Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Quickest lamping ever

• 06-12-2011 2:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭

On Sunday night the chairman of my gun club rang me saying there was a fox hanging round his neighbours yard stealing hens, so I said call down for me. We arrived at the yard and shone the light out over the ditch into the field. We spotted 3 foxes in the field so I put the rifle on the other lads shoulder and shot the furthest away lad. The other two didn't know where to go since they heard the crack off the rifle in front of them and the thump of the bullet hitting the first fox behind them at the same time, so a quick squeak from me got them looking straight at me again, another crack and the second lad drops, but the third lad is after wising up now and he runs off up to the top of the hill, stops to look back for a few seconds before fecking off. I cut the tails off them and left them in an empty slatted shed for the farmer to find in the morning.
    So, got the call at 19:20, arrived in the yard at 19:30, and had two foxes shot and was back home by 19:45. Pretty efficient if I do say so myself
    a9738244.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

pity they all couldnt be that handy good going alright

well done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭declan1980

pity they all couldnt be that handy good going alright

well done

I couldn't agree more. I was just coming in the lane and I scanned the field. Saw a fox, but as soon as I was out of the car and had the rifle loaded it was gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

declan1980 wrote: »
    I couldn't agree more. I was just coming in the lane and I scanned the field. Saw a fox, but as soon as I was out of the car and had the rifle loaded it was gone

thats the story of my life cant seem to bag one this time of year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭tommyboy26

thats the story of my life cant seem to bag one this time of year

I know that feeling all to well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭tommyboy26

declan1980 wrote: »
    On Sunday night the chairman of my gun club rang me saying there was a fox hanging round his neighbours yard stealing hens, so I said call down for me. We arrived at the yard and shone the light out over the ditch into the field. We spotted 3 foxes in the field so I put the rifle on the other lads shoulder and shot the furthest away lad. The other two didn't know where to go since they heard the crack off the rifle in front of them and the thump of the bullet hitting the first fox behind them at the same time, so a quick squeak from me got them looking straight at me again, another crack and the second lad drops, but the third lad is after wising up now and he runs off up to the top of the hill, stops to look back for a few seconds before fecking off. I cut the tails off them and left them in an empty slatted shed for the farmer to find in the morning.
    So, got the call at 19:20, arrived in the yard at 19:30, and had two foxes shot and was back home by 19:45. Pretty efficient if I do say so myself
    a9738244.jpg

Great shooting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭thomasc4329

Well done happy days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

well done lad fair play;):D