Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What Mags to get?

• 04-12-2011 12:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭

I recently got into airsoft and have got pretty much all the gear now to get me going just one or two bits left.

What mags should I go.

I know the advantages and disadvantages of getting mid caps and high caps but what ones should I get? What do most people go for?

I was reading about the milsim games and using midcaps and all that craic but is this the most popular game type to play or would I be best off getting 3 or 4 high caps and save my money instead of buying a load of midcaps and speed loaders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭richieffff

Well the advantages of midcaps are the lack of rattling from the magazine and there's no need to wind the mag. Disadvantages would be they hold less than high caps and need a speed loader.
    Advantages of highcaps would be that they hold the most (other than box mags). Disadvantages would be the need to wind and the rattling of the mag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭FizzyCola

richieffff wrote: »
    Well the advantages of midcaps are the lack of rattling from the magazine and there's no need to wind the mag. Disadvantages would be they hold less than high caps and need a speed loader.
    Advantages of highcaps would be that they hold the most (other than box mags). Disadvantages would be the need to wind and the rattling of the mag.

I know that but what I was wondering was am I best off just getting a lower number of hi caps or a higher number of mid caps.

Milsim kind of stuff appeals to me but as Im only starting off Id prefer not to spend money on midcaps if they are not needed. If there is a need for them ie milsim being quite popular I dont mind spending the money but I dont want to be running around with 6-8 midcaps if the majority of players are using hi caps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,348 ✭✭✭Rhinocharge

FizzyCola wrote: »
    I know that but what I was wondering was am I best off just getting a lower number of hi caps or a higher number of mid caps.

Milsim kind of stuff appeals to me but as Im only starting off Id prefer not to spend money on midcaps if they are not needed. If there is a need for them ie milsim being quite popular I dont mind spending the money but I dont want to be running around with 6-8 midcaps if the majority of players are using hi caps.

It's down to personal choice. Some lads prefer a couple of mids others a few high caps. You might be best off buying some mids & 1 high cap, that gives you the best of both worlds. You don't have to use all the mids if you don't want to, again it's down to personal choice. How many bb's do you expect to use in a days gaming?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭T4RGET

more mids :) I carry 10 mids and it looks way better than 3 hi caps which would roughly carry the same amount of BB's, fills the tac vest up and i don't like hi caps as you just don't reload and that's half the fun for me :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭need a aeg

well what rhino charge said in my opion is defeating the purpose :P me personally use mids for the stealthy aspect ( least amount of noise possible) and carrying one hi cap would compromise that.

and i agree with T4RGET since reloading is epic :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Airsoft Reloded

All mids, using them will help you learn how to conserve ammo and go for the single kill shot every time which will help improve your aim and reflex shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Locdown

Mids all the way for me got a hi-cap with my first Aeg and never used it,don't like the rattling don't like the winding,that is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Zomg Okay

Been using high caps for a year now, since I started.

Get the mids, I know I will this Christmas. They're better overall and there's no winding them up and no poxy rattling noise.

Your sanity will thank you for it. *Twitch*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,348 ✭✭✭Rhinocharge

need a aeg wrote: »
    well what rhino charge said in my opion is defeating the purpose :P me personally use mids for the stealthy aspect ( least amount of noise possible) and carrying one hi cap would compromise that.

and i agree with T4RGET since reloading is epic :P

That's not what I ment. Since most guns come with 1 high cap then purchasing a second 1 would be enough to game, 2 in all, very easy to reload a high cap & the easy on the auld wallet.
    Mids, well they speak for themselves. Carry as many as you feel comfortable with. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭ronan keane

If you do go for Highs buy Lonex mags pretty much eliminates winding pull the fire a couple of times and it will shoot the 360 rounds in one go :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭TerrenceAnth

I play strictly mid & low cap simply because if im using my m4 i want to be able to sneak up on people and what not last thing i need are 4-5 high caps shaking about. If i want to go commando and charge at the enemy with bbs rattling ill go for a m249 or m60.
    classic army midcaps = 120 bbs 120x6 = 720 more than enough to get you though a normal skirmish came and reload. If its not just add 2 more high caps you got 960 i do not know anyone apart from maybe my friend Cameron who can go through that in a 30 min game :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

ehobby do a set of 10 (excellent quality) MAG mids for 45 USD these days, no excuse :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭maciek87

Hmmm... Personally, I would preffer hi-caps. For example - G&G 450R ones (one winding is enough for all 400 rounds to go).

