Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ashton banned for hair pulling

• 06-12-2011 10:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭

Delighted for the lad.

Sauce
    Ashton banned for hair pulling
    Rugby : England winger Chris Ashton has been banned for four weeks for his clash with Alesana Tuliagi during last weekend's Aviva Premiership match between Leicester and Northampton.

The Saints star prompted a mass braul after hauling Tuilagi into touch by the Leicester man's hair.

He has been found guilty by an RFU disciplinary panel of an act 'contrary to good sportsmanship' and will not be free to play again until January 4th, meaning he will miss Northampton's two crucial Heineken Cup matches against Castres Olympique over the next two weekends, as well as two Aviva Premiership games over the festive period.
    Northampton forward Phil Dowson will also be sidelined for the two weekends of European action after he was suspended for a dangerous tackle on Saracens fullback Alex Goode.

Vidja of incident:

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xmrv09_alex-wood_news?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭harvester of sorrow

Ashton is a f'''''''ing knacker,god help him when they next meet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Pulling hair is a 4 week ban. Dangerous tackle that could seriously injure someone is a 2 week ban. That makes sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,962 ✭✭✭jacothelad

GerM wrote: »
    Pulling hair is a 4 week ban. Dangerous tackle that could seriously injure someone is a 2 week ban. That makes sense.
    One is despicable and one is dangerous. I suppose it's a bit like being jailed for tax evasion v. burglary. The dangerous tackle ban has to be increased for the continued safety of players who are getting too big and fast for human tissue to sustain in the collisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

And we're banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Fight_Night

bit harsh, Ashton actually seems like a nice guy in real life.

Don't approve of hair pulling but I'd be of the opinion that dangerous tackles(an issue that is rampant) should be stamped out before hair pulling. With that said, 4 weeks a bit harsh imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,036 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Isn't this round 2 after tuuilagi punched Ashton in a previous game. Think a short back n sides is in order ......a stupid hairdo like that is asking for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭Conchir

Isn't this round 2 after tuuilagi punched Ashton in a previous game. Think a short back n sides is in order ......a stupid hairdo like that is asking for it

That was Manu Tuilagi last season, not Alesana, so no, it wasn't "round 2".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Shelflife

Need to define that its not tugging on the hair of the lad thats sitting in front of you.

ashton dragged him (he weighs nearly 19st) about 4 feet by the hair.

thats bad enough, but it also can result in a seious neck injury in the same way that grabbing a players scrum cap and pulling can as well.

24 and an autobiography out, says it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,036 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Conchir wrote: »

That was Manu Tuilagi last season, not Alesana, so no, it wasn't "round 2".
    My bad.
    I thought rugby players were supposed to be tough, not big sissies pulling hair and stuff .......:)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

4 weeks is not harsh.

Rubbish like this brings the game into disrepute and should be dealt with accordingly.

The suspension for dangerous tackles is a different conversation altogether.

He got what he deserves and, to be honest, I don't think he'll learn his lesson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Has it been annoucned how long Murphy has been banned for? Also, feel sorry for the young ESPN sound lad who was caught right in the middle of that!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,955 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Did Murphy get cited? I was under the impression he, rather laughably, got off scot free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭Conchir

My bad.
    I thought rugby players were supposed to be tough, not big sissies pulling hair and stuff .......:)

Unfortunately, it seems there are a few players who don't give the sport a good image.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Did Murphy get cited? I was under the impression he, rather laughably, got off scot free.

Didn't hear I just assumed. Very surprised he got away with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Dirty fu*ker. Really REALLY dislike Ashton, and Northampton as a club.

Horgan crossed Tuilagi in the Heineken Cup final in 09 and ended up sniffing his own arse through his shoulders at one point in the match. Not a lad you want to mess with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Not a big deal? Dragging someone that size by the hair could have really, really serious consequences and is completely cowardly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭globemaster1986

Can't say it's not deserved. He acts like a gurrier on the pitch a lot of the time so no sympathy for the guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,855 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

I suppose this makes BO'D a thug? These things happen in a game of rugby and are bound to happen if your hair is long and especially if it's in the dread lock or corn-row fashion. Why do you think jerseys are tight nowadays? Desperate tacklers will grab a hold of anything loose to pull down his opposite number.

Tuilagi was hard done by on this occasion but Christ, that ball-boy was very lucky not to be injured in the stampede that followed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭S. Goodspeed

I suppose this makes BO'D a thug? These things happen in a game of rugby and are bound to happen if your hair is long and especially if it's in the dread lock or corn-row fashion. Why do you think jerseys are tight nowadays? Desperate tacklers will grab a hold of anything loose to pull down his opposite number.

