Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

THIS IS HUNTING.

• 03-12-2011 1:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭

Lovely Hounds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Nice dogs alrite but where are the muppets on the horses??:rolleyes::p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭snipeface

Lovely Hounds.

Some lovely pictures of hounds... but who's controlling them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

gone to the Spar to get batteries for the GPS:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭johnk123

Spunk84 wrote: »
    gone to the Spar to get batteries for the GPS:D
    lol

Very Good!

Ha, OP, lovely hounds!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭steelfixerking

LOVELY HOUNDS.
    They are a harrier foot pack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭round tower huntsman

nice hounds. where you based? i hunt foot harriers myself. we hunt bout 8 or 9 couple mostly irish harriers but with couple of foxhounds in there too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭BryanL

The majority of people in Ireland that hunt with hounds hunt on foot. :rolleyes:

Why the prejudice against people that ride horses? You'd imagine people that hunt and shoot would be more tolerant of other people's interests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭pugw

Nice pack their kid! Good luck with the GPS!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

BryanL wrote: »
    The majority of people in Ireland that hunt with hounds hunt on foot. :rolleyes:

Why the prejudice against people that ride horses? You'd imagine people that hunt and shoot would be more tolerant of other people's interests.
    that was a joke but if im honest the few dealings iv had wit mounted hunts have all been bad. They damaged a van on us, tore up a field belongin to my boss which they had no permission to be in, damaged a fence in the same field. The following year similar story just down the road. So i guess my problem with them would be that their actions as i just described gave hunting a bad name in the area and i know a couple of people that lost some permission over it even tho they were not involved.

Iv no problem with the dogs being worked and id love to see it myself but the few rogues on horse back dont do us any favours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭marlin vs

+1, People seem to be doing a lot of knocking on here lately, whatever the problem is.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭pugw

that was a joke but if im honest the few dealings iv had wit mounted hunts have all been bad. They damaged a van on us, tore up a field belongin to my boss which they had no permission to be in, damaged a fence in the same field. The following year similar story just down the road. So i guess my problem with them would be that their actions as i just described gave hunting a bad name in the area and i know a couple of people that lost some permission over it even tho they were not involved.

Iv no problem with the dogs being worked and id love to see it myself but the few rogues on horse back dont do us any favours

+1 They do a lot more damage than a pack being followed on foot. They did a lot of damage on a farm I hunt, jumping over a wall and knocking it even though the farmer had the gate beside it left open for them and livestock moved out of their way! The farmer didnt have the greatest of welcome for anyone comming onto his land for a while after that. To be fair some of the mounted hunts are very good an organised, come back and fix everything! But more of them have an old fashioned sense of entitlement that they can ride cross country and dont even ask! I suppose the way it is with the antis and all though we have to stick together!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

no prejudice against people who ride horses,some people are more concerned with there "intrests" then respecting farmers land, i have seen fences cut,gates left open and nice thick ditches torn apart by horse riders on hunts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

nice hounds lad,:) apologies for name calling on previous thread last nite, i guess we differ in opinions on hunting;) which we,re intitled too,good luck with the gps;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

Nice looking hounds.
    Hunting with hounds isn't my thing- on foot or horse back.

I've tried it on foot and it wasn't bad if you're at nothing on a sunday. But that horseback craic is Not for me. They'd be best off staying in the local rugby and cricket club and leaving the foxing to the real country people :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

I feel hunting with horses is getting a bit of a bashing here.

I have hunted for about 3 years. I stopped the whole horse thing a few years ago.
    I agree that there are hunts out there that don't give two flying fcuks about what land they are on and what damage they are doing but there are hunts that are well organized.

Any hunt I have been on or helped organize, ALL farmers were asked could we pass through their land. We then would sort out a route a few days before the hunt and find the lay of the ground so that all riders from experienced to novice could stay up with the group.

I suppose it was more of a fun day out with the hounds doing a bit of cross country but how many hunts have actually got a fox?

I agree all the horses passing through a wet field can tear it up but any of the farmers we asked would not mind as the cattle were in and the fields were left for the winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭BryanL

There's plenty of threads on here where shooting is not exactly above criticism? but I reckon we're an okay bunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭round tower huntsman

this horse hunting v's shooting rears it ugly head every so often on boards.............................. its bollox. we all hunt, we all hunt cos we love it and enjoy the hunt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭doctor evil

Bad apples on every tree unfortunately.

Did you complain to hai.ie ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭doctor evil

pugw wrote: »
    +1 They do a lot more damage than a pack being followed on foot. They did a lot of damage on a farm I hunt, jumping over a wall and knocking it even though the farmer had the gate beside it left open for them and livestock moved out of their way! The farmer didnt have the greatest of welcome for anyone comming onto his land for a while after that. To be fair some of the mounted hunts are very good an organised, come back and fix everything! But more of them have an old fashioned sense of entitlement that they can ride cross country and dont even ask! I suppose the way it is with the antis and all though we have to stick together!

Most hunts (most people that hunt/shoot/fish/what have you) are becoming more aware of PR but you do get the occasional eejit.

All it takes is for one person to act the maggot. Did the farmer specify no skylarking (jumping beside an open gate).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 The Harrier

Thats a nice looking pack. A lot of "black saddles" in there, are they bred from the same lines? Are ye a southern pack? Hunt with a Monaghan pack myself or with the Round Tower Huntsman and his pack whenever I can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭extremetaz

Glensman wrote: »
    Nice looking hounds.
    But that horseback craic is Not for me. They'd be best off staying in the local rugby and cricket club and leaving the foxing to the real country people :rolleyes:

There's no shortage of real country people who enjoy hunting on horseback.

There's also no shortage of them with ample respect for farmers ground, and no shortage of farmers who are well aware of the fact.

There's bad apples in every sport - how about we don't go making crass generalisations and tarring entire disciplines on account of it eh?? :rolleyes: