Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Great days Pheasant shooting.

• 04-12-2011 3:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭

My buddie just got his new Semi-auto into his hands after 5months waiting for it, decided to go for a walk this morning to see what was about even though the weather was miserable.

Since we both don't have good gun dog we were not expecting much, he has one but lack of training wouldnt even walk out the gate with us not to mind cover a field for us.
    Walked up towards the mountain field on his Uncles land, walked along a fire barrier with mature forest on our left and a drain and fields on our right. We heard a bit of shuffling in the drain and decided after a few moments it was too cunning for us.
    After another 20 paces of walking a fine cock rose from the field to present to both of us a nice right to left shot.
    I was just about to fire then a wild tree got in my sight, I could hear my buddie whom had a better sight of the bird going "Click, click, click!" The safety was on and was abruptly followed by "Ah bo*llix!"" Next thing I fired, seen feathers fly. Little did I know did he fire at the exact same moment.
    Then I fired a second one and was followed by a torpedo like fall out of the sky.
    Then animal insticts kicked in- RUN!!!!! since we had no dog to do the retrieve I had to sprint to locate the bird, after humming and haa'ing he was located and might I say a good retrieve.

Great start to the day :cool: after a hearthy fry up for lunch we decided to try some more fields with no success, missed a crow after putting 5 shots into the sky.
    Then went into a massive field full of heather, was definitely going to hold some woodcock or snipe. The second we set foot into the field 5 snipe got up. We both missed like mad! Then near the back of the field 6 more got up and we missed them again. We're blaming the strong gale as an excuse :D More practice needed in that department.
    Came out of that field, walked along a road and decided to head into another barrier around the forest- it was about 10 metres away from the road.
    We were talking about snipe and I was gazing across the road at the little rockets twisting and turning and laughing at us next thing I hear a loud bang to my left and then heard the flapping of the wings by a very good sized Pheasant, he was rapidly getting away and flying over the high towering forest trees next another bang from the brand new semi and down comes the bird. Off we run again, and locate the bird.

Was a great days shooting both our first pheasants ever, but a good dog is def in order as its torture acting like a dog while being a human trying to always keep alert and then locating the birds and retrieving.

Here is a picture, top gun is mine and the first pheasant. Bottom is the mates new gun and the second pheasant. Noteable size difference between the birds and the guns. Hope ye enjoy the read, all tips on snipe and woodcock shooting required.. lol :pac:

Note- the semi is loaded in the picture and trust me he got an earfull for that! Even though the car was parked in a farmyard thats not a reason.

IMG_02321.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

well done sounded like a good days crack

nice birds to atleast you got your first im still waiting for mine as work is keeping me busy ( thank god) well done again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

well done and like yourselves I have a Springer but she will not be ready till next Season if I am lucky I went out myself this morning and I acted as the Dog walking through thick cover that the Dog should be doing but anyway I put up a Hen and that was all I seen no birdies for me today but again well done and to your Mate best of luck with the new Gun enjoy the Season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭Remmie 223

Well done lads. I got my 1st &2nd pheasants two weeks ago. I could not face the elements today, got wet too many times this week already, the poor auld springer ran to the gate of the field at the back of the house a couple of times & looked back as if to say " come on" . Good read & well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭garyc007

well done.good going without a dog.i was out myself with my springer but no joy,put up a few woodcock but that was it.we both decided it was time to finish up after getting wet and tired.where abouts are you located?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭oats 2

no way i'd shoot a pheasant wit out dog flushing it. thats just pouching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

oats 2 wrote: »

Pouching? :confused:

do you mean poaching and if so how?

imo pheasants are for hunting.anyone could walk into a field and rise a pheasant an just shoot him.there is no sport in that.its about the dogs really.thats just my view.if you done that in front of some club members around here you could get shot yourself.

garv123 wrote: »

Pouching? :confused:

do you mean poaching and if so how?
    Also confused ?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

Remmie 223 wrote: »
    Also confused ?????

poaching then.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭underthetumb

so if i was to get myself a shotgun and go out for a shot on my own this would be frowned upon by seasoned rough shooters. just i often taught of getting a shotgun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

so if i was to get myself a shotgun and go out for a shot on my own this would be frowned upon by seasoned rough shooters. just i often taught of getting a shotgun.

not by anyone i know of. its not as easy as walking into a field and shooting the bird.
    pheasants will normally run into the ditch instead of flying off and god then can run fast down along inside the cover of the ditch.

