Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'cannabis cakes'

• 04-12-2011 6:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭

A judge was yesterday told how to bake 'cannabis cakes', and told that they were similar to barm brack and nice "with a cup of tea".
    Paraic Brannigan (35), of Claremont Park, Rahoon, Co Galway, admitted having 18 slices of cannabis cake to sell for ?4 each at the Rory Gallagher music festival in Ballyshannon, Co Donegal, on June 5.
    Judge Kevin Kilrane asked: "Who bakes them or where can we get them?"
    Brannigan's solicitor told Ballyshannon District Court that "a speck" of cannabis was added to the cake, which was baked like a bun.
    "The content is very, very low," the solicitor said.
    Sentencing was adjourned until January 6.

Read more: http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/republic-of-ireland/irish-judge-gets-cannabis-cake-cookery-lesson-16086045.html#ixzz1falHz5O3

What do you think ? maybe we can you sell them at the local sunday markets keep everyone on a high :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

realies wrote: »

What do you think ? maybe we can you sell them at the local sunday markets keep everyone on a high :)

Yeah, it's high time we had something to cheer about.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

man i hope this doesnt turn into a retarded cannabis debate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

A judge was yesterday told how to bake 'cannabis cakes', and told that they were similar to barm brack and nice "with a cup of tea".
    Paraic Brannigan (35), of Claremont Park, Rahoon, Co Galway, admitted having 18 slices of cannabis cake to sell for ?4 each at the Rory Gallagher music festival in Ballyshannon, Co Donegal, on June 5.
    Brannigan's solicitor told Ballyshannon District Court that "a speck" of cannabis was added to the cake, which was baked like a bun.

Read more: http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/republic-of-ireland/irish-judge-gets-cannabis-cake-cookery-lesson-16086045.html#ixzz1falHz5O3

Drugs = bad.

Legal drugs = end of roman empire, therefore very bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

Want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭amacca

Just regulate the stuff properly.....sell it any cake, bun ,muffin or any other form you like after that.

Insurance not extended to cover related medical issues +refuse to treat anyone with problems due to consumption if they cant pay for their own treatment.

yay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭amacca

Spunge wrote: »
    man i hope this doesnt turn into a retarded cannabis debate

too much stuff'll do that to ya bud!

anyway its too late, no cigar/joint the minute cannabis is mentioned...sorry about that :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭murraykil

Nodin wrote: »
    Drugs = bad.

Legal drugs = end of roman empire, therefore very bad.

ZZZzzz .... nod'in off .... zzz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

No no no!! Don't bake! The paranoia. Bad trip, bad trip!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭dazberry

... admitted having 18 slices of cannabis cake to sell for ?4 each at the Rory Gallagher music festival in Ballyshannon, Co Donegal, on June 5. ...

Well at-least he can claim a street value of €72, the gards would probably be claiming the value as per the complete weight of the cakes - circa 35k :p

Of course since there was only a speck in each one, he really should have been selling them for €2 ea., fuppin rip-off...

D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Just nippin' out to buy some porter cake......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

:) How many would one have to consume to feel stoned full ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Cake and tea. Mmmmmm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

how did he get caught with them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

---

Ohhh, I just love the feigned innocence of Judge Kilrane, as if he wouldn't know where to score. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Or could he really be one of the half dozen people in Ireland who genuinely couldn't get hold of some dope within a day or two, at the latest?:)

Hash cakes are actually a bit of a waste of good dope, because you need to put in the making of a good few joints just to get any kind of a buzz out of the cakes. I only recommend them if, through some great fortune, you happen to have lots and lots of the stuff to spare. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭gamgsam

"a speck" of cannabis was added to the cake, which was baked like a bun.

