Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

weather and hunting

• 05-12-2011 12:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭

As i am sorta a newbie to the hunting can any body tell me now that the snow has arrived what would it be like hunting in the snow and no fecking smart ar*e comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭garyc007

itl be harder,but still doable! wrap up well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Hibrion

It can often be much easier if you are hunting deer. They are easier to track for a new shooter in the snow and they tend to feed for longer during the day due to the frozen ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭ssl

As i am sorta a newbie to the hunting can any body tell me now that the snow has arrived what would it be like hunting in the snow and no fecking smart ar*e comments

Its grand hunting in the snow. But if the ground is frozen and crunching under your feet the noise can scare off the deer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭ssl

What game are you after?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭iwsf

It will be colder ...
    Wraps up toes and fingers well
    It is ok when after small game as you cover a lot of ground and that keeps you warm. If you are after deer that could be a different story when slowly approaching a deer.
    And as ssl said it will be very noisy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

where is it snowing? you'll get a good bit of foxing and vermin shooting in the snow. if the foxes are getting hungry they'll give into the callers alot easier.

Wrap up with plenty of lairs, not just one big thick jacket. keep the head, toes, and fingers warm and thats well over half the battle,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

I'm in westport and lots of white mountains round here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

I didn't see one single fox during the snow here last year, and I was out day & night looking. Millions of hare tracks but no fox.

Greycrow shooting is gas craic if you have a bit of bait though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

johngalway wrote: »
    I didn't see one single fox during the snow here last year, and I was out day & night looking. Millions of hare tracks but no fox.

Greycrow shooting is gas craic if you have a bit of bait though.

Thats cos you had em all shot :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

i had great shooting last year in the snow. After a week of it the foxes were out hunting at all hours and the tracks in the mornings were mad! Agree with the lads about wrapping up, my lamp man was in bits after wearing crap boots with one pair of socks one night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

garv123 wrote: »
    Thats cos you had em all shot :p