Its even hard to spot them without a dog as they can stick in cover and not move.
    i nearly stood on a hen in a boggy area last week. she got up between my legs almost.

it is great seeing the dogs working in cover and following the sent though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Hunter21

imo pheasants are for hunting.anyone could walk into a field and rise a pheasant an just shoot him.there is no sport in that.its about the dogs really.thats just my view.if you done that in front of some club members around here you could get shot yourself.

Hope santy brings you a dictionary this Xmas so you can learn the meaning of a poacher!!

You must be a member of a club that clearly can distinguish a bird from a human!
    There is no rule book on how to go rough shooting.
    A good dog will rise and lead you to miles more pheasants then walking would IMO, walking alone is harder and miles less forgiving.

I just don't have enough free time at the minute to invest in a gun dog and the mates dog I just simply not good enough.

grand then.as i said just my views.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Hunter21

grand then.as i said just my views.

It's an open forum, your entitled to your views. Thanks for sharing them and for reading.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭blackstairsboy

I can see where Oats is coming from on this one. I personally do not get any great pleasure in shooting a pheasant that was not hunted. I do not even get that much pleasure in shooting a pheasant that someone else's dogs have hunted. I do not have any problem at all with someone going shooting without a dog it's just that I would think that they are really missing out on a big part of the enjoyment in hunting. For me watching the dogs working is what it is all about after that getting a bird is a bonus.

Good shooting OP and good luck with finding a dog. You should pick up a well bred pup in the Spring and have the whole Summer to pull your hair out!;)

I can see where Oats is coming from on this one. I personally do not get any great pleasure in shooting a pheasant that was not hunted. I do not even get that much pleasure in shooting a pheasant that someone else's dogs have hunted. I do not have any problem at all with someone going shooting without a dog it's just that I would think that they are really missing out on a big part of the enjoyment in hunting. For me watching the dogs working is what it is all about after that getting a bird is a bonus.

Good shooting OP and good luck with finding a dog. You should pick up a well bred pup in the Spring and have the whole Summer to pull your hair out!;)
    Totally agree with you blackstairsboy. But, two lads going out for a walk on a Sunday having a pop at the odd cock is not poaching . As you know I only got my pup this year & they take alot of time, only for some help from family, as regards walking and stuff . It would be impossible for me to have a dog. But again I know where your Comming from my friend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭underthetumb

In fairness any of my friends that shoot pheasant, etc say the exact same, in regards to the dogs working thing, they say it's savage to see. May tag along some day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

i started my roughshooting with me,shottie an me two legs:eek::eek: walked myself to exhaustion after phezzies and there is nothing wrong with that,couldnt afford a dog back then coz lads were looking for huge money for springers back then,but i have to agree getting a dog makes it far more handier:D;) but i wouldnt put off a lad or lady going out for a stroll on land that they permission on with there legally held shottie with no dog, enjoy it an if they get a shot at a phezzie, woodcock or a mini-jetfighter(snipe:D) brilliant, its the bonus, enjoy the day regardless,your out away from the rat race, in the freash air:D:D beats sitting at home enjoy it anyways i know i love it regardless the weather:D:D:D and when you to get a dog its just gets that bit more extra speciall;)p.s fine birds lads ,enjoy an safe hunting for the future:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭stoeger

Went out for a walk last week with my shotgun and dog not looking for anything in particular just to give her run . i got to the gate and left her off the lead. walking down the hill the dog puts up a pheasant bang bird goes down looked around dog is running flat out back up the hill .went home to find the dog in her bed and didn't come out for an hour .

Ps:my dog is a German shepard just a pet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

i started my roughshooting with me,shottie an me two legs:eek::eek: walked myself to exhaustion after phezzies and there is nothing wrong with that,couldnt afford a dog back then coz lads were looking for huge money for springers back then,but i have to agree getting a dog makes it far more handier:D;) but i wouldnt put off a lad or lady going out for a stroll on land that they permission on with there legally held shottie with no dog, enjoy it an if they get a shot at a phezzie, woodcock or a mini-jetfighter(snipe:D) brilliant, its the bonus, enjoy the day regardless,your out away from the rat race, in the freash air:D:D beats sitting at home enjoy it anyways i know i love it regardless the weather:D:D:D and when you to get a dog its just gets that bit more extra speciall;)p.s fine birds lads ,enjoy an safe hunting for the future:D

I agree 100% on what you say I have just this year got my Shotgun and only two Months ago got a young Bitch Springer Spaniel which hopefully will be ready next season if I am lucky I have shot Deer over the last 30 odd years but to think I am joining a Gun Club and not go out shooting just because I dont have a Dog ready is out of the Question. I do go shooting and walk loads but I also go with the lads Dogs and it is great to see them working but walking through rough cover is harder without the Dog so to anyone with no Dog just yet shoot away and enjoy it.