He's doing it wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭murraykil

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    Ohhh, I just love the feigned innocence of Judge Kilrane, as if he wouldn't know where to score. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Or could he really be one of the half dozen people in Ireland who genuinely couldn't get hold of some dope within a day or two, at the latest?:)

He asked how to get the cakes, not the dope! It must be that he is too lazy to bake them himself, despite the free lesson. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

If this had happened in Saudi, the Judge would have sentenced him to be Stoned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭Gonzor

For my 16th birthday a few of the lads baked me a mini cannabis cake. They didnt bother to mention the ingrediants until *after* I had it all ate :eek: :eek: :eek:

ALthough I should have known there was something weird about it when half the building was standing there grinning and pissing themselves laughing and taking pics while I ate it... :rolleyes:

It was very very very bad buzz to say the least, I would not wish it on anybody. I never took drugs before that, and I dont think I'll ever try them again either....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

If you go to any of the parks here you have people in costumes selling 'edibles', it's completely harmless really. In San Francisco any professionals I've met smoke weed the same way we go for a pint with friends and I am completely convinced it should be treated like alcohol back home and regulated.
    By making it illegal it is only wasters who smoke it, here where it is 'medical marijuana' and as common as a beer everyone smokes it, within moderation and it doesn't do a bit of harm. The 'stoners' go back to their jobs in silicon valley or the financial district and continue to work in one of the biggest economies in the world. Funny that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

If you go to any of the parks here you have people in costumes selling 'edibles', it's completely harmless really. In San Francisco any professionals I've met smoke weed the same way we go for a pint with friends and I am completely convinced it should be treated like alcohol back home and regulated.
    By making it illegal it is only wasters who smoke it, here where it is 'medical marijuana' and as common as a beer everyone smokes it, within moderation and it doesn't do a bit of harm. The 'stoners' go back to their jobs in silicon valley or the financial district and continue to work in one of the biggest economies in the world. Funny that.

While back in Ireland we are still being fed a line of shite...... and the real dopes gobble it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

The space cakes in the 'Dam are bloody tasty, I know that much :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Spacedog

lastlaugh wrote: »
    If this had happened in Saudi, the Judge would have sentenced him to be Stoned.

You sir are my GOD!

Worth mentioning though, that only a small amount of cannabis is needed to alleviate the pain of arthritis, muscle pain and many other chronic medical conditions. Not nearly as much as it takes to get intoxicated.

Many elderly people prefer to take it this way for this very reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭paulosham

I heard that one young kid who ate some of that drug cake cried all the water out of his body. Just imagine how his mother felt? It's a fuking disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Spacedog wrote: »
    You sir are my GOD!

Worth mentioning though, that only a small amount of cannabis is needed to alleviate the pain of arthritis, muscle pain and many other chronic medical conditions. Not nearly as much as it takes to get intoxicated.

Many elderly people prefer to take it this way for this very reason.
    You mean that elderly people eat it because they only want a little bit? You're aware that you need to eat a lot less than you'd smoke for the same effect. E.g. Smoke 2 joints, get a bit of a buzz. Eat 2 joint's worth in a yoghurt, get monged off of your face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭superstoner90

paulosham wrote: »
    I heard that one young kid who ate some of that drug cake cried all the water out of his body. Just imagine how his mother felt? It's a fuking disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

We should bring back capital punishment for scum like this :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭GreenWolfe

paulosham wrote: »

You haven't got the reference, clearly.....

Begins @ 1:34

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭superstoner90

You haven't got the reference, clearly....

:confused::confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

gamgsam wrote: »
    "a speck" of cannabis was added to the cake, which was baked like a bun.

He's doing it wrong

not in his mind he's not

I'd say he meant a speck and no more where customers are clueless to the content. its a bit like the '50 bag' phenomenon all you know is how much you'll pay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

There was a delightful news report in a Finnish newspaper in the late 1990s that reinforced my belief in the power of karma.:)

A young man was arrested for non-payment of fines and incarcerated in police cells in a small town in the central part of the country.

Some time later, a young woman arrived at the desk, carrying a basket of pulla (very tasty buns flavoured with cardamon) and a flask of coffee and asked to be allowed to visit the prisoner.

She was told that this was against regulations, but protested that she only wanted to give him some buns and coffee. The two cops on duty said they'd give the buns to the prisoner ...

Flash forward several hours. A concerned citizen calls the regional alarm centre and reports that a police car is being driven very erratically -- all over the road in fact -- and then, oops, adds that it has gone off the road and into a tree and is totalled.:eek:

Meanwhile, in another town some hundred kilometres away, a police car drives into the garage of the police station there. Through the door, which is closed, and is totalled, along with the police car that is inside.

