Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deer hunting Noob... advice??

• 07-12-2011 11:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭

Right Lads,

Started Sika deer hunting this year... Wicklow mountains in the woods
    The father is in a syndicate up there. I go along and am learning the ropes

What is the best tactic?
    Sit and wait? Or stalk up and down the narrow lanes?
    Go from clearing to clearing?

We have a Nine month old German wire hair pointer from deer hunting stock.. we are planning to train her.. any advice?

havent shot anything yet!! :(
    Have been afraid to take any shots either due to safety/ distance etc...
    Do you wait for the perfect shot or do you wing it?

PS the advice gained her on previous hunting adventures e.g. Fox Lamping has been GOLDEN!! Huntings best kept secrets are revealed here!!
    Thanks in advance!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Right Lads,

Started Sika deer hunting this year... Wicklow mountains in the woods
    The father is in a syndicate up there. I go along and am learning the ropes

What is the best tactic?

Sit and wait? Or stalk up and down the narrow lanes?
    Go from clearing to clearing. All of the above
    Sit and wait dawn and dusk, stalk up and down any time in between is what I find good.

havent shot anything yet!! :( You will ;)
    Have been afraid to take any shots either due to safety/ distance etc...
    Do you wait for the perfect shot or do you wing it?
    If you can hit a fox, you can hit a deer. Just be more relaxed.
    PS the advice gained her on previous hunting adventures e.g. Fox Lamping has been GOLDEN!! Huntings best kept secrets are revealed here!!
    Thanks in advance!!!

It all comes with time.
    Practice makes permenent, permenent practice makes perfect.

Stick with it.
    Sometimes it is easier in two's as two eyes are better than one.

Would you not go out with your Dad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

rambo87 wrote: »
    Right Lads,

We have a Nine month old German wire hair pointer from deer hunting stock.. we are planning to train her.. any advice?

http://forums.pigeonwatch.co.uk/forums/index.php?/topic/3846-training-to-blood-trail/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭andrew dickenson

@ rambo87,
    one of the lads of the forum, ianoo sent me a copy of a dvd when i baought my gwp, its all about training dogs up for deer, excellent dvd pm me your address and i can send u a copy if you want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭rambo87

Fair Play Andrew!
    I owe you some venision !! :D

(You could be waiting a while!! )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭andrew dickenson

no problem rambo :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭arrowloopboy

Don't be too hard on yourself Rambo,Wicklow is tough action at the minute and your stalking the toughest/cutiest of the Irish deer species .Walking the lanes works some days ,lying up on a clearance works more days,as you start hunting one wood/mountain,you'll get to know what the craic with the deer in that area and when and where they move.
    Put in as much practice as you can with your rifle at different ranges because when that first shot does present itself,its good to have 100 % faith in your ability to put the led where you want it,having faith in your own ability is very very important.

Good luck and happy hunting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Sika98k

Apprentice yourself to an experienced stalker willing to take you out with him for a season.

Follow in his footsteps and learn from him. Yes you will learn something from the HCAP Course. First how to write a cheque :D.

But nothing will beat practical hands on,or in if you get a shot,experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Hibrion

From my personel experience, patience is an absolute must. I'm by no means a very experienced hunter when it comes to deer and there are far more days I come back with nothing (too many this season).

The best thing to do is put the time in and go out as often as you can. If and when you do see a deer wait for the right shot. Sometimes all you can do is watch them as they go by!
    But, to be honest, that doesn't bother me. A few deer a season is more than enough to keep me happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭syconerd

Apprentice yourself to an experienced stalker willing to take you out with him for a season.
    Follow in his footsteps and learn from him. Yes you will learn something from the HCAP Course. First how to write a cheque .
    But nothing will beat practical hands on,or in if you get a shot,experience.

yeah well if someone will help ya is what ya mean as i can see their are few people out here willing to help someone get in to this click.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭arrowloopboy

syconerd wrote: »
    yeah well if someone will help ya is what ya mean as i can see their are few people out here willing to help someone get in to this click.

