruff of the neck and drag him a quarter of a million miles out and say, ‘Look at that, you son of a bitch’.

— Edgar Mitchell, Apollo 14 Astronaut

• Registered Users Posts: 14,974 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Do you have a link OP?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Might be best to wheel yourself over to Emergency Services or Dublin forums.