Did BOD do something similar last season against Leicester or England as well? If it wasn't Ashton I doubt it would have lead to a punch up or to the lenghty ban. He really does come across as a dislikeable character though so don't feel sorry for him at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

I suppose this makes BO'D a thug?

But see Tuilagi was down on the ground and then Ashton started pulling his hair. BOD had been handed off and was flailing trying to grab something. There is a difference IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Good idea Chris, after it worked out so well when you picked a fight with his brother

ManuTuilagi_2597003.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

Ashton is doing his best to become public enemy number 1 for lots of opposition fans. What a stupid cowardly act pulling Tuilagi out by his hair.

Alasana tuilagi's assault on ashton last season was disgusting but that doesnt justify the way ashton was carrying on.

between Ashton, Lawes and Hartley Northampton have 3 players i really dislike, which made ROG's drop goal all that sweeter last month.

finally, if HC fixtures were not coming up we'd see a few more bans dished out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

bamboozle wrote: »
    Alasana tuilagi's assault on ashton last season was disgusting but that doesnt justify the way ashton was carrying on.

Thought it was Manu last year and this incident involved Alesana?

Anyway, four weeks would seem a bit harsh when a dangerous tackle is two, but then that needs to be upped to a minimum of four anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

the poor ballboy nearly got squashed :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

Otacon wrote: »
    Thought it was Manu last year and this incident involved Alesana?

Anyway, four weeks would seem a bit harsh when a dangerous tackle is two, but then that needs to be upped to a minimum of four anyway.

apoligies it was Manu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,248 ✭✭✭Blut2

Tuilagi was hard done by on this occasion but Christ, that ball-boy was very lucky not to be injured in the stampede that followed!

Those Aussie commentators are absolutely hilarious - "they used to grab onto my rolls of fat so I reckon the hair is fair enough". Had me laughing my ass off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭onlyrocknroll

I agree that four weeks is harsh but I don't think that the comparison with BOD is fair. BOD's tackle was an example of a desperate tackler grabbing something loose to pull down his man. No malice, split second. Ashton dragged Tuilagi gratuitously on the ground for a few meters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Pity he's back for the Munster rematch. Hopefully the "Saints" will be out of the running then.
    Nasty team, Lawes , Hartley et al. Pity because they have some really good supporters and decent players like Foden, the Irish lads too.
    So glad that ROG prevented them beating us in Thomond, of all teams to lose to they would never let you live it down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Cpt_Blackbeard

It was an extremely scummy thing to do but, I can see the sense behind it from Aston's perspective. Had the handbags not gotten so far out of control it was a great way of getting Tuilagi fixated on himself for the remainder of the match and nulifying any threat he posseses.

I don't know how to feel about the length of the ban. I think its very long when you put it into perspective with more serious offenses. Is it too cynical of me to think that such a heavy ban was handed out to teach Aston a lesson and to ensure none of that f/uck acting happens in an England shirt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

It was an extremely scummy thing to do but, I can see the sense behind it from Aston's perspective. Had the handbags not gotten so far out of control it was a great way of getting Tuilagi fixated on himself for the remainder of the match and nulifying any threat he posseses.

I wouldn't credit Ashton with such foresight. That'd be akin to Quinny gettin' a funt up the arse from Pelous in '08, he knew exactly what he was doing.

Ashton was just being nasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

buck65 wrote: »
    Pity he's back for the Munster rematch. Hopefully the "Saints" will be out of the running then.
    Nasty team, Lawes , Hartley et al. Pity because they have some really good supporters and decent players like Foden, the Irish lads too.
    So glad that ROG prevented them beating us in Thomond, of all teams to lose to they would never let you live it down.

Was at HEC cup final and agree totally re supporters. Their supporters also treated Ulster fans very well before the quarter-final last season. AFAIK they put on a free barbeque for them. But the 3 players you mention have a discipline problem a bit like Dylon Armitage and its a pity for Ashton and Lawes in particular and also Hartley are very talented players who will probably be part of England's as well as Saints future for some time to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭chris85

Was at HEC cup final and agree totally re supporters. Their supporters also treated Ulster fans very well before the quarter-final last season. AFAIK they put on a free barbeque for them. But the 3 players you mention have a discipline problem a bit like Dylon Armitage and its a pity for Ashton and Lawes in particular and also Hartley are very talented players who will probably be part of England's as well as Saints future for some time to come.

Was also at the HEC final in Cardiff and their fans were great and we had a lot of good fun and banter with them. A lot of respect for them.

Unfortauntely Ashton is a thug and unfortunately the English game is producing too many of these players. Its not good for the image of the game which is rooted in fair play and respect.