Have you asked on here for help S,a chap only last week asked to be brought and guess what:eek:,shock horror ,fair play to a couple of guys that offered.
    That click thing is all in your head,you need to go get permission,paid or unpaid,or you need to take a gun on a wood,or you need to buy your own wood,do the latter,and i'd imagine you'll have no bodders with guys wanting to show you how to stalk/shoot deer.
    Read a few books ,you'd be amazed at what you can learn if you want to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭seoirse1980

Hey Rambo, P.m me and we can arrange to get out for a stalk if you like. I'm not too far from you and I'm out most days. I think it's best to get out with different stalkers and learn what you can from them. Then you can use this knowledge and come up with your own strategies for each area that you hunt. Apart from this, patience is key. Time spent observing is time well spent.

Seoirse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 jww

rambo there a 3 very important things in deerstalking 1 the wind and 2 the wind,, and 3 the wind,,, and it keeps changing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

In a way it's the same as stalking or hiding from any animal with good eyesight, hearing and a sense of smell. Don't show your shape, make the least possible noise and do not give them the wind.

After that it's very much a matter of getting to know the habits of the deer on your permissions and that works fine until something upsets them and they end up scattering for a while. Trial and error will tell you.

syconerd wrote: »
    I brought out Glensman last week, and Paulo and I brought out Declan 1980 yesterday. One deer gout for Dec, although Deer did not oblige.for Glensman.

If I can get the time between now and Christmas might be able to get you out.

In the mean time, invest in a sharp knife at least 3" blade, get a pair.of Vet's disposable gloves, a good set of water proofs (it laked yesterday).

I might be out of the country after christmas with work so I'll try and orgainise before work and personal commitments depending.

You will need a full day off work for any chance of success and don't forget a change of clean clothes (for if we get a deer, we will make a rucksack out of it and you will carry it off the mountain on your back ;) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭jay.b

hi rambo87 thanks for asking this question (you beat me to it) i too am on my first season and haven't had any luck. ( im glad im not alone:rolleyes:) i get out as often as i can but lately haven't even seen dear let alone be in a position to shoot. i'll be watching this thread with great interest:) cheers everyone

thanx tack if u can manage, im free most days evenings just need 24 hours notice to sort a few things out ok, but wont let ya down just say where and ill be there ok john

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭rambo87

Was out on saturday all day.. saw two hinds on the way up on the road in the dark. No shot..
    At about 4pm just as it started getting dark we flushed a Sika from cover ahead of us... I went to sit down on a rock in frustration an as I peered over the boulder.. there was another deer 20 foot away looking right at me.. I motioned to my father to pass me the rifle but this tiny movement was all the deer needed and she hoped off into the forest... They are definitely in the place just hard to get!! Great fun tho!

rambo87 wrote: »
    Was out on saturday all day.. saw two hinds on the way up on the road in the dark. No shot..
    At about 4pm just as it started getting dark we flushed a Sika from cover ahead of us... I went to sit down on a rock in frustration an as I peered over the boulder.. there was another deer 20 foot away looking right at me.. I motioned to my father to pass me the rifle but this tiny movement was all the deer needed and she hoped off into the forest... They are definitely in the place just hard to get!! Great fun tho!

Thats the Joys of hunting :)

bump

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

Lie in the bushes waiting on them. When one arrives, admire it's beauty. Marvel at how such a being could have evolved from single cell organisms. Go home and let the creature live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭seoirse1980

I much prefer to admire its beauty as I tuck into one of it's fine loins and maybe further compliment it with a nice bottle of suitable decanted Cabernet :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

Lie in the bushes waiting on them. When one arrives, admire it's beauty. Marvel at how such a being could have evolved from single cell organisms and then shoot it. Go home and eat it.

Fixed this for you.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭dermot218

Fixed this for you.:rolleyes:

im in my second season got one early in the year im in westmeath if anybody would be so kind to bring me for a day it would be great as i was never went with a seasoned stalker any advice would be welcomed