Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time off for New Arrival...

Options
  • 04-12-2011 2:33pm
    Registered Users Posts: 941 ✭✭✭

I really don't know what I'm entitled to on this, so I'm just posting here to see if what people think. My wife is being induced on Wednesday. I have 7 days left of annual leave which I would like to use. I work in the Print industry so this is a busy time, so when I asked for 7 days off I was told I could have 4 and for the other 3 days I would have to be available 'if' it was busy at work. I think this is unfair, as I most of that holiday time is actually Time in Lieu I have built up over the year. As I said, I'm just looking to see what others think. Maybe this is common practice, I just feel it's unfair.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 25,732 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Does your manager know why you want the time off?

Does your wife actually need you at that time? Quite often other relatives etc are very helpful in the days immediately after the birth, and it's more helpful if the father saves his leave for when they've gone home. But every family is different.

• Registered Users Posts: 941 ✭✭✭CyberDave

It's my wife that has requested me to try and get as much time off as possible to help her out. I want to have the time off, and we would probably like to have some getting used of the child time before all the visitors.

Are men entitled to time off, or do they just have to use their annual leave like I'm doing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox