Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

first springer

• 07-12-2011 6:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭

Just picked up my first gun dog today she is 14 months old any tips on ware to start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭LB6

Congrats on the new arrival. love to see a pic of her when you get time. Has she come from a working backround already?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭stoeger

LB6 wrote: »
    Congrats on the new arrival. love to see a pic of her when you get time. Has she come from a working backround already?
    Thanks ya she came from good background but a mate bought her as a pup and did f all with her didn't have the time so i have ended up with her . i don't no how to post pics using my phone don't have a lap top

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

stoeger wrote: »
    Just picked up my first gun dog today she is 14 months old any tips on ware to start

Got this book of a mate the other day. Highly reccomend it. Some great idea's in it. Train yourself to train a dog:D.
    http://www.bookshop.kennys.ie/book/UK/9781853104190/Training_Spaniels

I'd start with the basics for a while to see what the dogs knows. You'll have to build up a relationship with the dog. Just some nice fun retrieving a dummy and recalling for a bit. I wouldn't try to rush anything.

stoeger wrote: »

Got this book of a mate the other day. Highly reccomend it. Some great idea's in it. Train yourself to train a dog:D.

I'd start with the basics for a while to see what the dogs knows. You'll have to build up a relationship with the dog. Just some nice fun retrieving a dummy and recalling for a bit. I wouldn't try to rush anything.
    Thanks looks like a good book never no Santa might bring it if im nice . i won't rush her iv loads of time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

thats an excellent book on training spaniels there is a lad on here i got good dvds from him try the for sale section he had some up recently enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

congrats lad, an the best of luck with her:D as already stated take your time, just a tip while yer waiting an slanty jaws to come:D:D if you get the magazine ,the sporting gun, there is a section in it by tony price, i find very good clear simple instructions in it well worth a read;) i found his tips especially for springers very good an simple to read easy to understand even for a thicko novice like me:D:D;) it would tide you over til you get the book ,ive cut out all his sections and stapled them together for future ref, im on my first season with my springer bitch jessy shes 1yr old :)but having a few small wee problems:mad: with her such as hunting to far on from me, ive a coller coming for this weekend,any ways best of luck and all the best with the training;)

Thanks lads new i was in the right place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭hughmace

Peter Moxon books are excellent
    Keep it simple and fun for both of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭tonytoc11

What age do ye start hunting with springers? My lad is just over 9 months and hes been out for a few runs so far only. I fur a shot over him last week just to get him used to it and no problems. Will he be ok to bring out proper hunting at the end of the season at almost 12 months though? I hope to do alot of work with him next summer and have him ready for next season.

....Sorry to but in on the thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 bigfoot 1

You cant go wrong with ronnie advice . I read this book and found it very very helpful . best of luck with her..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 bigfoot 1

tonytoc11 wrote: »
    What age do ye start hunting with springers? My lad is just over 9 months and hes been out for a few runs so far only. I fur a shot over him last week just to get him used to it and no problems. Will he be ok to bring out proper hunting at the end of the season at almost 12 months though? I hope to do alot of work with him next summer and have him ready for next season.

you should try to get this book awell .everything you need to know well be in it .by the way very best of luck with your springer.................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

tonytoc11 wrote: »

My bitch is nine months too. Before the end of the season I'm gonna try to get her out for some ducks (my mate will be shooting so i can focus on her) because I'm confident she'll be steady in that situation. Just for a couple of retrieves.

I not sure about bringing her out for a rough shoot this season because she not 100% on 'hup' yet (nearly there though so it'd tempting). Depends on the dog and what you want from him. The guy in the book recomends clearing the ground of game with another dog before bringing your dog out.

Basically you dont want them flushing game when there not ready for it and taking off into the next field after it. It'll be a hard habit to break as im sure its great craic for them but could lead to alot of work for you.