I dont know what yous on about reloading - shall you`ll have to reload mid caps as well, only with speedloader :rolleyes:

Why hi caps... Well, I have 2 magazines with me, and hardly go through one hi-cap maybe on a game. So, I use short bursts-single fire (as I dont see a need to spray bbs all over the place... most of the time:o), but still If I need to, and game is getting longer, I don't have to swap/change mags as often, and generally feel more comfortable, as
    I dont see a reason to be loaded like a camel on the game. I dont use vest as such (rarely, on really long games). Two mags are enough, from which even the spare one is pissing me off as useless most of the time.
    2x 450R --> 900R (practically 800R). Thats 6-7 mids.
    I dont see a correlation between using mid-cap and being faster/more accurate in time.
    Its a must to save bbs while using mid-caps (well, more often than using hi-caps anyway), hence beginner might put himself into quite uncomfortable position throughout the day.

For beginners, I would definitely recommend getting spare hi-cap (as Airsoft Reloaded said, end up with 2x of them), and then its down to their own experience what to get, but initially, it would be easier for them to play and get some more skill, and above all - they can use saved quids to get other stuff (chargers, batteries, vests, uniforms etc.).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

maciek87 wrote: »
    Hmmm... Personally, I would preffer hi-caps. For example - G&G 450R ones (one winding is enough for all 400 rounds to go).

I dont know what yous on about reloading - shall you`ll have to reload mid caps as well, only with speedloader :rolleyes:

Why hi caps... Well, I have 2 magazines with me, and hardly go through one hi-cap maybe on a game. So, I use short bursts-single fire (as I dont see a need to spray bbs all over the place... most of the time:o), but still If I need to, and game is getting longer, I don't have to swap/change mags as often, and generally feel more comfortable, as
    I dont see a reason to be loaded like a camel on the game. I dont use vest as such (rarely, on really long games). Two mags are enough, from which even the spare one is pissing me off as useless most of the time.
    2x 450R --> 900R (practically 800R). Thats 6-7 mids.
    I dont see a correlation between using mid-cap and being faster/more accurate in time.
    Its a must to save bbs while using mid-caps (well, more often than using hi-caps anyway), hence beginner might put himself into quite uncomfortable position throughout the day.

For beginners, I would definitely recommend getting spare hi-cap (as Airsoft Reloaded said, end up with 2x of them), and then its down to their own experience what to get, but initially, it would be easier for them to play and get some more skill, and above all - they can use saved quids to get other stuff (chargers, batteries, vests, uniforms etc.).

Alright, yeah, sound. Get skillz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭sci-ops

My own persoanl preference are Mid's....however, and As much as it pains me to say it, for somebody just starting off, I would say get yourself another High Cap and maybe 2/3 mids.

Why?? People have already said it above me, get a feel for the game and find which you are more comfortable with.

Mid's do mean you need to be a bit more aware of how you are firing, particulary in long skirmish's..but god I love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭Inari

Mid caps are, like most of you, my own personal preference. When I first started I bought myself a rifle, and I was looking at spare magazines. It was the same price for a 300rd high cap, as for a 120rd vietnam mag (I ordered from the UK; stock was limited). I didn't know about the different magazine systems i.e. spring tension or winding on. As far as I was concerned it was a case of why in gods name would you spend the same money for less ammo...then they arrived, and I understood immediately. That stupid abhorrent rattle. For me it is literally the worst, that and the fact that I like reloading.

Mid caps are certainly, in my opinion, the way forward. But like with all things airsoft, there is no point in dropping lots of money on something without being sure.

Rhinocharge's suggestion is a good one, and I'm not exactly sure why it was being ridiculed. Buying a couple of both will let you see both sides of the coin, and allow you to make an informed choice. You can see if you are having more fun using your mid caps, or using your high caps. Yes your high caps will still rattle, but you will still get a feel for what it's like using mids. And anyway, as so often is done, when you settle on your preferred mag, you can then sell the others on to fund more purchases...as is the moneypit of airsoft :)