Two cops in hospital (fortunately not too badly injured), three patrol cars totalled and a prisoner in a cell who, when questioned, says he knows nothing. And how could he?;)

As for the two cops, when they eventually came down from cloud nine, the only description of the young woman that they could give was that she was blonde and attractive - which didn't really narrow it down all that much in Finland.

The few buns that the two cops hadn't scoffed were analysed and just one of them contained enough hash to get a couple of people stoned. Clearly, the girl had baked enough to keep her friend stoned for a week at least.

But justice was done. The two cops were charged with stealing the food, convicted and fined.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

We should bring back capital punishment for scum like this :mad:

:confused::confused:Who the bakers or the cakers:confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

:confused::confused:Who the bakers or the cakers:confused::confused:

*shrugs*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

€4 for a cake with a speck of cannabis?

I hope they give him the chair!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

I was once on a nudist beach*, it was a beautiful sunny day, a scorcher.

A hippy kinda looking girl strolled along the beach wearing a fanny pack over her well...eh.. fanny.. Nothing but the fanny bag/purse and carrying a tray of chocolate rice crispie cake things..

Aha.. a chocolatey crispy treat..or so I thought..

Myself and my bf at the time bought one each.. yum yum.. I was informed at the time that there may be something in it besides chocolate and rice crispies.. for €3 each I thought it would be harmless...

How wrong I was... Have you ever tried walking along a nudist beach while being pissed on wine and having eaten a very very strong hash rice crispy cake... oh and then think it would be a really good idea to go for a swim. Scary freaky few hours :o

True story..

* I was wearing my bikini bottoms.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

When weed is processed by the liver it produces a completely different chemical than the THC that gets you high when you smoke it. It's called 11 hydroxy metabolite and it's three times more potent. When one consumes a sizeable edible the effects can be quite profound, almost like psychadelics like psilocybin or LSD than anything else.

As a result, when the trips go bad they send you to the 7th circle of hell. There's a rather amusing video on YouTube of a 911 call where a police officer, convinced that he and his girlfriend are dying after eating weed brownies, calls his own station looking for assistance.

Edibles are best avoided for those of a frail mental constitution, as they really can induce a terrible anxiety. On the plus side however, you can't die directly from an overdose the way you can with heroin or cocaine.

In my experience weed is more like a tool than drugs like heroin, because particular types (sativa rather than indica) induce a mindset which is analytical and deeply introspective, which is why people like Carl Sagan used it to aid with writing etc. Heroin, cocaine, Meth et al while not without merit, really shouldn't be placed under the same heading as weed in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,735 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

That is atrocious journalism, I mean what the hell does "for ?4 each" mean.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

foxinsox wrote: »
    Have you ever tried walking along a nudist beach while being pissed on wine and having eaten a very very strong hash rice crispy cake...

have you ever tried playing poker in that condition won 200 lids :cool::D

they couldn't figure me out i kept on laughing it drove them nuts :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

space cakes are nothin like smoking.even an experienced stoner they are more like an lsd expierience.not for the faint hearted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭eire.man

amacca wrote: »

Just regulate the stuff properly.....sell it any cake, bun ,muffin or any other form you like after that.

Insurance not extended to cover related medical issues +refuse to treat anyone with problems due to consumption if they cant pay for their own treatment.

yay!

and in your mad world would cover still stand for other drugs like cigarettes, alcohol?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

and the debate begins...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭eire.man

kylith wrote: »
    The space cakes in the 'Dam are bloody tasty, I know that much :D

hill street blues 1grm slice with a hot chocolate and cream yummy!! :p

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Paraic Brannigan quickly replied: "I do your honor and I have some at home"
    Judge Kevin Kilrane: "Case Dismissed."

*both leave courtroom together*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭pdbhp

LH Pathe wrote: »
    its a bit like the '50 bag' phenomenon all you know is how much you'll pay

Well not really cos you should get 3.5 grammes in a '50' bag 7 grammes in a hundred bag 14 grammes per half ounce for €150 and so on.
    The real issue is fags who cannot haggle with dealers and are happy to be ripped off by clearly lower intelligence people as all the dealers I know are really retarded.